Pesadilla. Mi ilustración para Trial By Comics Contest. Theme: War

in #trialbycomics6 years ago

war4.png

Dear friends, I leave for you my participation in the Trial by Comics Contest, promoted by @kommienezuspadt (link, hear). It is the first time that I participate in this contest. The theme of this call is very interesting: the war.
What can a theme of that nature say to someone who is against the war? It tells you many terrible things. Now, with those terrible things I have constructed my illustration.
My first reasoning was that to show war as I see it, I should make it strange (that is, take it to the terrain of estrangement), as well as violent, terrifying, full of death and absurd. Then I thought that a good way was to present it through animals. But let's see a little of the reasons for my decisions.

A little about the meaning of the represented

-Characters
The cats were my first choice. First, because cats are almost always my first choice, and then because cats can stand the record of the terrible. But they had to fight with another side, so I chose human beings, but I styled them almost like dolls, because in war humanity is not worth much.

-The representation of death
I did not want my drawing to be a field of blood, but you can not draw war without blood and without death (obviously), so I suggested them to both with colored lines (red, dark blue and vinotinto, mainly) and with the bodies of humans and animals that jump through the air. Not to mention that the scene focuses on three cats that stand on the corpse of an enemy. There is a cat that is about to land on him, eager for blood. There I also put a dead young kitten. The war is full of senseless deaths.

-The violence
The sun and the towers with cannons provide the fire, another characteristic element of the war. It is also the reminder of violence and destruction. The bodies are mutilated and are in the process of jumping through the air. A dead soldier is half naked (the war also destroys dignity). That is the trace of a violence that has already occurred but that is still present in the scene. A photograph of events that are in process.

-The absurd
The sense of the absurd was what led me to choose the style of representation (plus the contest honors the comic) childish, caricature, with many strong colors (with what was intended to reinforce the violent sense) and that was raised as a fantastic scene.

Ahora little about the process

-First I made the base drawing with pencil 2B on guarro paper, I tried to make the movement and the figures express what I wanted.


Then I added the background color spots with watercolor. I did not want precise contours, because the idea was to convey chaos.

war2.png

Once the stains were put on, I drew the contours with ink. So I could define features and expressions. At the same time I put the color with colored pencils and markers, I was looking for intensity.

war3.png

Lastly, I darkened and intensified the dark areas more. I highlighted the contrasts.
I tried to make my drawing express a detached look, in a certain ironic way. I hope I have achieved it.


war4.png

Thanks for the company. Welcome always.

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
zhtosf3h80.jpg

Thanks, @art-venture.
Su apoyo es muy importante para mí. Ser incluida en su selección es, sin duda, un privilegio.
Encantada de visitarlos.
Gracias.

Me encanta cómo dibujas :) La verdad que estos gatos dan mala espina.

¿Sí, verdad? Gatos poseídos por el demonio de la guerra.
Gracias por tu visita, querido @salvao. Siempre es una alegría verte por mis posts.

¡Genial! Surrealista y muy inquietante y turbador.

Muchas gracias por tu visita y tu apreciación. La guerra es perturbadora. No sé si llegué a la idea, pero si resulta inquietante es ya una parte de lo que quería representar.
Recibe un abrazo enorme.

Great job, @adncabrera. We, humans, have behaved like rats, so I guess it is proper that we get slaughtered by cats. Powerful image.

Thanks, my friend. l LOVE cats too, but... the representation encuentra su camino... Je.
Un abrazote.
Haré uno con ratas.

Me gustó mucho la presentación de imágenes de todo el proceso. Los gatos parecen ser parte una venda mortuoria, ¡dan miedo!... Me gustó mucho, muchísimo la segunda imagen, es decir la que viene después del esquema. Allí los gatos no tienen personalidad, ni tienen colores propios, son parte de ese todo surrealista que finalmente lograste. Un abrazo y muchos éxitos en el concurso @adncabrera

Gracias, querida @marcybetancourt, por esa lectura tan atenta del proceso y por esa interpretación. En honor a la verdad me estás mostrando sentidos que ahora puedo ver, pero que no fueron construidos concientemente. Gracias, de verdad.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61662.20
ETH 3059.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84