I made a cheerful Miniature Matchbox landscape

in #tutorial6 years ago


I've been feeling like doing something like this for a while and Tuesday night I sat down and did it!

I drew the picture in pencil and started cutting the top/ back layers and using my image as a template for the layers. As I cut away a layer I traced it onto another piece of card. This card was then trimmed to the shape it needed to be and I proceeded to cut the next layer from the original image until I came to the house layer.
I made the tree and the bushes in front on a new layer.

I didn't take photos of these steps as I was just experimenting.

Next up was coloring all the layers. Considering I did them in the half dark I'm actually quite pleased with how they turned out . Again, wasn't going for anything serious and just let my self make mistakes and play.

Next up was placing the glue squares that would create the depth in between the layers. These are scrapbooking squares of double-sided tape and make your life so much easier than trying to sit and cut out little blocks by hand from a roll of tape.


First layer down was the sky- I tried a blue sky initially but it don't work right, so I turned the background around and made it an orange sunset instead.


Next up the mountains.


Then the hills


When sticking down the farm layer I realized my haphazard placement of the squares wasn't going to work. The house's tree was hanging mid-air and the big tree in front was also going to need some extra reinforcement. It is 3 layers away from the next layer so I added 3 squares worth of ' scaffolding' to keep it in place.


Touch ups to the farmhouse. The front porch area wasn't really working for me. I used a milky pen in the end to make it look more like a cabin. The coloring was done using Derwent Ink Pencils that turn into ink when you brush them with water. Here I'm using a Pentell Aquash water brush to do some detailing in areas where I wanted the inks to pop.

This scene was built inside a jumbo pack of matches which is essentailly 2 packs together. Teddy for scale :)

Going forward I would use thicker card instead of a recycled shopping bag, maybe watercolor paper, and be more strict about using a ruler for cutting and folding the box. I had rebuilt the box as the original match tray was in bad shape.

It's the kind of thing that would amuse my niece so I'll keep it with her toys for now.

It was lovely just being able to be creative and not care if I messed it up. I might to some more elaborate ones in a couple of boxes I've been keeping.

I hope this inspires someone else to try something new.
Thanks for reading!

Lizelle

Sort:  

I loved your art and cat!

Thank you :) Glad you like them both


This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team! If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Muxxybot is a Curation account that features chosen posts, selected and voted on by the Curation team. If featured, your post will be shared on Muxxybot's post, which will be resteemed by @gmuxx. The author will then get added to Muxxybot's voting list for automatic votes on all future posts.

I accept. Thanks very much!

That is really a cool piece of work, like shadow box art in the match box. I will show this to Shortie and she will be inspired to make one for herself as well. She makes all of her own stuff for her doll houses and really has gotten the concept of scale by doing so. She even makes her own plates and food for the plates.

Thank you Sult!
I would be keen to see what she makes. I made miniature food using polymer clay for a bit and I've always been fascinated by miniature scenes. Do show us if she makes a mini art box :)

She uses clay and the things really look good. I need to show some of her stuff in a daily dose, since she got a sewing machine for Christmas she has been making several clothing items for her dolls and a few for herself. She even makes her own patterns to work from.
If she makes a mini art box, I will sure post it for you to see.

Wonderfully creative. Thanks so much for sharing!

My pleasure @carey-page. I'm glad you enjoyed the post 🙂

Nice job, no idle time for you. Teddy being good?

Yup 😊. Teddy didn't appreciate getting his sock redone after he took it off this morning but it does seem to help. He's spent most of the afternoon sleeping. The vet mentioned he would be sleepy and stiff after treatment.

Amazing, but simple, piece of art. Thanks for sharing. (I showed my daughter hoping she might try one.)
 

Thanks! Let me know if she does end up doing one 🙂

I might just have to post the result. She made a really nice diorama for school a couple of years ago, so she definitely has it in her... OR... maybe I can convince her to start her own account - but then, she's only 11 and doesn't enjoy writing as I do!

Maybe you could post about it and then put the payout away into an account for her, then she can decide when she's older if she'd like to blog or not.

Congratulations human. This post is featured in today's Muxxybot curation post.

https://steemit.com/curation/@muxxybot/muxxybot-curation-56

This is fantastic! It rally turned out great. Loved that you used your cat for scale. Cats should always be used for scale seeing as they are usually trying to photobomb anyway, at least all the ones I try and take.

Thank you 😊. Cats make great rulers... an I guess they're pretty good at ruling us too 😆 Hehe

Oh yes..rulers in both senses of the word :) :). Mine like to supervise any craft project I work on, not that I mind :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63