You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How does one deal With/Accept a Loved one who displays Self-Destructive Tendencies (TSU Bi-Weekly Question)

in #tribesteempup6 years ago

I have been in that situation a couple of times and it sure does take a lot of your time and nerves. It puts not just your patience but your love to the test too. We are all only human and have our limits. Luckily, I was able to help before I lost my will to help and everything is fine now. This can be tricky because at some point a person must know when to help and when to walk away. People think that you are not allowed to walk away, that you are a bad person if you do but if the other person starts being destructive towards him and everyone who is surrounding him and nothing helps, it is time to pack the bags. He is choosing to suffer and I am not willing to make that choice myself. As long as a person wants my help, he is going to have it but if he does not, why would I force him and destroy my life too? Thank you for sharing your views on this 💚

Sort:  

Yes my dear, there is a lot of patience that is required. Our loved ones are sometimes the most toxic people in our life and we need to deal with them. I have had to give up on one of my family member because it was just getting hopeless by the day and every effort would backfire on me, so there are times when we then need to just come to acceptance after trying our best help out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46