Beibi's Transformation

in #trialbycomics6 years ago

Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 1.00.11 PM.png

Beibi's Transformation

I’ve been working on a graphic novel for a bit and one of the characters I’ve had to rework the most is one of the leads; he’s both a co-protagonist and partial antagonist.

A bit about Beibi (formerly named "Gene"): he’s a pop-star-level sensation, but in the dancing world. At first, I designed him super lanky — felt appropriate when thinking about dancing moves — so he’d be the complete opposite of Jesus Apollo’s shape/design. Although Beibi/Gene is supposed to be a heartthrob, initially I didn’t want to make him look like one, so I gave him a long face and big Jimmy Neutron-ish hair, along with some big ears.


Gene_A.jpg
IMG_4513.JPG
IMG_4515.JPG

As I continued working on the story, I realized the previous design was no longer working with the new designs and the new direction of the overall project. On top of that, there was another problem: he was too tall. Between his lankiness and the level of how stretched-out he was, placing him next to Jesus Apollo and other characters in full-body panels was becoming a huge problem (and mind you, they are supposed to be together a lot, so yeah…) This led me to revise the character entirely.

Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 12.52.21 PM.png

I startled playing with different shapes as I reconstructed his face. Different eyes, nose positions, bone structure, no bone structure, etc… and then went on to try out different hairstyles. I liked the long/blond one, and for a moment was going to add a joke where he had a hair change, but eventually decided not to.

IMG_4516.JPG
Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 12.56.47 PM.png

As I continued to play with shapes, I came up with something like this…

Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 12.57.56 PM.png

Although a slightly more cartoony approach, it finally felt right, like he belonged in this world, and I was finally happy with it.

After letting it simmer, I went back and redrew him with that design in mind and that’s when his final design happened.


Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 1.00.27 PM.png

As you can see, it is extremely similar to the previous version, but with a few tweaks. I went ahead and changed his hair (the former one seemed too complicated and the new one seemed more fitting — more like what a teen idol would wear). However, his design was not the only thing that changed. With a new look I went ahead and came up with a new name: Beibi. The name isn’t a random choice; there’s actually a whole story behind it (it’s short for something else), that I’m choosing not to get into because it contains one to many spoilers. All at once, I was way more content with the character as a whole. I could picture him more organically in my head; more like a person rather than a stiff cartoon. However, I did keep one thing from the initial design…. Can you tell what that is?

No?


Screen Shot 2018-07-22 at 1.01.02 PM.png

The ears. Well, kind of, as the shapes are different, but the principle is the same; I wanted him to have big ears that stuck out to the side, disrupting the somewhat harmony of his face.

What do you think? I’m still a fan of the initial design. There’s a lot of things I like about it. Yet I didn’t feel like it worked well within the story and alongside the other characters. But I suppose that’s part of the process.

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

Great post! I just followed you and upvoted you! Follow me back @relsserd.

oooooooooh he's gone through quite a journey of evolution ! i like his current form <3 very cool and very friendly :D

thank you! Yeaaaaah he did. At first i wasn't so sure about the change... but then going through the process just made it feel right :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

thank you!

pretty cool progress and improvement in every evolution :D
i can see not just the character design improved but also your skills ^^

thanks! yeah I was preeeeetty rusty when i started. it definitely helped to actually improve on my skills as well :]

Hello @eyedrip, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25