You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Revisiting the Blind Men and the Elephant: Objective Truth versus Subjective Truth

in #truth7 years ago

Very nice post, I greatly appreciate your inclusion of the "common truth". I know that my post on debating relativists may appear to have excluded the possibility that subjective or common truths are valid in the sense that aid us in improving our lives or environment, but that was not the intent. You argue this elegantly above and I wholeheartedly agree.

I know that I left out a lot that is relevant in my recent post, but the topic is so extensive I really pared out a lot which means I couldn't take account of many very good issues you raised here. I really enjoyed reading this, thanks for the post!

@dwinblood also directed me to a really nice piece he wrote almost six months ago that I think is worth reading, it might interest you as well Truth vs Fact. It also speaks to the "liar" aspect of the video you embedded, which I also found very entertaining by the way!

And the bit of

intellectual blind men feeling up the elephant of reality.

If you are getting the feeling that I think that trying to define Objective Truth is just academic masturbation, you just might be right.

really made my night. I had to stop reading for a bit just to have laugh at that.

Thanks for posting a link to your post in my comment section, that really helps me find stuff a lot faster.

Sort:  

we spend so much time trying to define "objective" truth when we dont have a method of describing it that we tend to miss the important part, what can be agreed upon when we pare out the biases...the "common" truth

I know that I left out a lot that is relevant in my recent post,

good g*d, yes. there is no way to cover this with in justice in one or two posts

really made my night. I had to stop reading for a bit just to have laugh at that.

I try an imitate the great PJ O'Rourke; glad you got a kick out of it ;>

thanks for the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52