Siacoin Talk From A to Z

in #tutorial-trail6 years ago

Hello friends!

Today...a siacoin discussion

What is siacoin?

Sia is a decentralized storage platform secured by blockchain technology. The Sia Storage Platform leverages underutilized hard drive capacity around the world to create a data storage marketplace that is more reliable and lower cost than traditional cloud storage providers.
Quote from :
https://sia.tech/

How to mine Siacoin

First you can host your hdd Space and earn siacoin in return.
Then you can chose to mine the coin.
To mine the coin we have:
Miners as:
Obelisk
https://obelisk.tech/
Bitmain-Ant miner A3
https://shop.bitmain.com/productDetail.htm?pid=00020180129095202674bwQAJFdr06CB

Siacoin Issues

Reminder: At block 135,000 the v1.3.0 difficulty adjustment hardfork activates. Please ensure you are running the latest version of the Sia software.
Quote from :
https://blog.sia.tech/reminder-upcoming-sia-hardfork-e0ffcde9ebcc

Siacoin Fork

So as written up at block 135k a fork of sc was created...but that was the start of sc problems in december 2nd 2017.
Transfers to different exchange sites were frozen and a lot of siacoin users had this issues even me as I wrote about this of steemit :
https://steemit.com/poloniex/@cynetyc/warning-do-not-depozit-zcash-and-siacoin-to-poloniex
https://steemit.com/poloniex/@cynetyc/so-i-got-my-zcash-from-poloniex-update-from-my-last-post

The wallet is fixed and it is working but our funds are still not credited to our account...
So my 67000 sc still not arrived from poloniex...at one point sc was at 9 cents or 0.09$...

sc  poloniex.png

Siacoin Token.

Official information here:

https://blog.sia.tech/siafund-token-sale-5639c851681c

I belive that their ideea is a good one but they still need to address their issues with the frozen trasactions in order to move forward and improve.

That was my message for today I am Cynetyc and I wish you a nice day !

Sort:  

Is there a simple tutorial for mining for beginners

Of course @rjunaid12 there are !
I recommend this guide from Imineblocks :


His version is by using a computer .
Another way to mine sc is by just plug and play a Antminer A3...That is really it... I mean put a electric cable and ethernet cable, then chose a pool and have fun.
Soon I also Will make a tutorial ...the most easy version that I can to show how to mine sc or decred with this blake algoritm.

buT mining is taking time too much i think. . .

Well depending on the rig or how many cards or ASICs you have the rig can have a nice ROI.
I belive that investing and minig can go hand to hand for this coin.

Maybe, don't know yet but no harm done in learning, Right :)

Not able to watch the video right now, there are some Network problems.
But thank you for taking the time.
I'll definitely watch it later

Thanks for sharing simple tutorial. keep sharing @cynetyc

o no baby

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @speedvoter thanks to: @aponamran.

Very good post thanks @cynetyc!☺

Yeah you are Right Very good and awesome post @cynetyc

I also belive siacoin will be awesome this year, thanks for the ¨talk¨ @cynetyc!

Thanks for the information and very useful guide
Thanks@cynetyc
have a great day
This video check with

Much apreciated as always, @goldcoin, thank you for having an interest in my blog!

@cynetyc I want you to know I read the whole thing and I must say, coming from the trader side, I had no idea what SiaCoin was like on the service side. I thought it was actually usable. But when you compare the state of the network it seems to be inferior to Dropbox, Box, Amazon etc. I guess it's then my job as a trader to make the price go up until it's profitable to host /mine etc. Right? This is the first time I've seen anything SiaCoin related on Steemit.com. Upvoted! 🙌

Thank you @monristi!

I tried my best to do a impartial "talk" on my article and I can say about the prices :

  • It s true that the service is cheaper ...but how exactly? Well for each HDD you put there is a specific price that you can ask ...so if you have let us say 1 Petabyte of storage....you are a very rich person because you can ask a competitive price.
    Also...to be able to ask a high price...you must have a loooong time running hdd .This make the network and its people trust you and use your services.

NOW..

Some people ask huge prices...and for this...is another issue...
As a client you must select what is best for you..but if you see high prices...maybe you can pay for something...that actually is not good.
This is not a big problem...but for this Siacoin tech must adress this issue too and put or hire some moderators to not let users abuse the pricing of hdd.
They still have a lot of issues...but what makes me let say ..still be positive is that they are working to improve the system.
The hdd cloud sale still has some hiccups but overall it is a good idea.

You are welcome my friend, I have a new post, do not forget to visit ya, let me add the spirit in steemit.

This information should not be interpreted as an endorsement of cryptocurrency or any specific provider, service or offering. It is not a recommendation to trade. Cryptocurrencies are speculative, complex and involve significant risks – they are highly volatile and sensitive to secondary activity. Performance is unpredictable and past performance is no guarantee of future performance. Consider your own circumstances, and obtain your own advice, before relying on this information. You should also verify the nature of any product or service (including its legal status and relevant regulatory requirements) and consult the relevant Regulators' websites before making any decision. Finder, or the author, may have holdings in the cryptocurrencies discussed.

That was very well writen @shishiristi!
In my account here on Steemit and Youtube as well, when I make a video I always remind people that I am not a advisor.
I like very much to mine and I had issues that some of them I resolved and the other I did not.
For example ...back in 2016 I invested in ether...then the dao hack happened...and my amount was locked in the wallet for 2 years. In january 2018 I managed to take my funds out of the wallet.
So for everything I do I try my best to show the Good and the bad of cryptos.
I strongly agree with you that any crypto represents a risk.

i have a question is it worthy to min siacon. My pc doesn't support mining. Thanks for sharing @cynetyc

Siacoin can be mined with a Obelisk miner or a Antminer A3 . For the moment those are the best choices on the market. A mining rig that runs on GPUs will cost a lot more than a Antminer A3 for example.
This is because Nvidia raised their prices on good gpu and to have any returns you will have to wait a long time. So a antminer can be a good choice.

yes mining on GPU consume a lot of electricity beside initial investment on GPU. Thanks for sharing @cynetyc

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @cynetyc. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thank you very much @lovejuice, fantastic service as always !

You got a 93.02% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @cynetyc!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Thank you very much @nado.bot for a very good service!
Also cool gif.

This post has received a 29.63% upvote from @aksdwi thanks to: @cynetyc.

Thank you very much @aksdwi for a good service!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29