Artist of the week: Childish Gambino (Donald Glover)

in #tv6 years ago

I have watched the above video at least half a dozen times since it was released unexpectedly just as Donald Glover was hosting SNL with Childish Gambino (also Donald Glover) as the musical guest.

At this point in 2018, I am not sure there's an artist as versatile as Donald Glover. His show Atlanta on FX is the most different (and I would argue one of the very best) on television. His album Awaken My Love is one of the highlights of 2016. Here's the key song from it:

As Donald said during his SNL monologue, "I was on a show called Comminity and I played Lando Calrissian in the new Star Wars movie 'Solo.' And if you're Black, I made 'Atlanta' and 'Redbone.'"

Most impressively is that Donald isn't just an artist. He's an activist without making political statements or attending marches. He does it all in his art. Atlanta is the most honest commentary on young Black lives on TV today. When Donald's adaptation of Deadpool didn't get greenlit, he wrote and released an entire script of an episode commenting on the rejection.

And so this gets us to the video for "This is America." Holy shit! Somehow Childish Gambino is commenting on today's America, on today's music, on how Black people are treated and portrayed, and doing so while stimulating our ears. Just watch it again. It's killer...

Sort:  

Hey, I like your post. I follow you, follow me back please, thank you. :)

Congratulations @akruglov! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Congratulations @akruglov! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80