You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Reason Millenials Are Losing Their Minds Over Trump

in #trump8 years ago

What's wrong about having a government that guarantees the fundamental needs of their citizens for free? And yes, universal healthcare and education are fundamental needs.

Sort:  

nothing is "Free". someone else pays for it. the government isn't a magic entity.

if I decide to have 7 children by no means am I allowed morally to force you to pay for them just because I feel like it. Is THAT simple.

I personally don't mind paying more taxes, if that are going to ensure access to everyone to that fundamental rights I'm talking about. In fact, taxes exist for that reason: to fund the society where we want to live. And I want to live in a society where everyone have the same oportunities, even if that cost me a bit more.

And with that commentaries I'm not saying that public funds should be used for anything anyone wants. In fact, with exception to healthcare (sorry if I'm very insistent with that, but it is vital in my opinion), I support a model where everyone is eligible for using public money, but as a reward for his job. You want help with your studies? Have a mark above that limit to be able to request it. Do you want money from the state after you retire? Fine, prove that you have been paying taxes at least for x years.

At the end, we have a model where we allow everyone to take the opportunity to achieve the same goals, but we require them to work hard for it; instead of a system where you need something so arbitrary like money. For me, it's THAT simple.

Have a nice day :D

Great then. Let's make taxes voluntary so that people help each other with the things they want.

The point of this is to be voluntary. Because as things get more complicated people need stuff for many different things. Democratic preference won't cut it.

if it was that simple it would be implementd by now. I think you need to check a couple of books on economics. taxation without consent is essentially theft.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12