Crypto Collectibles presents @ArsenicLullaby for #TrialByComics Steemit Artist Interpretations

An entry for @kommienezuspadt's Trial by Comics with this week's theme being Steemit Artist Interpretations.  The rules kind of messed me up a little as they were "I want to see your interpretations of your favorite Steemit artists in your own style." and I am not sure what my style is.  I find that I enjoy doing pencils a lot without finishing out in colors, and sometimes just not even finishing out drawings at all.  I also enjoy parody / homage stuff related to comic books.  So if this is a style, then there you go.  I picked as the topic, the great comic book writer, artist, and Steemian Douglas Paszkiewicz ( @arseniclullaby ).  

Douglas' uses VooDoo Joe's zombie fetus "Ike" as his avatar here on Steemit and so I used as the focus for the drawing.   I had been reading my Arsenic Lullaby trade and was kind of having in mind Cthulhu throwing the car in the Action Comics #1 cover homage but decided on an Ike throwing a Hot Wheels.


You will see in the process pics below I also had other elements like VooDoo Joe there but ended up taking him out as when I proportioned him better it was just too much distraction in the background as well as stopped looking like the Action Comics cover.  Fork turned to knife, I decided against any logos on the soda can and toy car.  I pulled out a ruler for this drawing.  Made up some font lettering.    This is also the second time I have fanboy'd out over Douglas' great Arsenic Lullaby and been inspired to draw.





Crypto Collectibles presents "KRAKT" for Inktober 2018 Day 20 Breakable

Crypto Collectibles presents Frosted Flakes for PhotoBomb Challenge #44 - Entry #2

Crypto Collectibles presents Shatterstar for Steemit-Webcomics Comic Cover Contest

Sort:  

...those fetus eyes turned out very good, btw

Thanks! Glad you don't hate if I fan art some of your characters. This is going to sound weird and I have no idea if this was a decision you made purposely or what. But I found the spirals actually went the same way most of the time, but then I found a couple where it did not match and at that moment I felt more free to spiral any way. I wish I made the actually fetus' a little more "dumpier" body type and heads less circular (only when I look at it now, when I was done I was happy with it all).

That's a good question actually. The first time I put one on a cover I purposefully made sure they were going in two different directions, but as time went on and I started working with a brush...I just kinda said "ah the hell with it"

1122009.jpg


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43