uncomfortable truths that need discussion!

in #truth8 years ago (edited)

♣♣♣ TRIGGER WARNING!!!!!! ♣♣♣

If you are easily triggered or offended block me and do not read my post!

this is a discussion for the big kids so go play with your dollys and leave us alone!

if you disagree with anything I say please leave me a comment on what i was wrong about.
yelling out racist or biggot is not an argument and will be ignored.
please supply logic, reason and facts not feelings..............

So now that we can talk openly I would like to say growing up in America in the 80's I did not think the world was racist. up Until about 5 years ago if you would have said to me that America had a race problem I would have cracked up and said you are crazy. The only racist people I had ever witnessed were old people or kids making jokes that are only funny because you said something you were told to never say. still to this day I only have one white friend I consider family, most the other people I care about are not white. its not that I don't like white people, its just not who I grew up around.

i now see I was an idiot voting for Obama. I say that because I was once ignorant and willing to vote someone into office based only on the color of his skin. I actually thought that not voting for him was racist because "it was time to get a black guy in office to stop racism". Im sure everyone can see how race relationships have been the last couple years. in my opinion they are only giting worse.

I feel the best way for everyone to advance is to talk about it and I have no problem with talking about race. I am constantly calling people out on comments not because they made a racist statement, more because they say they hate racist people but make racist comments too. its funny to me to be honest. calling the kettle black (not a pun)!

You have to be the change in this world that you want to see made reality. or that is how I feel about it.

Most white people are afraid to talk about race because they are scared of getting called a racist. I have seen many of friends shut down people just by calling them racist. or they lack the general knowledge of social issues affecting people that grow up in poor areas. I think that if we, as a collective, open up the conversation to those not directly impacted by social barriers, we as a whole would benefit greatly from it.

I would like to post some uncomfortable facts that I think we all need to take into account. I also want to say thies are just numbers, they do not take in variables like bad schooling, single parent homes, poverty or anything. they are just the facts. I think it is the variables are the big distortion. people and individual cases should be evaluated on a separate basis but in order to find patterns we have to go for the full population. I guess I'm saying the exception to the rule does not negate the rule and all that #notall crap people pull.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥Now on to the uncomfortable zone!♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

FACT 1: The number of guns in America has doubled since 1993, in the same time gun homicide has dropped in half.
http://www.pewsocialtrends.org/2013/05/07/gun-homicide-rate-down-49-since-1993-peak-public-unaware/
FACT 2: Black males make up less then 7% of the USA population but commit 56% of all robbery's and 53% of all murder.
Source: FBI Crime in America 2013 Database
FACT 3 : black people are 33% more likely to be detained over white people facing felony trial.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bill-quigley/fourteen-examples-of-raci_b_658947.html
FACT 4 : Despite black males only makin up 7% of the USA population they commit 1 in 3 rapes.
Source: FBI Crime in America 2013 Report
FACT 5: Young black men kill 14X more then young white men.
Source: Time Magazine
FACT 6: 50% of all homicide victims are black people.
https://ucr.fbi.gov/crime-in-the-u.s/2011/crime-in-the-u.s.-2011/offenses-known-to-law-enforcement/expanded/expanded-homicide-data
FACT 7: 42% of all cop killers are black.
http://www.nationalreview.com/corner/394489/new-data-its-still-about-black-black-crime-heather-mac-donald
FACT 8: 93% of black homicide victims were killed by other blacks, 84% of white homicide victims were killed by other whites.
http://www.politifact.com/florida/article/2015/may/21/updated-look-statistics-black-black-murders/
FACT 9: in a 2006 report, 40% of the prison population was black despite being only 12% of the total USA population.
http://www.naacp.org/pages/criminal-justice-fact-sheet
FACT 10: in a 2009 report, 2 out of 3 people receiving life sentences were of color.
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/bill-quigley/fourteen-examples-of-raci_b_658947.html
FACT 11: black males born in 2001 have a 32% chance of going to jail in his life time.
http://www.naacp.org/pages/criminal-justice-fact-sheet
FACT 12: white males born in 2001 have a 6% chance of going to jail in his lifetime.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Statistics_of_incarcerated_African-American_males
FACT 13: 51% of Americans show anti-black prejudice, up from 48% in 2008.
http://www.slate.com/blogs/the_slatest/2012/10/27/poll_finds_majority_of_americans_are_racist_prejudiced_against_blacks.html

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥they are just words! ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

reports show that almost 50% of americans under 18 are not white. it projects a reversal in the population where by 2030, the majority of people under 18 will be of color and by 2042 nonwhites will be the majority of the USA population. so if we all just moved on we will all become a matching color of gray.

I would love to hear from the steemit community on how they feel about it all. I cant wait to hear from you all and am ready to have an amazing conversation in the comments section. I obviously cant even scratch the surface of the race problems but we all have to start our 10k mile journey with the first step. 8D

Sort:  

I like this article, It's true we need to open up the discussion about race, I hate it when people say that racism is dead. Because it's really not, It's still an issue, Maybe not in all areas but in some areas.

Nice article I can feel your passion about this subject.

thank you very much!
yeah its not dead in the deep south. that is for sure.

Do you have sources for the "Facts" section in the article? I would consider upvoting if you could provide those.

I added the links and had to correct the last line in that part. tyvm for informing me about adding links to where I got the information from. if you wouldn't have told me I wouldn't have double checked the numbers I put up. ty again! 8D

Thanks for updating. But I still can't upvote the article as written. Fact #8 should also mention that 84% of white homicide victims were killed by other whites. It puts a much more balanced perspective into Fact #8. I did upvote you for adding the references, thanks.

oh sweet, ty for the info on fact 8 I will add that in after i fact check it myself. xD ty for the upvote too.

this is my first post i didn't think of that. it was from a lot of studys but I will get to posting where they came from right now. ty for the input! 8D should have where I got the facts from up soon!

"I also want to say thies are just numbers, they do not take in variables like bad schooling, single parent homes, poverty or anything. they are just the facts."

Leaving these factors out is a big mistake. They are facts too, and poverty is highly correlated with increased violent crime.

"It is concluded that poverty and income inequality are each associated with violent crime. The analysis, however, shows considerable variation in the estimated size of the relationships and suggests that homicide and assault may be more closely associated with poverty or income inequality than are rape and robbery." - http://cjr.sagepub.com/content/18/2/182.short

I never said that those factors have nothing to do with it. I also said that the notall argument does not work here. im sure anyone reading this understand that poverty increses crime rate. it does not negate the facts. I also said every person should be on an individual basis but if we do that we will never find any patterns. your second quote from the link you posted says poverty has a lot to do with it and I agree with that but the post also says that homicide and assault may be more closely associated with poverty than are rape and robbery. and as you will see in the stuff I posted that the % for blacks is also high. I think there is a lot more then just poverty that is the cause of it all. blaming it all on poverty seems like low hanging fruit to grab at. I do think it is a problem but I do not think it can be used as an excuse. I guess the next question is (and damn its a shitty one to ask) why don't whites in the same income bracket commit as many crimes? if black males are only 6%-7% of the population in the usa and if whites make up 63% but 10.1% of whites live in poverty why aren't the numbers for white crimes higher? there are more whites living in poverty then blacks. blacks have a higher % but the numbers should go to the white with crimes if it only comes down to income.
sry about the long response, and thankyou for your input on the conversation. look forward to hearing back from you. 8D

"I do think it is a problem but I do not think it can be used as an excuse."

See, when you talk about "excuses" what you're really trying to do is assign blame. I've never found blame to be very useful. I point out that strong correlation because if we're going to talk about solutions, that is part of solving the problem.

Unfortunately poverty leads to crime, which leads to police expecting crime, which leads to higher arrests, which leads to split families, which leads to poverty. It's a vicious cycle that needs to be broken, but I don't think you can do that by leaving poverty out of the equation.

"why don't whites in the same income bracket commit as many crimes?"

They are, that's what the correlation is. Not sure how the numbers work out exactly, but the correlation exists for all races.

I am not trying to "find blame" and I have said it is a problem but not the whole problem. we have already established that poverty adds to crime. we are not trying to leave it out of the conversation but you cannot keep using that as an excuse for why the numbers are so high when more white people are poor then black people. yet black people of a smaller number commit a higher rate of the crimes then the white majority of the same poverty level. you took a snip of my whole quote and then say " Not sure how the numbers work out exactly" but then say "but the correlation exists". if there are more white poor people then black poor people and black people commit more crime then the majority of poor people (whites) then the % of black crime is higher with in the same poverty level. so poverty cannot be the only reason. Or all the numbers would show it and we would all have a common crime rate across the board no matter of skin color. but we don't. this is why I say poverty is part of the problem but not an excuse for the differnce in stats.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60728.44
ETH 2653.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59