Pulling to Tennessee

in #trucks8 years ago

Pulling to Tennessee

  An open letter reply to: CBS News “Hauling Danger”



  In this script, I intend to paint a picture, for those confused by CBS News in an effort to smear thousands of hard working Americans, as well as place fear into the hearts of families on the roadways.

A little bit about myself,

  My Name is Tim. I am a 30 year old Combat Veteran, I left The Military in 2013 and eventually found my way into Professional driving late last year. I now live in beautiful Tennessee, north of Nashville. I have a family and a few friends I absolutely love. I work for a great small fleet based out of Smyrna, TN., driving the Eastern states mostly, in a 2015 Mack, loaded with bells and whistles. It is a 13 speed, automatic, with a dozen gauges that let me know how the truck is doing, pressures, temps, and how full my 2- 150Gal Diesel tanks are. On the dash, mounts the computer that I use to send messages, and controls my Hours of Service, accompanied by a CB radio. Last, a hands free device firmly placed  on my head, as to not even touch my phone during the day.


 This is a highlighted account of a 4 day drive, In hopes to shed light, on a media lie, and on a real problem.


 I started my early day, 1,170 miles away from home at 3:30am, in Aurora, CO. My first stop, 90 miles away, in a small town to load up on 44,000 lbs. of beans, destined for Raleigh,NC., A 1,662 mile drive. My Day starts early, but normal. A 10-20min inspection, A pull to the pumps to fuel those 2 large fuel tanks, restroom, and away I go. I get loaded , while talking with another Veteran at the shipper, and then make my way into Kansas. Driving along I-70, with the day starting to show, another truck, making his way passes me. Then “BOOM!” one of his tires blow from debris on the road, that we were both trying to avoid.


 “Hey, Driver!” I say into the Mic of that CB radio, “ You've blown a drive tire!” as I turned on my hazards and brake to give him room to make it over safely to the side of the road. He'll likely spend hours on the side of the road waiting for a mobile mechanic, while speeding cars would surely be coming within feet of both of those guys. As I continued on, the rushing driver behind us, after witnessing the event, had to “give me the finger, and cut me off”... in open Kansas, not to mention, he didn't hang up his phone to do so. (Might need to refigure this last sentence)


  As the interstate got more and more busy, the daily norm appears; people eating, applying makeup, talking on the phone, arguments, bored drivers, speeders, and so on. Many of those cars would cut in front of the truck, to gain what a feeble mind thinks is a time saver. The reason I am putting emphasis on that, is because at this weight, reaction time, and other factors, it takes me at least a Football field to stop, in best case. So the day goes on, and eventually comes to an end in Salina, KS. Watching 6 hours of mandatory safety videos on my laptop.






  The next day starts around 7am, 749 miles away from home, no time for a shower, I'm running late after I slept in. Again the day started with that 10-20 minute inspection of the truck and trailer, fluids, tugging my trailer to triple check it is still attached to the truck properly, always the brakes, and tires. Finding a tire that was becoming defective I let my dispatch know it was going to be a long day, as I need to find a place to get it fixed, or else I was gonna be on the side of the road in danger of getting hit, as well as any unfortunate mechanic called to my rescue.


 The day, just like any other, goes on as more drivers of cars and trucks, talk on their phones, reach for something behind them, or pretend they have a career in NASCAR. Heading down a hill in Kansas city, one of the cars felt the need to pass me on the right in an ending lane, I never seen him coming! Though the cab of these trucks have more mirrors than small vehicles, there are still blind spots, and an illegal move like that car did, all I could do was hit the brakes, if I was hanging on the bumper, I could touch his car. That close, I almost couldn't see the him.


 I finally make it to a place in Missouri to change that tire, 4 hours and I am back on the road. I make my way to St, Louis as I deal with more of the aforementioned and as I pull up a hill my speed drops. Remember that 44,000 pounds? we don't slow down to make people mad, I assure everyone. we don't want to be going that slow. blame gravity. That didn't stop two stupid, childish people to let me see how long that finger is and stomp on their brakes in front of me, putting others that had no involvement at risk.


 After the sun falls, I shut the truck down in Illinois at a packed truck stop, where the only spot open was one I had to pay for. Hour wait for a shower, 276 miles away from home... oh yeah, I'm not going home, I'm just driving a few miles away from it, on my way to North Carolina. I wake in the morning to the same routine, except when I just get on the road, Department of Transportation is everywhere, stopping trucks. Rumor on the CB was that a tired trucker, trying to find a stop, after passing the full one I was at, fell asleep at the wheel; While you were asleep in bed, at home with your family, he died miles and hours away from his, alone.


 The day goes on, relatively uneventful, through Kentucky, into Tennessee, right past the exit for home, 7 miles, through Tennessee, and onto North Carolina. Before my day can end, I must take a steep 6% grade on I40. This is usually a time when cars actually seem to finally understand, to give us room. I Still have to get to the bottom safely. First a stop at the top of the hill, a lit sign explains where the turns, mile markers and where the “Runaway Truck Ramps” are. Then posted truck speed, half that of cars. Some trucks, use manual transmission and a “Jake Brake”, some, like mine, lock the transmission in a set gear and pray it does the whole job. We cant use our brakes like cars, they will catch fire in minutes.

 So folks like you get to make it home every night? This place I was planning on shutting down, to finally get that shower, yep, packed so full, I had to wait for trucks to be done getting fuel to try the next place. 45 minutes more, and I find a dirt lot behind a restaurant, where I had to stand in the middle of the lot for cell service, a few calls to the ones I love, and time to toss and turn, wondering if I am in a safe place. 337 miles away from home, from my best friend, and the dog, hoping She does well at competition this weekend as it makes her happy.


 3 more hours to my delivery, home sick and sick of the truck. Double check both ways as I pull out of the lot, almost get T-boned by a woman speeding over the hill. 30 minutes before my appointment and it starts to rain. Not 2, not 3, but 4 cars that were not paying attention,and going too fast for heavy rain, all in the median or ditch... I finally make it to my delivery.



 So time to get my load home? Yep, 2 hrs away. Still have a “Downpour” ahead, avoiding 3 accidents, cause cars don't turn on their headlights in rain, or slow down, or the phone is more important than everyone else and missing more. ( http://www.livetrucking.com/police-say-heavy-rain-was-a-factor-in-35-vehicle-crash-on-interstate-81/ )-


  I am still 475 miles away from home, don't have the time to get there today, so while you are sound asleep, just hold onto who you have, and please, ya don't really need to give us such a hard time. Speeding really doesn't save that many minutes, and people, truckers want to make it home too, even if it is next week.


  When we turn on our blinker, we need to get over, not just be cause we want to. Please, give us room. And remember, we don't stop on a dime, but a paved football field. Be safe.


  Now CBS news, time for “The Soldier Part” of me, Here is what I really think about you. You all are a bunch of “Hate-Baiting Maggots ”. Please tell me, can you ever get the blood of your hands for all the false, misleading, and worthless stories you do? Such as the reporting that ive seen in Iraq. Can you ever spend your blood money, that was earned driving hate and fear into the public and call it news?


 Your souls are tainted as true enemies to peace, happiness, social bonding. How can you hug and love those at home?

 Instead of smearing people that just woke to earn a buck and care for their families, tell us why you hide thetruth from the public, instead of being a pawn.
Sort:  

Interesting read. Thanks for sharing

Good thoughts

Congratulations @triggerpuller6! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard knock out by hardfork

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @triggerpuller6! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65974.40
ETH 2637.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67