You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trial by Comics Contest entry my drawing EMRAKUL for "Magic: The Gathering II"

Thank you for your kind words. It is all a product of decades of practice. As for the film industry: I have a friend who works for Lucas and had worked for Star Wars, and it is not all roses. You have to work to specs, and even if they don't use it, you are not free to publish your work, it belongs to them. I am a free artist, and like to remain free. It took Giger a long time to even get recognition for the Alien. They would not even put him in the credits on the original first Alien movie. Working under pressure and to a timeline is not my thing either. I can only do good work if I am convinced of the project - as I was with this one, a fascinating subject that was like tailormade for me.

Sort:  

I understand. That's sad. Can't blame you for not wanting to work for them. Why do they have to be such pricks? That's so dishonest. I did not know Giger's credits had been previously denied (he got so many accolades for his designs in Alien).
From some of the biopics I have watched around the life and works of actors and directors, itlooks like movie-making is a rather capricious inustry whose final products are a real miracle considering all the drama and conflicts that led to them.
Well, I wish you a very long-lasting, prolific, and always independent career

the accolades came from all sides for Giger, which finally forced their hand in giving him credit, and for the sequels actually pay him what he was worth!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62260.20
ETH 2431.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64