Traveling is One of the Best Learning “Hacks” Ever!!

in #triptolemus6 years ago

I think that the idea of traveling and learning is so underrated. Traveling is most definitely an important tool in creating memorable life experiences that can be leverage for vast amounts of learning.

The first step - load up on audiobooks and podcasts that are RELEVANT to your trip.

Loading up on audiobooks and podcasts (and real books too!) that are relevant to your trip will make your trip that much more meaningful and will give you so much more to learn.

I’m taking a trip to Amsterdam soon and I’m really excited about it.

I’m of course following my own advice and loading up on audiobooks, podcasts and regular books as a means to learning more about anything really.

I love learning for the sake of learning. There’s so much to learn about the world and there are so many experiences to be had.

One thing that I plan on doing in Amsterdam is visiting the Van Gogh museum!

Before I get to the museum though, I want to make sure that I’m sufficiently informed about him and his work!!

I’m a big proponent of learning relevant information before having a great experience.

Sure, it would be cool and a great learning experience to just head to the museum with a dose of curiosity, but I will learn and insanely greater amount of information and I will have a far better experience if I learn about Van Gogh before getting there.

That way, I have some context about the art and his life. The more context you have, the more amazing information you can take in.


Learning Like this Helps You Meet People!

I’ve also found that learning a lot about something before you go and experience it yourself is a great way to meet new people and have really deep and insightful conversations.

And yes, having those conversations also leads to even more learning and even more conversations which leads to even more learning!!!

It’s another activity that involves my favorite thing in the world - the Snowball Effect!!


I have lots of reading/listening to do now and then when I’m on the trip I’ll have lots of conversations and learning to do there as well!!!


Sort:  

You got a 31.46% upvote from @upme thanks to @triptolemus! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

You got a 33.03% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @triptolemus!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Traveling definitely adds a lot of life lessons to your brain! You learn by just being there :).

Posted using Partiko iOS

Definitely space-cakes, before (and/or after) the museum

Overuse of the term "hack" aside, I would generaly tend to agree with the presmise that traveling is a great way to learn alot of things you never would otherwise.

After my Degree programme I have promised myself that I will travel a lot even if it is within the states in my country and absorb some of their culture. There are people who stay too long in one place without experiencing other places, people, and culture. This doesn't add to the richness of one's life and experience.
And I also agree with you when you say that we should learn about the places we intend visiting. This way you get to know about important places you might ordinarily overlook.

While traveling you explore on many things like different culture, language different food different behavior its a great way of learning

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

its really awesome. your article really make sense. and helping me a lot

Thank you!! I'm glad it could reach you!! What was your favorite part?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71