How People Use Public Bathrooms & Social Media • Satire or So True?

in #truth6 years ago

Is there something wrong with this picture?


from pinterest

Of course there is something wrong with this, but it's not the picture

I realize I've lost some of you already, but for those of you bold enough to read on I will try my best to justify my shenanigans. This is humor and satire with a friendly reminder braided in. I hope you had a laugh at the image and if not - maybe read my justifications below.

I find this very comical and I think the reason why it is so funny, to me, is the truth it holds. If you have ever had the job of cleaning a public restroom - you already know. I have been there, so I know. I worked at a gas station in my teen years and I had the task of cleaning the restrooms.

People are animals


I have seen people wreck a bathroom in ways that would puzzle a seasoned crime scene investigator. It makes you wonder and the "wtf's" just pile up.

I have seen this scenario or the end-result of rather: a person shit in the trash can, right next to a toilet, wipe their ass and leave the toilet paper on the floor.

I got the task of cleaning these disasters several times and I did not work there very long. We are talking months.

The amount of creativity and effort is certainly something to praise, but if only someone had guided or harnessed that in a more productive manner. I have seen animals live with more common sense and awareness. I laugh at the picture above because I think it's funny, but I also feel that there is a disconnect (or many) somewhere in our human species. I realize that we are animals but do we need to live without any compassion or respect for others?

Don't use social media like some use public bathrooms


I think it goes without saying, but we need to have some dignity and respect for one another. If we all focused on that for a short time, would there be such a mess in the public bathroom or on social media?

I don't think it is an impossible task to use a facility as it is intended and trying to leave it a little better than when you entered.

Self-Control is the best way forward

No mind-police necessary. We are individuals capable of self-regulating. There should not need to be a regulatory force, we are perfectly capable of controlling ourselves. I am not saying to censor your thoughts and obey the distorted "politically correctness", which is vastly subjective and misinterpreted.

I am asking everyone to consider how we all impact the environment that we share - social media.

This environment can be a gorgeous landscape or a disgusting landfill. No matter what social platform you choose, pick your poison, it's all the same when you consider that each is an environment. We shape our environment and we directly impact the internal stability of the platform we choose to stand upon or contribute to.

How we use a public bathroom might say a great deal about how we value our environment

DO YOU AGREE THAT SOCIAL MEDIA & PUBLIC BATHROOMS REFLECT HOW WE VALUE OUR IMMEDIATE ENVIRONMENT?

Sort:  

When I first saw the picture, I just thought : BUT WHAT'S THAT??!!

But I read till the end and I think you're SO TRUE with the comparison of bathroom & social media!

Nice finding!

I knew the image would create some mixed reactions, but I hope that I presented my intent well enough 😊

I think that we can learn so much from humor because there's always some truth nearby.

Seriously, no bull, your post is extremely direct to the point with a very good graphic description of what we have all seen way too often!

It kind of reminds of those comedy movies where a shopping mall security guard thinks he's a Police Officer.

Need I say any more!

You got what I'm saying, @jackmiller! 😉
It's just something I had pinned and was laughing about it when I rediscovered it. It reminds me of what social media has evolved into since the days of AOL. Striking resemblance​ to public bathrooms 😆

Worst clean up job I ever had was working at a bar in college. The women’s restroom after hip hop night looked like a war zone. Vomit, tampons, piss, shit, broken glass everywhere, more vomit. Was unreal. The men’s room was always much cleaner, which was pleasantly surprising

Right?!! Warzone is a good descriptor and honestly, I can attest to the men/women bathroom difference. Not always, but the place I worked at had two restrooms and the women's was usually the worse. It's like people lose all control in there 😂

But was a great character builder for a college job, silver lining (slightly shitstained) 🤣

😆💯
Very true. Also a great way to stop biting your nails

It's so disgusting that I personally have determined not to use a public restroom...it makes me feel sick.

Agree that it is not a pleasant place to be, so I think noting how public restrooms are an environment and how similar social media is - an environment as well. We need to use these 'facilities' a bit more responsibly.

Thanks for reading

You got a 15.00% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @grow-pro!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

This post is worth a follow ! Did you know that you can automate your account? You Get 0.1 STEEM Just to Join!
AutoSteem(dot)info

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99