You Won't Believe This! Even BRAND NEW Accounts Can Set Their Voting Power to Less Than 100%!! I'll Show You How! YOU'RE WELCOME!

in #tutorial6 years ago

If you followed my #Dolphinschool Bootcamp on @markrmorrisjr a week back, you probably heard me talk about BANDWIDTH and what a pain in the arse it is for new users! Well, I am about to Blow Your MIND!

And, in the process, teach you two new tools you need, are you ready?

First, go to Steemconnect and sign up!

###Follow this link.

Input your email and follow the instructions. When it calls for your password, or active posting key, you'll find this in your steemit wallet.

I won't show screen caps of this process, because of my account security, and neither should you.

It's a very simple x step process.

  1. Click on the wallet link in the top nav bar on steemit, or click your profile pic and choose "wallet"
  2. Select the "permissions" option in the top nav bar of the wallet.
  3. Find the "show private" button to the top of the first key (password)
  4. Click on this to copy it.

This, and not your master key, is what you want to use. If it is compromised, you can easily change your master password, then reset the keys to fix the problem.

Follow the instructions on Steemconnect. I'll be starting another new profile soon to explore "friendless" fresh starts with the same allotment of steem that new accounts are currently granted. That will allow me to go through this process again, without needing to revoke my current sign up. After that, I'll share more detail on how to sign up, it's very, very simple.

Now, go to Busy.org

You'll sign in here using the Steemconnect account you just setup. Once inside, here's what you'll see.

Next, click the menu button

Then

Next

Finally Don't Forget to SAVE!

Find a post to vote on

And Confirm your vote!

This only works as long as you are voting on Busy.org

You're welcome!

Sort:  

Will give this a shot now

Cool, if it works stop by and send me an upvote!

It's cool!
Upvoted

it looks cool, i 'll test it after lunch

awesome, well, be sure to spend some of that extra vote power right here for an upvote! Thanks

waaaa, hahaha, nice,

steem2233.png

So, where's my upvote?

What's the purpose behind a reduced voting power? Still haven't got my head around that one.

Its most useful at the top and bottom of the food chain. When your vote is capable of changing a payout by$20, let's say, you could give 10 $20 votes per day, or, you could give 100 $2 votes or anywhere I between. At the bottom your bandwidth runs out quickly until you get up past 50 SP or so. Adjusting it down means you can vote, post, AND comment instead of having to choose.

Thanks, that makes sense

The person that introduced me to steemit made a little python gui app that can allow you to set numerically what you want your vote weight to be, so why would I use this?

There are a lot of other features you might like on Busy, but if it ain't broke, keep doing what you're doing. there would be no clear advantage.

Well, I'm not suggesting this is the best way for everyone. IDK what your method is like. This is very simple and integrated into a really great platform with some other super cool tools and features. Try it, if you like your way better, I'd stick with it.

Is there a way to adjust voting power when voting on steemit? I've noticed people have giving me more or less powerfull votes on things I haven't had a busy tag for, was wondering how they accomplished this.

Also, does this work for downvotes? If I adjust to 100% and downvote someone because of spam or inappropriateness or something that would warrant a downvote, would this have more of an effect then say, if I didn't adjust before the downvote? Hope that made sense..

If you're already using 100%, your downvote would be 100%, but if you adjust it, it will be whatever your vote power is set to. They are essentially the same, although, downvotes do burn more vote power than upvotes.

This is a steemit platform. you can vote for all the articles on steemit on busy. Once you get past a certain point (not sure when that is) in your SP, you'll get a vote power slider on steemit. I have one on @markrmorrisjr, but not this account

I see, thanks for clarifying. You into round 2 of #dolphinschool yet?

No, trying to establish this platform a bit better first, and just get into the work flow of running of both channels daily. It's paying off, but not enough to take that hit on the schedule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62811.99
ETH 3447.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51