Linux CentOS(Step by Step guide)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #tutorial8 years ago

when you are not fimiliar with Linux and hear its name, the first pictures that comes in your mind is something scary like this

Note:
I know that lots of us are completely fine with installing and using different distribution of Linux, but there are always some people who are not. They are categorized in two groups:

  1. The ones that are already on Steemit(who can find this post useful)
  2. The ones that are not on Steemit. When they want to know about installaition of Linux, they are probably going to search about it on the internet. This brings the opportunity to put Steemit on their search radar and showing them our wonderful community(if you found this post by searching internet, gotta say you have been lucky, read about Steemit too : ) )
    Let’s start then !

Installing Linux

(I chose CentOS6.5, if anyone has any favorite distribution and needs tutorial, just let me know)

  1. You need the source which you can download latest version here and the older ones here
  2. Burn o on DVD(Physical Machine) or set the Virtual Machine’s DVD path to the location of your ISO file, note that I am going to install in on a VMware (but even on physical servers process is the same
  3. When you power on machine (it has to be set to rad from CD/DVD and burned/ISO should be in the drive), you will see some options as follow, go head and choose ‘install or upgrade an existing system’

    In the next on it is going to ask you if you like to check your media (if you are sure your system is fine or you are installing it on a VM just skip it

    Now you have to choose couple of options like your language , your keyboard language and type and storage type(choose basic if you are not sure which one is good for you), now it is going to warn you about making sure that your hard drive does not contain any valuable data(make sure and then do the right thing)

    Now choose a name for your machine and on the left bottom click configure Network

    Choose your interface, select edit and check ‘Connect automatically’ (it ups your Interface during startup process)

    Now you could choose your country, time zone, and password (if it is not complex enough you will get a warning, just click on ‘use it anyway’ if you don’t like to change your password).
    Next it is going to ask you about type of installation, if you are working on a VM or you don’t have anything on your hard drive use the first option(Use All Space), other options are pretty clear too(they have detailed descriptions), also you can check ‘Review and modify partitioning layout’ if you like to change system’s partitions(there is also ‘Encrypt System’ option which is going to make your system slower)

    if you check ‘Review and modify partitioning layout’ option you will see following which is letting you to change the partitions of your drive, change the size of your partition, swap,etc.. Under the LVM volume group section

    On the boot loader option just click next (it is going to create the boot loader on your drive).
    Now you have to choose what you exactly want from this OS
    Desktop
    Minimal desktop
    Minimal
    Etc…
    I myself always choose minimal, and on the bottom select ‘customize now’ (this way I go through all packages and select the ones that I need), but if you are new to Linux environment just go with Desktop mode (which is pretty much like windows and Mac), this way you can have both Linux power/performance and you can also have a friendly UI.

    You are done, just wait till the packages are installed and you will be asked to reboot your OS
    After rebooting your OS, you have can set a username (this user is not going to be sudoer and is is not able to execute commands as root). It is recommended that you never login with root user itself unless you have to. In date and time section you can set the NTP server or set date/time manually

Kdump

Depending on your machine resources you can set Kdump for troubleshooting etc…note that it will take some resources.

now you can have your own Linux server
There is a very short video where you can check CentOS 6.5 environment and see whether you like it or not.

Let’s bring our knowledge to the community where anyone can find anything they desire

if you liked this post please up-vote and possibly re-steem it, or meke me feel special by following me at @meysam :)

This post is powered up 100%

Have fun :)

Sort:  

Hello @meysam,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thanks for this post. I am not expose with Linux and planning to have one on the future so I can also mine steem. This might be a good start for me.

Highly appreciated.

glad you liked it :)
if you have a powerful machine, mining would be good choice , otherwise It would not be profitable
anyway if you want to start mining there is a great post about it which is using Ubuntu server 16.04(I tried it and it works)
https://steemit.com/steemhelp/@joseph/mining-steem-for-dummies
if you tried Ubuntu server and had any problem about installaition or any other aspects , just let me know
my account on steemit.chat is the same as here

Thanks, Im sure Im gonna need one because I know nothing about linux. I will pm you then @meysam.

you are totally welcome

Hi there, are you into gpu mining?

I am interested into mining in fact I decided to buy a miner in a month or two but I now have doubts because lots of people are giving negative feedbacks about mining.

If you have experience in mining, can you give advice on which is profitable, mining bitcoin or other coins, and what coin is it? Buying mining machine or GPU is much better?

mining bitcoin is not profitable these days unless you have very powerful equipment which will cost you a fortune for sure, these days XMR mining is more profitable than other coins and its price is increasing rapidly.
I did my mining back in the days but It was never profitable for me(maybe I was doing it wrong). if you want to do this it is better to go with mining machines , otherwise the electricity and other expenses would make it an even business or with a very low profit .
I hope you get your answer, this is all I have about mining

Which is profitable mining with S9 or PC with 4 x980 gpu? I dont have problem with electricity take it out as a negative factor. What do you think is more profitable?

if you want to go with bitcoinn S9 is the answer(I never used a miner, though), try to read this link, it gives you a lot of information
https://99bitcoins.com/antminer-s9-review/
GPU mining even with that setup wouldn't give you that much hash rate.

I've been a Linux user for several years. Win XP was the last OS from microsoft I will ever use. Right now, my favorite distro is Puppy Linux for is super small size and lightning speed. I also have Mint (Ubuntu based), and Manjaro (Arch based) on my triple boot capable machine. I've been wanting to try a Redhat based OS but I've been hesitant to use anyting that has already adopted systemd. AFAIK, there is no version of CentOS without systemd but maybe I'll play around with it anyway. Thanks for the install guide!

you obviously now you way around Linux :)
In my country generally companies tend to use red hat based distros , and I am pretty comfortable with them as well. I actually was looking for a super small Linux distro(I tried DSL but wasn't satisfying enough). probably gonna try puppy to see hot it will turn out
thanks for your comment and mentioning puppy :)

I really liked this very interesting post.

glad you liked it :)

Nice post. Followed and upvoted

I appreciate it , followed back

nice! thanks for sharing! ;)

you are welcome, and thank you too :)

Image #1: Hey! That's what my screen looks like.

And a very handy tool... that windows should emulate.
But windows doesn't have that. That is why windows is not really an operating system.

Of course you can get something close to that if you buy the server/business edition. But why should you pay more for an essential functionality of the OS?

Thanks for the post on installing linux. I hope more people make the switch.

you are welcome , thank you for reading the post and sharing your thoughts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 55938.98
ETH 2932.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.21