What to do to start creating games ? Something more about graphic engines for beginners

in #tutorial7 years ago

The first thought everyone thinks is to do a good game in which many people will play. Making a good game with a couple of people is very difficult and time-consuming. As the first games it is best to create short simple games that can be completed faster. When creating the first games you need to focus on the basic rules and tools that the graphics engine offers. Before I write what to focus on, I will present the most popular and the most accessible graphics engines, and why I chose Unreal Engine 4.

Graphic Engines

1. Unreal Engine 4

F2AHCC6IGFCBF2Y.LARGE.jpg

Advantages:

  • Allows the use of bluprint programming (graphical interface)
  • C ++ is used as the main scripting language, which saves memory
  • It's better with high-quality graphics
  • Intuitive navigation through the graphical editor
  • Accurate documentation on the main engine page
  • Free to use , no restrictions

Disadvantages:

  • It takes a lot of disk space
  • High hardware requirements
  • license fee if the proceeds from the release of the game exceeded 3,000 $

An example of using Unreal Engine from the official youtube account

2. Unity 3D 5

maxresdefault.jpg

Advantages:

  • Native support for 2d games
  • The ability to create games for every platform
  • A lot of tutorials on official website and good comunity
  • A lot of free assets

Disadvantages:

  • To fully use the engine you need to buy pro versions (monthly fee of 125 $)
  • Using C# for main script language

An example of using Unity 3D 5 from the official youtube account

There are many other engines but the most recommended for beginners is one of these two engines. They have good documentation on their official websites. If you encounter a problem, you can easily find a forum answer or simply ask.

I chose the Unreal Engine due to the fact that for me it had an easier interface and I'm more focused on creating games for Windows platform. The Unity 3D engine is more designed to create games for the largest number of platforms because it creates more often small teams composed of several people. In the future I would like to work in a larger company related to creating games, which is why I chose a more difficult route. For beginners, the blueprint system is a good alternative. This makes it easier to understand how scripts work in Unreal Engine.

For beginners, I advise you to get to know the interface which is quite extensive in both engines.

If you like my content folow me
See you in the next post
And here I attach a link to my blog matsite.pl

Sort:  

In my opinion "CryEngine" is a pretty good engine, too. But it costs €50 /mo.. Still a great choice with nice support and a big marketplace!

CryEngine is good engine but in my opinion have bad documentation. For totally beginners in my opinion unity and unreal Engine is better. Engine is only tools to make games. Large companies have their own engines

Yes, that's true, advanced users should try it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61