You Can Add Some Variation to the Tribe Tags That You Use, by Using Alternative Supported Tags

in #tribes5 years ago (edited)

If you read my posts, it shouldn't come as a surprise to you that I use SteemPeak often.

Among a plethora of cool features, they do highlight the tags of the tribes which are activated on their interface.

You might be thinking right now OK, that's cool, but is it really worth a post to write about it?

Hold on a second, there's more.

As I was reading a post this morning, I noticed the tag "STEEM" being highlighted as if it was related to a tribe. No, it wasn't "STEM" with one "E" from StemGeeks.net, it was "STEEM".

That seemed curious! I hovered over the name, and it linked to the SteemLeo tribe. Really? How come this association? I thought SteemLeo was mainly about investment, although I knew the rules were not strict.

Then I remembered there are other tribes which reward posts written under different tags. One of them being StemGeeks mentioned above.

But then my question followed:
How do you know which are the tags a tribe uses to reward posts?

The answer I found to this question is this:
You go to your favorite tribe interface and see what are the tags listed on the left column. Any of them you use should be good for the post to be rewarded with the respective token.

UPDATE: This method to find out what are the "supported" tags is not reliable. I discovered that my post isn't listed in Palnet, although it uses, for testing purposes, the "abundance" tag. But I know for sure there are alternative tags supported by certain tribes. I've used some in the past, and they work.

For example, Palnet includes these tags in the list: palnet, peace, abundance, liberty, minnow, minnowsupport, spanish.

The correct answer to the question "How do you know which are the tags a tribe uses to reward posts?" is this:

You go to https://scot.today/token/TOKEN_NAME (replace TOKEN_NAME with your token, for example, LEO) and click on SCOTSetting.

Scroll down until you see something like this:
image.png

On the second row you see the list of tags supported by the tribe, in this case by LEO.

If you use either of these tags, your post is good to go, no need to include "the base tag" too. For example, if your post has the "investing" tag, it should be rewarded in LEO.

The advantage of using this approach is that you can use more appropriate tags, and not feel like your post has a list of tribes for tags.

The disadvantage of using alternative tags is curators might be scanning for main tags when deciding whether to give a vote to a post or not. And your post may fail at this test, if they don't recognize the tags.

I'll do an experiment with this post and try to use only alternative tags instead of the main, well-known tags for tribes. I'm curious how this goes, although I won't really know until I do that on a more extensive period and on other posts.

This is also a little test for you, which you may find useful for the future. How many of the tags will you recognize as being associated with some sort of tribe (and with which)?

Please allow a little room for slightly inaccurate tagging of this post for the reasons explained above!

Sort:  

Sorry for the hyper-edited post everyone! I should have made a test post on an alt account before, and present it better here...

OK... seriously... where do you get this kind of info? Are you in some secret organization? :)
Really great stuff that you found here... I will check my staked tokens alternative tags...
Thanks for the post!!!

LOL, no! As you can see I messed up the post, but I started from that little observation on the post viewed on SteemPeak, which turned out to be more of a bad influence, because it put me on the wrong track. But in the end, I figured it out and hopefully the post is still intelligible.

The idea of using alternative tags where possible, I think it holds value, because it also helps categorize your post better on Steem.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @gadrian!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.448 which ranks you at #7231 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 147 contributions, your post is ranked at #139.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56