Sometimes You Gotta Just Kick Back and Relax

in #triptolemus6 years ago

Some people (myself included, especially in these insane downtrends) tend to take life way too seriously. We like to think of time as being finite, so we must work as hard as possible and as many hours as possible in order to achieve the dreams we set out to conquer.

Doing this though - obsessively and unwaveringly chasing your dreams - can send you down a sort of “seriousness” rabbit hole - a hold where you miss being present, you miss the moment, you miss out on the things that make life worth living.

Now, I’m also one who’s obsessed with being obsessed. I’m obsessed with working and I love doing it. In fact, working is one of my main things that I enjoy.

I love being serious and I love taking my craft seriously as well. That’s why I put in countless hours of work into my craft, even if the prospect of getting paid isn’t a reality quite just yet.

I’m willing to grind and to put in the work and spend 18 hours a day chasing my dreams.

On the other hand, I’m also aware of the idea of working too hard.

Now now, don’t lie to yourself. Many people like to say that they’re working too hard, but in reality, they’re not working hard enough. I could make a whole separate post about that.

This post is focused on people like me - the ones who can get lost in the seriousness of their pursuit.

If you want to be a dream conquerer, you can’t be serious all the time.

The people who dream the biggest tend to be the people who are the most childish. Childish in the sense that they’re imagination and creativity have not yet been sucked dry by society.

I saw this quote today and felt that it perfectly embodied what I’m talking about:

"A little nonsense now and then is relished by the wisest people.” - Roald Dahl

A little nonsense now and again never hurt anybody 😉

In fact, nonsense - which I take to mean fun, inspiring and non-work related activities - can be the spark that ignites the fire of your passion to work even harder.

If you mix in a little nonsense - a little fun and games, if you will - into your hard working lifestyle, you can actually feel more energized and more fulfilled.

Feeling more fulfilled is one of the greatest feelings on earth. It’s like there’s just a burning fire within you and you’re ready to conquer the world and your dreams.


So enjoy a little leisure time. Do something that makes you genuinely happy with the only intention of being genuinely happy.

Comment below how you feel after you do that thing that you so enjoy.

Sort:  

I like to play video games whenever I filled stretched and if I get more time during sunset it's pleasant to cycle and sit beside bank of river and feel the cool breeze.

You got a 59.87% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @triptolemus!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

GUD ARTICLE.LET GET TOGETHER.GUD JOB

KINDLY CALL ME ON +2347069517043.LET BE FRIEND.I UPVOTED YOU.ANY ADVICE FOR ME TO MAKE IT HERE

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Living is present moment is good rather than worry . Rather we should take out time for enjoying .Are you doing something to remove it? @triptolemus

Did you take that photo? 😍

Haha I wish!! It's from pixabay ;) It's a great photo though, I love that one!

Sometimes its all the time.

Haha that's hilarious... I dunno if it's all the time, but definitely often!!!

Its usually always unconsistant

interesting article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59232.68
ETH 2638.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44