Thoughts about Messiah (2020 TV Show Review)

in #tv5 years ago

My first thoughts about Messiah

When I watched the first 2 seconds of Netflix's trailer, I already knew what the series was all gonna be about. This was one of the rare cases where this knowledge wasn't an obstacle for my appreciation. In fact, it made me very curious. We have Lucifer, but it's mostly unserious comedy. Messiah is more suspenseful, which tells us at once that a completely different approach must be used to develop the character and the perception of others.

In Lucifer, nobody cares that he's the devil until he shows his ugly face. In Messiah, the question is clearly in everybody's mind, be it viewer or character: is he the real Messiah or a conman? And if he's not the Messiah or a conman, is he crazy, or something else?

One of the things I love about Messiah is that the more that is revealed, the more questions we have.

Plot Analysis

In order to analyse the plot, we must see it as two parallel plots that have to be developed. One is the plot where the character nicknamed "Al-Massih" is really the Messiah. The other plotline is the development of the character as a conman. Whenever something is found out about him being a conman, more shocking events point toward him having supernatural powers or being morally good. Whenever someone else gets convinced that he's the Messiah, more evidence is found pointing toward him being part of a geopolitical conspiracy.

These two plotlines cross over each other all the time, sometimes using the same elements for one story and then the other. At the end, both plotlines reach their climaxes and both explode into a clear and almost absolute conclusion one after each other. "He's a conman", and right afterward "he's the Messiah". This final development is what opens up the possibility for a second season.

The way in which both storylines reach their maximum breaking points by the end of the series, it's made clear that the second season, if it is made, will be way more extreme. If the first season was daring and shocking, we can expect the second season to be past the extreme. If the first season was modest, the second season will be more like already existing TV series, carrying enormous blocks of suspense and even more inexplicable supernatural events. This leads me to think that season 1 and season 2 will be like two completely different series, one with captivatingly subtle shots into the void, and the second one filled with exploding revelations and crazy mysteries.

Cultural Approach and Characters

Culturally, Messiah is on point. It's extremely rare for an American TV series or movie to hit the mark on every setting it touches. One of the things I enjoyed the most is that in every country, people's native languages are used almost exclusively, and their traditions and cultural behaviours are depicted perfectly. It's very frequent to see a production where certain foreign traits are "americanized" for the sake of pleasing the viewers or achieving familiarity. That is not the case here in most of the cultural traits displayed.

The characters in Messiah, and their lives, are definitely not like the typical American family drama, everything filled with cringe-worthy emotional chapters to make the viewer die with shame. Instead, they're intense, straight-forward and with a reasonably limited effect range. At the same time, they crisscross along the various sub-plotlines and play in different worlds. This multi-character development is reminiscent of Game of Thrones, but the storylines are not so carefully divided. Some characters appear only for literary purposes and disappear after a couple chapters. Others remain and become unexpectedly relevant.

Character development is definitely there, but it doesn't go exactly in a predictable direction. Not everyone evolves for the better, and not everyone evolves from passive into active, like most literature nowadays. Characters are tools in this series, and they clearly follow their purposes in the chess board.

My Impression

This will easily be one of the best TV series in 2020. The bar being set so high at Jan 1, the remaining 365 days will have a hard time catching up.

On a sidenote, I find it extremely hard to finish watching most TV shows. I will either spend many days doing it, or I will simply leave the show, however much I like it. I love Altered Carbon, for example, but I'm on the penultimate episode because I can't make myself return to it. Some are too intense, others are too cringy. Messiah, however, has exactly the right amount of everything. It's the first TV series I watch in one sitting in many years. By the end of the show, I was not overwhelmed, but simply curious and very happy to have watched it.

So,
Recommended: most definitely
Rating: 8.3/10
Family rating: The R 18+ is greatly exaggerated, but at the same time there is a lot of violence, swearing and sexuality. However, I think it's moderate, all within context, and allowing for learning to happen in the case of older but inexperienced teens. In fact, in my opinion, the themes are more likely to touch adults than older teenagers, due to the experience required to emotionally understand many of the pains expressed.

Sort:  

Wow a very interesting review. It's good TV news for 2020. Although there are many swear words, violence and sexuality ... one wonders - which series does not have it today?
For your analysis 10/10. When I see Messiah I send you my rating.
Kind regards @cryptosharon

Yay! Thank you for the compliments. I was very hesitant when I posted it, but you guys made me glad that I did post it. I didn't think my analysis was so meaty, but it seems it did carry something for many people to appreciate. It's surprising but I'll take it.

And yeah, swear words and violence are not rarely seen in today's media. They're our daily bread. Sexuality is a bit more badly seen in youngsters' TV but what teenager hasn't delt with puberty and hormones? So all in all, I think that the risk lies more in the frequent misrepresentation of these issues in media, which makes youngsters grow up with misconceptions and problematic worldviews. But I think this show explains things really well and the representations are well within context, so the problems that may arise are not really from those, and thus I think the R+ rating does not mean that teens shouldn't see this.

But I think you'd be surprised about how much censorship goes on in day to day TV. Death, swear words and sexuality are very often omitted and glossed over. Even in most action TV shows and movies today, where people are supposed to die quite often, explosions don't ever lead to mangled bodies, just destroyed objects and the magical disappearance of enemies. Just contrast Star Wars' planet destroyers with Hiroshima's nuclear bomb museum. One is simply an explosion showcasing how powerful the Empire is, and the other one is an emotional display of massive victimhood. Statistics vs. humanisation. I think that summarises well the general state of censorship in general public media today.

hi dear @cryptosharon, I must say that from the title I didn't think it was a product for me, but your review impressed me a lot;)) keep on with your music !! congratulations on your work and the curie vote

My music? I don't make music.

And wow, I'm really glad that my review was so interesting that it made a few people watch the show. I was actually quite self-conscious about my style, and I criticised myself for a few blunders in the writing, but it turns out that people liked it a lot, so hurray, I'm happy.

And thanks :)

ya, sorry for the music, i use translate and sometimes I put words to see different translations, not always reliable: ((so for the same reason I can't say if there are errors in writing or maybe some captivating forms, but the concept of ambiguity of character and suspense is very appetizing !!

italiano?

and im glad you found it interesting at least, even if you used google translate to read it :P

I wasn’t planning to watch it but after your review I feel I have to definitely give it a go! Thanks :)

After you watch some episodes, come back and give me your thoughts on it. And I'm glad y'all liked my review. I didn't expect to have any kind of reponse haha.

Hi, @cryptosharon!

You just got a 2.54% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @cryptosharon!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.697 which ranks you at #1656 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 103 contributions, your post is ranked at #59.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi cryptosharon,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63493.34
ETH 2578.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79