Bad Things Happen, But Your Reaction is What is In Your Control

in #triptolemus6 years ago

We all have those days when something bad happens to us. Something completely out of our control. Somethings are worse than others. Some problems are small, but others are really large and have rippling impacts for our whole lives.

The reason I'm writing this is because I had something happen to me recently - it was on the smaller side in terms of bad things happening - my iPhone got stolen.

There are a lot of people who have much worse problems than losing their iPhone, but to me, getting stolen from is very upsetting. Not even necessarily because it costs money to replace, but because it got stolen from me at a place where I felt safe and now won't feel safe anymore.

So what does one do when faced with a problem like this? Do you cry about it and sit around feeling sorry for yourself? Do you spend countless hours trying to hunt down some suspects? Or do you accept that it happened and try to make a positive from a negative?

I choose the 3rd option every time.

Instead of sitting around feeling terrible about what happened, I'm going to accept that this happened and I'm going to use it as fuel to make myself even better.

If I work 10, 20, 30 or 60% harder this week, then I can get more work done, I can learn more and increase my knowledge base, etc. I can make myself more valuable and I can be fueled to work so much harder because this thing happened to me. This type of motivational fuel may only last for a week or so, but I absolutely intend on capitalizing on this opportunity!

So now you see that I've turned a small, bad situation into an opportunity for growth and expansion in my life. This same methodology can be applied to any bad situation in anyone's life.

I feel like the world would be such a better place if everyone just looked at bad situations as fuel to make their life better.

Sort:  

Perceive that occasionally, whatever you can control is your exertion and your mentality. When you put your vitality into the things you can control, you'll be significantly more effective.Every hardship shows an opportunity, we simply need to perceive that as opposed to giving it a chance to overcome us.

wow grate your article keep it up @triptolemus

We have to live in present forgot the past
It's not about iphone or anything items but for any Human our we lost any family members in thos type of incident

I agree, living in the present and continuing to make your life and the lives of your loved ones brighter and better is the key to a happier life!

This is a good post I love it

thank you, I'm glad you loved it!!!

What an outlook!
You have taught me something valuable. Thanks buddy.

Thank you! I'm glad you could pick up some knowledge!!

Nice post

Thank you!

Nice great knowledge

Thank you, I'm glad you thought it was great!

Shit happens to me. Shit came to me and go. GO AWAY

Always focus on moving forward! That's what I do at least!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Nice post..sir👍

thank you!! I appreciate your kindness!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 56420.74
ETH 2938.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22