CAN YOU DRAW DIGITALLY WITHOUT A GRAPHIC TABLET? I'M GONNA SHOW YOU HOW | DRAWING TUTORIAL

in #tutorial6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys. If you have been following my posts, you'll see that I draw a lot digitally and a lot of people were asking if I'm using a graphic pad. The answer is "NO." Unfortunately, I don't own one.
But is it possible to draw using a mouse alone. "Absolutely Yes!" I'm gonna share to you guys a little trick that I do and I hope this could be helpful to you guys if you are planning to venture into digital arts.

Three days ago I posted a blog about Home Remedies to cure Cold/Flu including my own illustrations. And now guys I'm gonna show you the step by step process on how I drew my illustrations just by using your mouse and without any graphic pad in Adobe Photoshop.

11.jpg

This will also serve as a tutorial for you guys who wanted to start in digital drawing.


Setting up the tools and getting familiar


First you gonna have to set up your tools. Click the brush tool icon or by simply pressing "B".



Select the brush tip, size and hardness that you prefer on your brush. Then click the brush panel.



The brush panel should pop up. Then check the "shape dynamics" and set the minimum diameter to 50% but you can go ahead and play with it as well but for starters, I recommend setting it to just 50%. And close it after that.



And then click pen tool or press "P".



And then make a line or shape using your pen tool. Then right click. Select "stroke path"



Then a small box will pop up. Set the tool into brush and check "simulate pressure and click OK.



And now you're ready to draw.



Outline

As I've metioned, I do not have a graphic tablet.
1.jpg

So what I do is I draw first in a piece of paper upload the image into my computer and trace the lines.

See what I did here?


Coloring

First you have to decide what color palette you will be using. It will be better to use just a few colors. And these 👇 are the color that I chose.

color palette.png

You'll be using your pen tool here as well. Trace out the part where you want to color. Make sure to close all gaps.



Then click new fill or adjustment layer like the icon encircled below.



select solid color



Choose the color that you want and click ok.



And now you're ready to give color to your drawing.


Start adding layers.

Now i'm gonna show you how I added the layers of colors one by one. I will not explain it any further 'cause you'll be repeating the coloring technique that I showed you guys here until you are done.

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11.jpg

Here is another one.

12.jpg

13.jpg

14.jpg

15.jpg

16.jpg

17.jpg

18.jpg

19.jpg

20.jpg


And there you have it guys. I hope this tutorial could be useful for you guys who wanted to try digital art. And some of the contest here on steemit requires to be digital so this could be the start for you. Thank you so much again for reading my post. Follow me if you want to see more of this in the future.😃

trishy.png

DQmcXxDKUBngM7cZnD5gduZBUS5KjaAg86REhV6Ax5EJAwv.png

"This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License."

Sort:  

I've known some people who prefer drawing with a mouse rather than a tablet! It's interesting to see what new ways people come up to creater their art and work with their own tools! I imagine that drawing with a mouse could be quite difficult but also I think it'll help with some things in a different way that the tablet does. Great informative post and great drawings, Loved them!

Thank you. I'm really greatful that this post could be helpful to someone.😄

It sure is for a lot of people! I really liked it.

Your Photoshop skill is amazingly awesome.

I love this ...

Cheers

Ah thank you so much

I don't own a graphics tablet and I am still not keen to embrace digital art. Maybe not yet anyway. But maybe I will give it a try using GIMP and use the tracing method as suggested by you. Thanks!

Yeah. You should try it. You'll love it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61378.39
ETH 3380.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48