Until we get it, we just don't get it... truth takes time, I learned that realitysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #truth8 years ago (edited)

I talk about things. I tend to do a decent job of explaining them. Yes, more elaborate, in depth and precise explanations can be given. I'm referring to my original work that deals with deeper subject matter.

Naturally, since I only briefly explain or define some aspects of reality, some people don't understand. I can't explain hours of prerequisite knowledge that lays the foundation for many of the conclusions I talk about and explain briefly. It's "advanced" material compared to what people in general are aware of.

However, my track record of demonstrating explanations in my work should be enough to merit an honest consideration on the part of the reader who may want to learn more. They can ask me, or go and learn for themselves just as I did. I didn't learn what I learned by asking people questions to feed me answers.

I went to seek out knowledge. I actively walked on the path towards understanding more truth about reality. It takes time. The more time you put into walking it, the more you uncover. If you don't actively put in time, you won't uncover much.

Ex: Someone who spends more time learning about subject X, who can explain subject X, likely understands subject X more than someone who hasn't taken much or any time to actively learn about subject X, let alone be able to explain it in depth.

If your life is busy with work, family, friends, kids, activities, then you don't take much time each day, or in your whole life, to devote to an active pursuit of truth, if you even chose to pursue it at all, which most people don't.

If you want to find the truth about something, seek it out and find it yourself. Be curious, ask questions, and doubt how valid something is so that you can properly assess it yourself, rather than simply believe what others tell you the answer is.

Symbols, words and language form the basis for our communication and for further understanding of reality and ourselves. Symbolism is complex. Words can change meaning. Words can carry contextual meaning. If two people are not using the same definition or meaning for a word, their foundation for mutual understanding is already misaligned and off course.

To find out how a word can apply to a context to represent a specific meaning, looking at the etymology of the word can help. Learning is a long, tedious and arduous task to engage in. Learning can be done passively by being induced and condition by the stimulus we receive from our environment, or we can actively choose to direct our time and attention towards certain topics to learn about consciously, with will, purpose and a drive.

Some people don't spend time seeking truth actively, so they don't learn as a result, yet they think they "know" despite not being able to explain themselves. They just repeat conclusions they were fed and accepted. They are this way because of how we are taught to think: conditioned with information believed to be true, not verified as truth.

As a result, some people "don't get it", they don't get certain things, even this explanation here might elude some people.

Some people "don't get" how there is existence.
Some people "don't get" how there is truth.
Some people "don't get" how there is morality.
Some people "don't get" the difference between right and wrong.
Some people "don't get" the difference between truth and falsity.
Some people "don't get" the difference between objective and subjective.

Why? They don't understand the meaning of the words that are used to reflect reality. It's not helpful for those who can't even recognize there is a reality and choose to deny it instead...

I try to explain things. I have a lot of work already done. There is so much information online in the virtual library of the internet to learn from and figure things out. I had to piece things together about how psychology and language interlink to arrive at my understanding that I can explain. One aspect, of our complex reality, can't be simply explained if there are prerequisite pieces of knowledge required to be understood before hand. Giving the punchline without the joke before... doesn't often work. Although someone might indeed "get it" when you just give a bare conclusion, they likely have the required prerequisite knowledge to understand the punchline.

For everyone of us, when we don't know something that is presented to us, we can find out more about it, maybe, eventually, if we seek it out. If not from someone else, then we can potentially uncover it ourselves. We each have a consciousness that can uncover aspects of reality and relay it to others for them to understand as well, via communication. Language is wonderful, but can lead to confusion unless terms have a common definition for all people using them.

If our grounding in language to describe reality is inaccurate, then our understanding of reality based on those description will also be flawed. Truth is extremely important in life, and moral truth more so to determine the quality and condition of our individual and collective lives in society.

So... until we get it... we just don't get it... truth takes time.

time-machinedb5ae.jpg


Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:

Upvoting, Sharing, and Resteeming below.

Follow me for more content to come!


@krnel
2016-12-28, 8:05pm

Sort:  

Very personal. ;-) I like your other stuff. They are bread and butter posts. Got to pay the bills! I like this one for being straight from the heart. Sometimes that doesn't pay the bills though.

Damn it! And just after I told you that you wouldn't likely see that from me! Heheheheeh! :P

Being real often doesn't work out well, as I have learned. I still do it, but people like the lighter stuff. REAL-SHIT doesn't pay the bills often ... hehe. People feel "offended", "insulted" and "judged" when you put up a mirror of reality for them to look at... not pretty.

Thank you Kris. Well said, but it leads me to ponder what led you to write it. I can well imagine a handful of reasons, but instead I will simply ask, are you doing OK? I know how difficult the pursuit of truth can be. Perhaps not as well as you. Perhaps reading this has surfaced feelings in myself I am projecting onto you. Still the question is valid. Is the weight of the pursuit of truth and explaining it to others especially difficult for you right now?

If two people are not using the same definition or meaning for a word, their foundation for mutual understanding is already misaligned and off course.

I recently heard a perfect illustration of such miscommunication. Two very good friends who haven't talked in awhile met to catch up. We'll call them Bob and Tom. After the typical pleasantries and small talk Tom asked Bob, genuinely and sincerely, Are you doing OK? Bob replied, actually no, I'm rather blue. Tom said, Did I hear you right, you said blue? Bob replied, Yes that's right. Tom said, I don't know what you're talking about Bob, you look perfectly normal to me, and I've never seen you blue. The exchange went back and forth becoming emotional and the pitch in their voices reflected it. Bob said, after 5 years of friendship and you still didn't "get" it. And with that Bob turned and departed.

Tom was using the definition of the word as a literal color, whereas Bob was using it as a metaphor for his mood.

I began this reply thinking of that example, and then I stopped as I began to think about what might have led you to write the article. In the process I had to ask myself the same question. The honest answer is the article caused me to reflect on my own struggle to seek truth which has been with me my entire life. It hasn't been easy, and being single at this time of year set the context for feelings of sadness because I haven't been as effective in expressing the truth I have learned to others and the pain the struggle has caused at times.

My time here is not done, and there are more opportunities ahead to do better, to continue the learning process and to share what I've learned with others. I also now realize I have been thinking of one specific way I can and will do that for a few weeks now, and I'm actually looking forward to putting that plan into action.

Thanks for the great feedback again. It is indeed a struggle. We all struggle in life. Truth is a basic foundation for living. So we all struggle to in life towards understanding more about how to navigate reality, whether actively or passively.

I recently wrote in Our Universal Duty and Privilege:

Not convinced of how important truth is? Think about someone lying to you, being dishonest, or betraying you. How important is that in your life? Truth is the foundation for everything.

If truth didn't matter, trust in others and loyalty towards others wouldn't be broken by betrayal, dishonesty, lying, etc. These are subconscious axiomatic intuitive non-reflective understanding we operate by in life, but it can be consciously recognized and seen. Truth is at the foundation of everything. Truth is a synonym for reality/existence. We live in reality, so we live in truth. Being able to see it, describe it, explain it, verify it... is another issue ;)

So well said, yet again. But are you avoiding my sincere question? Even as I discovered a measure of projection it is still validly and sincerely asked, are you doing OK?

Oh, hehe, yeah I'm always fine. ;)

Always? hehe! "Fine" ? I asked if OK... Fine = OK = ? I believe my question was answered, I'll accept it as such. Good, I'm glad to hear it!

LOL, yet another example of how definitions need to be matched.

"OK, alright, fine", I'm always there unless a serious problem hehe. It's just whatever, life.

You remind me very much of my Philosophy professor. You guys would be great friends. He was awesome!

Awesome right back at ya! Thanks for the great compliment hehe. What we don't realize about philosophy, is that philosophy is life. Philo-sophia is love of wisdom, wisdom relates to what we do with what we understand, so philosophia is the love of the wisdom of right-action, right over wrong, morality.

Wisdom is knowing what actions to engage in according to particular situations. Our lives are all about decisions and what we do. Life is all about right actions, whether we are consciously are aware of it, or not. If we weren't, then we would not be bothered when things go wrong, where continuing to do it would have the same salience as stopping. The degree to which we are each aware of the actions we are taking, and the consequences they bring, varies. Just felt like adding that about philosophy hehe. Peace.

Great post!

You can also plant a seed like "tender revolution" & see what grows?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66408.50
ETH 3486.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70