My Life's Journey - Flying to a new basketball adventure in Cosenza, Italy. :)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #tsufamily7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170903_165036_075.jpg

My plan after this year was to stop playing basketball and join my college best friend in California. He has started a business venture in New Port Beach. It is an organic juicing company called Ojuko. They are a small business right now but making long strides in becoming a big name brand because their product is at least to say delicious. If you live in California check them out.

https://www.facebook.com/ojukolife/

Anyways, that was my plan. But, like many times in life plans get disrupted, or delayed. It is simply life. You can't perceive everything that was going to happen. Especially, if you are just starting a business. So my plan to join my friend was delayed for a year. Which means I will be playing another basketball season after a very hard but rewarding season last year. If you have not read the story of my experience last season you can catch up with this link. It is worth reading. A perfect example how life can be cruel and rewarding at the same time.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@awakentolife/my-basketball-journey-happiness-hidden-within-the-struggle

Since this is probably going to be my last year playing basketball I have decided I will just wait for a right offer and make my decision where to play next season solely on my gut feeling. That is what I always try to do now because I believe the feeling we feel when we talk to somebody is usually a correct one. So I waited. Offers came, but I did not have a good feel about them so I choose not to accept them. I was not getting a good feeling about these offers even though financially it was what I was looking for. Because there is way more to accepting an offer than just money. You have to have a good situation and good people around you. If you are not happy playing basketball, and your living situation, the money means nothing. At least, for me.

I already thought I will stay home(which I would not mind for a change) for the half season I got a call from an agent about the offer from a team in the province of Reggio di Calabria in the south of Italy. The team is located in a beautiful city called Cosenza with a population about 80k people. Googled a bit about it. Looked at some photos and I loved what I saw. Like I said in my life for about 3-4 years I always follow my gut feeling now. On pretty much everything. Unlike the other offers, I got a great feeling about this offer so I have decided to accept it and join the team called Bim Bum Basket Rende. I know right? The name of the club is awesome. lol I laughed a bit about it also. :)

Since this offer came at the last moment I had to finish up everything I started working on this summer. One of those things was working on rebuilding my house which has not been rebuilt since my country Croatia independence war about 20 years ago. You can catch up with the story about with this link. Probably my best written post so far.

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/my-life-s-story-finally-rebuilding-our-home-with-my-father-after-it-was-ravaged-in-war

So my brother Nikola came for the weekend to spend some time with before I leave and to help out with some work around the house. We sure did have some fun that weekend and did a lot of work around the house. One of the things we did was painted our newly installed gypsum boards along with our stairway to the second floor. We had some fun painting it also as you can see in the pictures below. Silly faces included. lol

Collage 2017-09-04 23_23_53.jpg

After the house work, it was time to say goodbye to my family and spend some time with them before I need to fly out to my new team. My brother and I joined my mom for lunch at her house where I cooked us a delicious lunch. Had an amazing time. Shared some laughs. It is never boring with my brother as I have mentioned in the previous post he is a bit "crazy". lol

Collage 2017-09-04 17_23_43.jpg

We spent couple hours with my mom and went back to my father's house. As you can assume my parents are divorced. That is a long story for some other time. We rested a bit in the afternoon as we waited for my father to return home. We popped some popcorns and watched my dad's favorite TV show called Star Trek. For those 40 minutes or so, we have "gone where no man has gone before". lol It is an intro quote from the show.

2017-09-04-23-30-13.jpg

We spent time constantly watching the work we have done this summer on our house and being proud of what we have accomplished. Of course, we are not stopping there, as we made plans for the next summer. No stopping until it is all finished and our house returned to former glory. The whole time sitting with them admiring the work, I was thinking I am forgetting something. lol It was 11 pm, and I did not pack a single thing for my trip tomorrow morning. Needless to say, I stayed up late and finished packing at about 2 am since I need to pack things for 8 months or more.

Around 8 am I woke up. Kissed my mom and dad goodbye and my brother drove me the airport in Split. I had a flight going from Split, connecting flight in Rome(4hour layover), and my final destination Lamezia. First flight with Vueling was terrible as their seats are total discrimination for tall people. They actually have no exit seats with space. All the seats are the same. They are a cheap flight, but I hate to think what panic would be if an emergency happens and people need to exit the plane. Plus they are always late and delayed. The club bought the ticket so I really had no choice and endure the constant knee bumps.

IMG_20170627_084811.jpg
I was lucky my flight was only an hour long.

I arrived in Rome with 4 hours to spare. As I was responsible for writing the rules of our Discord-Steemit amazing group called TheUnementioables I used the time to write them. Simply amazing group of people helping each other succeed on Steemit. Check us out when you have time. Who knows maybe this group is perfect for you.

P.S. If you are just looking to spam your posts in there, then it is really not a group for you. We are all about creating friendships, and working together while having fun doing it. If you are looking for friends than we are perfect for you. :)

https://steemit.com/steemit/@fatpandadesign/join-the-unmentionables-the-most-kickass-exclusive-hardcore-group-in-town-i-might-be-lying-we-broke-150-members

As I finished writing the rules I was still bored so I decided to give into my selfie disorder and snap a quick photo. lol

2017-09-04-16-57-56.jpg
Disclamier - The size of this photo does not illustrate the size of my selfie disorder. lol

Snapped some other photos through my flights just in case you thought my phone is only full of my selfie photos. lol

Collage 2017-09-04 16_53_30.jpg

Around 6:20 pm I arrived at Lamezia and was met there by an assistant coach, and team manager. We drove about an hour from the airport and reached my final destination Cosenza, Italy where I will be spending the next 8 months, or more of my life. I am excited about my new life and basketball adventure. We already did a practice the next morning, so I gave into my selfie disorder again and snapped a new selfie in my new home where I will be demonstrating my skills of bouncing the ball on the wooden floor and putting it through that circled thing attached to the glass backboard. lol

Collage 2017-09-04 17_15_46.jpg
Last selfie I swear. Or not. lol

I hope you guys enjoyed my new entry to My Life's Journey series. Thank you for taking the time to read it. I hope I did not bore you too much and that you really did not start thinking I have a selfie disorder. lol

Until next time, have an amazing day, with love

dbjegovic

My other posts this week:

Sun Thursday - "No matter how tall this mountain is, it can never hide the magnificence of the Sun".

https://steemit.com/sunthursday/@awakentolife/sun-thursday-no-matter-how-tall-this-mountain-is-it-can-never-hide-the-magnificence-of-the-sun

Expressing my thoughts - Motivational Post 6 - "Find a quiet place to silence your mind in order to hear your soul".

https://steemit.com/tsufamily/@awakentolife/expressing-my-thoughts-motivational-post-6-find-a-quiet-place-to-silence-your-mind-in-order-to-hear-your-soul

ALL THE IMAGES POSTED, AND WORDS WRITTEN IN THIS POST BELONG TO ME. 100% ORIGINAL

COPYRIGHT OF DURO BJEGOVIC

Sort:  

Wish you all the best with your new family and new home! And I don't think that will be your last selfie.... LOL... Hahaha... And Wish you happy each and every day! Looking forward to seeing more of your new home and town... :)

Thank you, Eliza. I appreciate your kind wishes and words. :)

I think you are right. There will more selfies coming in the future. lol Officially I have a selfie disorder. The first step of fixing the problem is admitting you have one. lol

I wish you the same. A happy each and every day. :)

Selfie disorder... LOL...
Happy and Smile :)

Great to hear about the next chapter in your life. You've got a very entertaining life story, so I'm definitely excited for future posts! Hope you have fun playing basketball!

Thank you, brother. I am glad you guys found my life's stories interesting to read. I got couple ideas for my new entries but got to get them down on paper. Hopefully during this week sometime. :)

I am hoping for a good season. Got couple practices in with the team. We will see how the pre-season will go. Hard to tell now.

Have a great day, brother. Thanks for stopping by my post. :)

Plans come and go, most important thing is to enjoy life as much as you can!

You are absolutely right. Plans come and go, but no matter what happens you always have a CHOICE to ENJOY your life no matter what. :)

Thank you, my friend, for stopping by and leaving a nice comment. Have an amazing day. :)

Wish you the best in this new basketball season!

Well, thank you, for kind wishes. I am hoping for a great season. :)

Exciting life Durko, enjoy while you can. I am very happy for you and I wish you great season, I just hope you will have time here for us here on Steemit and keep us posted about your adventures. I would love to see photos of the city, I have a feeling it is quite charming. I know I could Googled it, but I prefer to be surprised when you post yours.......RSD & UPV XOXO

I am doing my best to enjoy it as much as I can. :)

As always thank you for your amazing, kind and thoughtful words. You always leave a great comment. :)

I will find time for Steemit for sure. You are just like my teammates on the team. If we don't communicate regularly the team will fall apart. We actually went around the town last night and I think you are going to love the photos. It is a large city and lot of things to take the pictures of so I will post them in couple posts. :)

I agree with you, everything is little better when it is a surprise. :)

Have an amazing day, my amazing friend. XOXOX

I am glad to hear that Durko and you are always welcome XOXO

Hi, Duro! Congratulations on your decision with the new team! These are some of the best days of your life, well, every day is! Enjoy this journey as it unfolds and I look forward to more stories as the season progresses. Enjoy Calabria! I love it there and the food, of course, is typically amazing as are the sights and sounds. Have the best time ever!

I lost track of you for a couple of weeks. Glad I found you again!!! Take care, my friend! You should already be sleeping!!! LOL

Hey there. Well, we did lose track a bit, but it is mostly my fault as my posting slowed down as I was busy with contract stuff, and finishing work on my house, plus the travel. :)

I do agree with you. Every day is the best day. It is exactly what we make of it. I think my life is just starting to get better and better. Things are really starting to fall in place for me.

Calabria seems like a beautiful province and Cosenza a beautiful city. We drove around town for a bit last night and there is a lot of stuff to see. Soon I will write a post about it.

hahaha I should have been to sleep, but stayed up late to finish this post. Was not going to leave it for tomorrow. :)

Thank you for reconnecting again. Hopefully, we keep it that way. Have an amazing day. :)

Excellent post, upvoted and resteemed

Thank you brother, for the support. Glad you like it.

Have an amazing day. :)

Oh how exciting!! It will be such fun to hear yiur experiences and follow your season!

Thank you, Melinda. It is going to be a fun experience. The city is beautiful. I will post some pictures of it when I get settled in and get to walk around town. :)

Nice photographys with great quality!! 😎 My upvoe

Thank you, my friend. Where you on Rabadaba before all the changes? I was GetFitForLife on there. I remember we engaged in each other posts a lot on there.

what was your name in Tsu I am still trying to place you. Did you injure your knee at one point playing basketball? Are you in the wow app. Lol.. I am not crazy or stalking .. trying to put my memory together .. sorry for all the questions. @awakentolife I am your new follower

I did have an injury I wrote about on TSU, but it was not the knee. It a quad tear right above my knee. I was GetFitForLife on TSU. Posted a lot of fitness and motivational posts.

I do play basketball. I just wrote a post about my new destination for the basketball season.

I am also on WoW app. Duro Bjegovic is my real name. :)

Yes Duro I know you .. do you remember me? It is ok if you don't lol

I do actually, this is why I followed you right away when I saw your name on here. That is why your post showed up in my feed so I can comment on it. You had the same name on TSU. :)

Yes you are right I'll make sure I'm following you

Welcome! good luck in your new journey dear... keep steem'it :)

Thank you. I will do my best to keep being active in here and keep writing. :)

Have an amazing day my fellow Unmentionable. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97