You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MIserable people doing miserable things!

in #truth6 years ago

You touched on a lot and it's a bit of ground to cover but, for the sake of time, I will touch on what is most applicable to flagging and moderation on the Steem blockchain. I do not plan to touch on the ethics on vote buying at this time for brevity sake.

even stinc do not apply the "guidelines" they themselves set

First, which guideline specifically are you referring? I know that when you flag a user the dialog comes up with possible reasons so perhaps that is what you are referring.

Either way, Stinc has seemed to not involve themselves with cleaning or moderation efforts and have deferred to the broader community. All that have invested in a stake are responsible in some sense for the success or failure of the platform and that includes curation in BOTH directions.

First of all, the downvote is a mechanism for disagreement of rewards. It is about the value of the user's contribution to the blockchain. It is agnostic to the plights the user off-chain unless said plights were conveyed on-chain in which case there are a multitude of Steem initiatives to assist with charitable causes.

I don't believe that because another person is hard up that we should disregard the broader implications of their blockchain activity on the community. The propagation of abuse on the platform makes it more difficult for outsiders to take Steem seriously as a blogging platform and this has the potential to jeopardize the earning potential of well-meaning content creators trying their best to add value.

I know some people don't give a shit about bigger picture but we do. We acknowledge that actions on the blockchain do not occur in a vacuum but rather the actions magnified on a large scale affect us all.

Our intention is for the improvement and preservation of Steem as a viable blogging platform which is something that avails us all. I often allude to fostering a win-win paradigm on the blockchain and that is what I would like to promote. We try our best to help guide users in the right direction and it has worked on many occasions. We do want to help people but not at the expense of others.

Your view is good, insomuch, that it shows empathy to scammers and whatever struggles they may be going through but where it fails is that it does not grasp the bigger picture of how the propagation of abuse has the potential to affect the earning potential of other users that are doing their damndest to add value to the platform.

It's a shame you have taken such a position of antipathy against Steem decentralized abuse fighting efforts. Also, believe me when I say that if I had the SP to deal with it, that whale abuse would have been handled. Think being realistic and operating within our capabilities is the wisest course at this time. No, we do not target the little guy.

Most of us are the little guys. We just care about the platform, the direction it is going and are willing to work together to make a difference.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I have zero idea who you even are, and can not be bothered to reply other than to say, the user retention rate here sucks big dogs balls, and you all have to take some blame!

I have zero idea who you even are,

Who I am is unimportant. The ongoing discussion on the other hand is and hope you will entertain a conversation at another juncture.

Yes, I concur user retention is awful. I think a lot of folks get turned off by others making bank by the cheat to win strategy and bounce.

I know I've considered it but I'd rather try my best to fix the problems with my friends then to walk away. I don't have a whole lot of sympathy for scammers that exit though.

I think it was likely the Banfield-ites that brought them here with the way they present Steem as a site to make quick money. The scammers and speculators came running real quick but perhaps now they are becoming disillusioned after realizing how their scheming ways are going to become less profitable as long as more Steemian are willing to work on moderation efforts.

We would be glad if scammers can be brought around but sometimes it isn't possible. Some just are not willing to put in the effort to build Steem. That's ok. We can build it even better without them.

Posted using Partiko Android

I know who you are - you are the most boring prick on Steemit!

"flag enthusiast" - WTF? Have you tried jamming one up your arse I hear it's a good buzz...

You're quite the charmer, aren't you @frot.

Oh, you even formatted your statement as a heading so it must be true.

One things you probably didn't know about me not that you'd care.

I founded @steemflagrewards, a project that has been supported by a number in top 20 witnesses and recognized by many other reputable members of the community. I programmed the Discord bot initially and now I have fellow devs collaborating on GitHub. It's open source for transparency.

Our user base grows day by day. People are tired of the lame "good post" spam comments and plagiarist. If there wasn't a demand, we wouldn't be upvoting flag comments like we do. Just look at the comments and see for yourself.

In any case, you can call it what you will but one thing that would be a hard sell is to call it boring. Shit's happening. We are working on a site and SMT deployment.

We even serve assholes like you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice one, troll. Let me know when you are ready to make an intelligible argument.

Posted using Partiko Android

who the fuck is that asshole? I clicked over to his twitter & he looks like boring twat over there too

I see your having fun.

Shit bro, you sure about that statement? I mean come on, some of the tards on here wake up thinking about what to write today about how great steemit is, and you think he tops "them" wow, that is a biggie right there.

No way is SFR or any flag curation to blam.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57694.11
ETH 2446.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38