Civil War On Steemit: Why Flagging War is Bad For All

in #truth7 years ago (edited)

Steemit  will be in a precarious situation if we will not unite as one great family and resolve the flagging war like-wild fire going on between some of our great members. This issue has caused a lot of arguments between the supporters of the people involved when they should invest their time in promoting solid projects on steem blockchain, making more steem and promoting this unique platform to the world.  One big example of the issue is between @berniesanders and @dan . @dan is the founding member of Steem , Bitshares and EOS and a great investor in steem power.   He has, however, been flagging @berniesanders posts with some genuine reasons (which I really do not know the details), however our steemit community will be better off if these two gentlemen will talk this over and channel their energy to a more positive thing in growing our community. Some points to note:


Pic source 

  • It might go out of Control:  let me quote from a play written by a Nigerian author Ola Rotimi : OVONRAMWEN NOGBAISI: Africa’s Exploitation, and the Great Fall of the Benin Kingdom : ‘’a provoked houseboy cannot match his wicked master strength with strength, he maims the master’s favorite goat!’’ Literary both speakers had one reasons or the other to cut pounds of flesh in justice and revenge. see link .  @berniesanders cannot match @dan strength with strength so his strategy is to use his voting armies in attacking anything relating to @dan  including any posts that added EOS tag - which affected @max-infeld , @nanzo-scoop , @eosio ,  @libertyteeth  , @surfyogi  , @tokenika  and @officialfuzzy whaleshare project posts  (plus many others). 
  • Wasting Voting Power: I will remise if I say that I would not enjoy up votes from these gentlemen -which will go a long way in making someone succeed here on steemit. In fact, many struggling minnows will be happy to get an upvote from them-  however it is being wasted in flagging wars.
  • Spam and Scam war: We have issue of spam here especially with regard to scam up voting that robs our reward system. Therefore these flagging can be turned to community use in support of the fight against spam and scam here by some steemians  :  @ats-david ,  @transisto , the new  born  @sadkitten  , @klye@sherlockholmes  (report spam and scam to him via steem chat)  , @personz , @cheetah and , @stellabelle, @papa-pepper@steemcleaners and  @ausbitbank (and many othere) who are using their steem  and voting power wisely  to flag scammers and spammers  . Moreover another good job is from  @spaminator  - which has found in the past (1 week period) 10,102 spam comments see link here . I wonder what will happen if steemit opens the flood gate for millions of people-we all should therefore, focus on community unity against such spams and scams .
  • Community Unity: in my former  post: Why Steemit will be Facebook and Reddit Killer  see link  -taking the fight to Facebook et all will not be an easy one because Facebook has billions of Dollars to spend and take up fight against our dear steemit even through M&A strategy. Therefore, we all have to stop stabbing one another due to ideological or philosophical differences ( that is  Facebook specialty ) rather I hope that with @ned leadership we all will grow a strong community  and a family like relationship  ( One for all-All for One) in order to make steemit a force to reckon with –which is a win win for all.


Conclusion: Steemit is a great platform and will even be more successful in the future however we all have to use the features it provide in a  wise way- especially  our steem and voting power. Let us unite against spam and scam and deviate from flagging one another because we disagree with them. Importantly, Steemit  will indeed  be in a precarious situation if we will not unite as one great family and resolve the flagging war like-wild fire going on between some of our great members.


Do you agree? Send in your comments and please would you up vote my post in order to send in your support,  click follow in order to see future posts from me on your feed and resteem in order to share this post with your followers.

  Also  read my former blog post Why Steemit will be Facebook and Reddit Killer  see link 

For those who want to be an investor in Bitcoin wallet see X coins link: https://xcoins.io/investors?r=v93e2z    

Sort:  

They both have a history and their differences are such that they cannot be resolved by just talking. Egos can be a funny thing.

We'll just need to wait it out till at least one of them just forgets this whole fiasco and moves on. One of them just needs to extend their hand and hopefully settle all of this and accept that regardless of each other's differences, we as a community need to learn to co-exist

Good point, I agree with you. This seems to be a long standing issue however compromise is needed .Thanks for your comment.

Interesting. 21st Century publishing wars... In the old days, we'd burn down the newspaper office or smash the printing press. Now we employ armies of bots to drown out our enemies...

This platform isn't big enough for the two of us. Draw, pardner!

But seriously, cant we all just get along?

That is the point I want to make, thanks for your comment. I hope people will learn to get along.

Thanks, @charles1. I enjoy and appreciate your posts and comments. Cheers!

you are welcome bud, and more success to you

Si así es, cuando recién entré a Steemit tuve varios problemas por hacer flags indebidos! Pero bueno ya todo se solucionó y aprendí cómo se usan para bien de esta comunidad. Gracias por compartir esta información /)

I completely agree with you @charles1
No good ever came from any war ever, all this will do if it continues is draw people to each side of the conflict. I'd like to see them sort it out amicably for the sake of everyone here who is working really hard to produce great content, have fun and make new friends.
Sort it out guys and think of the bigger picture. There are over 300,000 of us now and it's about time you took a step back from the flag war to think about how it will affect the whole community.
Great post buddy.

Thanks bud, I agree with your comment. I hope that they will read all these great comments and at least compromise

Excellent post @charles1.

I agree that Steemit is an excellent platform. Only being here a short while, I am still learning the ropes. I do not know the present war that you discuss but have seen similar situations repeatedly. From my perspective, the only thing that will kill this is from within. People want to get their egos in the way to the detriment of the overall success. I know many people are strong willed, that is actually an admirable trait. However, there still needs to be enough ability to step back and realize when one is so focused on the battle that the war gets lost.

As for the voting, it seems to be a drawback that there downvotes take away power. Speaking as a newer person, your intuition is 100% correct. We would all be thrilled to get a vote from one of the whales....even a 1% or 5% vote is more than most of us receive in a day.

Sometimes people get too far removed from the source. Isnt the idea of this place to give people a place to go, earn money for participating and creating content, and helping others? Did I miss something or read something into it that is not here? Perhaps the individuals you speak of forgot about that.

Thank you for this post and all that you do to call attention to what is taking place.

I agree with you. 1% upvote from these whales will go a long way for minnows . I only hope that someone with influence will read this post and reach out to them. We should not get too involved in the fight in order not to be destroyed by it

Great post man. I totally agree with you! Upvoted and RESTEEMED! Suggestion BTW! Pick a better feature image that would fit the thumbnail! It can help your post reach more people! :]

Good point, I agree with you. I purposely chose the image just to make fun of the flagging issue here. Thanks for your comment and resteem following you in order to stay in touch and send in my support

Good one as always...both guys are great and valuable steemians and shd resolve their differences amicably... Most of we minnows work hard to earn very little..we need those whalish upvotes rather than them using it for flagging...thanks for the post

welcome and note your favourite quote there in the post...amazing quote indeed

sure from the great play writer himself... ;)

welcome, good play writer indeed.

Yes...very good...

I'm very much a newbie on Steemit and I was attracted to using it as a way to escape from Facebook with its upcoming censorship. I am also interested in publishing some blogs that I would not want to be censored by them. I don't fully understand how Steemit works and I am less interested in the revenue side of it but it seems that others are and that is fair enough but I can see that it would introduce an element of competition which usually leads to people employing any means to 'Win', sometimes at all costs. SM often gives people a sense of grandeur that is unfounded but leads them to a self-belief that they are custodians of what is right and what should be opposed. I think leaving the ego in check should be watch words for any who use SM.

Good point, I agree with you. As a new members, I refer you to my older blog posts for tips that will help you succeed here. Success to you.

Thanks for tip Charles1.

you are welcome and more success to you.

@byrngerard I hope that you would write whatever comes to mind. There's no censorship here just don't throw some personal attack. You can say whatever you want and be responsible with it. Haters gonna hate. You earned yourself a new follower!

I am also interested in publishing some blogs that I would not want to be censored by them.

Thanks very much!

Good point, I agree.

What are you planning on blogging about?😃

I want to write about a broad range of subjects but my main areas of interest are Social Justice (how it might be achieved), Art and its role in the development of mankind, World Affairs and Technology. I have been an early adopter of IT and logged onto my first BBS in 1983. Subsequently worked on and off in Data Comms for 30+ years and I am still enthusiastic about the emergence of new technologies. But I guess the main thing I am interested in is counteracting the Lies and Propaganda that permeates all forms of media.

Wow good answer...maybe we can plan an ICO together..lots of money to be made via ICO if we have a great plan

Good point...time is the key

MSM is so funny. Define Social Justice 🙂

Every person on the planet has a right to their fair share of the earth's rich bounty. They also have a series of rights, many of these are included in Article 25 of the UN Declaration of Human Rights. Anything that denies those rights is an injustice. And so the definition of Social Justice is the delivery of those rights.

Yeah how can you take basic stuff away from people and just get away with it? Doesn't make sense!

Great question, haha

Thanks I agree although I may be a little biased 🙂

Just curious did you do two mba's?

No ...MIT was a course for senior executives

Beautiful. I hope you have a WONDERFUL, WONDERFUL day and thanks for connecting on here. 🤠

Very on point @bryngerard you seem to be very knowledgeable although knew in the workings of steemit and how it shd be... We need unity here...welcome to steemit and feel free always to reach me for guide

Thanks very much! I must say Steemit seems a very friendly place, it reminds me of how the Internet and pre-Internet online communities worked in the past. (CIX, the Well etc.)

i agree. cool people on here.

very good and try to read wider @bryngerard check out my blog posts too

UNITY!!! YES!!! 🙂

true... only unity can make us have progress against the likes of facebook, twitter et al... @pjcswart that reminds me, find time to check my blog posts too

Sure what do you blog about?

A lot...general topic...guess you already found out...☺

Hey, thanks for the mention and the shout-out on my post. I was a victim, just posted (a mere 12 hours ago!) a happy event for my followers, of purchasing EOS.

That Bernie jerk decided he will downvote any post that mentions 'X'. I don't care what 'X' is, if one chooses to randomly downvote people one should expect that there will be consequences when one chooses to create more "collateral damage".

I wrote a tool to Show Steemit Edits, and just made a post about it if you're interested.

Often, these wars will include people saying things they later decide they didn't want to say; this tool allows you to see the entire edit history.

I even heard of death threats, although haven't read them directly.

You are welcome @libertyteeth , it is quite unfortunate hence why I posted about the issue. Hopefully the issue will be resolved and we focus on more better issues. I am followig you in order to stay in touch and send in my suppor. More success to you.

Wow @libertyteeth so sorry for the down vote on your EOS post which is unnecessary... Just ignore and keep up the good work...death threats you say.m.😱😵.... Hmm....I pray all gets settled as we are a big family here...no wars pls...forgiveness is the key...!

Thanks Ken! Checked out your profile, I like your posts on eggshells and organic eating, so I've followed you.

Yeah, lashing out at others because one is upset with someone else just doesn't seem like proper social behavior. Whether in person, or on-line.

And then, in his post when a minnow said "please consider reversing your downvote on my post I spent nine hours on?" he responded with "don't talk to me, talk to Dan" -- Dan had nothing to do with his attack on that minnow! I pointed that out, with some vitriol in Bernie's direction, because he had attacked me as well without provocation.

And no, Bernie, I do not consider "provocation" to be you posting a random post announcing your downvoting campaign. That's like Douglas Adams's description of Arthur Dent's house destruction paperwork at the beginning of HHGTTG.

If one decides to harm others, then one should expect similar treatment. And making that decision after someone else harmed him, well, he's not thinking straight or clearly, because pretty much nobody discussing EOS knows who Bernie is or his gripe. And now that I know a little, I don't want to know him any more.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by charles1 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58157.69
ETH 3122.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42