Everyone chasing

in #trends5 years ago

There was a time when the ideal woman body type was skinny. People were laughing at people with big asses. Nowadays though, those that were laughed at, are being admired instead. Instagram (as far as I know, I don't use it) is plagued with fitness models that are pretty much a copy paste of each others: big ass, big tits, wide hips, but an incredibly slim waist – all trying to look like Kim Kardashian. But trust me, that shit ain't real. Google it. But keep in mind you might be grossed by what you see. I have warned you. (Sorry, @honeydue, I think I showed you that without a warning a while ago.)

When I was a kid every boy wanted a baseball cap. Those with a straight cap and seven stitched lines on it, otherwise it was fake. I can't even remember anymore what the "authentic" brand even was. Even funnier is that some had a very specific way of wearing it so that the cap is in a 45 degree angle and upwards. Even I was caught with the fomo of feeling inferior because I didn't have an over-expensive peace of headwear. One time I spent 50€ to a single cap. It was probably one of the most useless things I've bought, because it was waaaaay to big for my head (how didn't I notice this while trying it, was I stupid or something?). Even those of a smaller size just looked funny, because of their round shape which left cubic meters of empty room at my temples.

Now I can't help but think how much food I could buy with 50€ (5 buffets with standard Finnish rates. Yes, I really like buffets, if I didn't know that for some reason) or Steem. Coincidentally, I actually did buy Steem with that exact amount, because I am not broke, for once. From now on I'll get more responsible with my finances and have some sort of a plan with them.

At one point girls used some type of belt. Not just a regular one on their pants though but on their waist. It was called a "titbelt". Sounds kinda funny, although maybe not so anymore in the context of 6th graders...

Nowadays youngsters walk with their ankles uncovered during the winter with minus 10 degrees (I know, I have talked about this earlier. I also know that I'm starting to sound like one of those old people who think the next generation youth is going to doom all humankind). I don't give a shit what others are wearing, but what I'm saying is that maybe some trends can be questionable, or how do you feel by switching on/off your fake boobs whenever the size trend changes? Sounds unpractical.

We can't avoid trends, though. They spread around thanks to our social nature. We see what others do and want to be included, no wonder as social exclusion can activate the same neural paths in the brain as physical pain.

It all goes to crypto and market cycles too. Chasers will forever chase where they see the biggest dollars and gains. Steem is a wonderful example of this, too: recently, there was a Youtuber who asked if the price is going to get back up again (other "big names" are long gone). He was attracted to Steem, because the price was $7 at the time of joining. Little does he understand that the amount of Steem stays the same even if dollars go down, and is actually easier to earn at a lower price.

The times of Steem cash cow are over, and it seems like it is going to evolve into a finance instrument – among many other use cases – powered by Steem Power, that enables the empowerment of different projects via delegation. Blogging will be a part of it always, for sure, but it is becoming less prominent the more use cases people come up with it.

Maybe if people understood this place from an investing point of view, they wouldn't give up so easily. Not a lot of people understand these things anyway as they are barely touched even in highschool. Maybe the real important thing crypto can do, is making investing go mainstream and empower more individuals that way.

In the meantime, chasers will be chasing. Whatever the next hot thing is. Mohawk? Leather? The latter seems to be somewhat popular among some Steemians, those who know, know who I'm talking about ;)

Don't really mind if neither ever goes mainstream, I stand out better this way :)

DSC_1517.JPG
I don't often take selfies, but couldn't help this time when the leather season has finally kicked in!

Sort:  

You grow up to find out that what is really hot is a healthy sense of confidence, boldness while being humble,and the discipline to take care of your body without becoming unnecessarily obsessive about the cosmetic appearance.

Or maybe that is what I find attractive.

It reaches a threshold in my judgement when someone is just trying too hard. Such a turn off when you know it is compensating for something that will just complicate a relationship. I will still give them a chance and be friendly to them looking to be proven wrong.

For STEEM, I enjoy the community and creative outlet and will just go on accumulating and representing. A moon would be nice for a cash boom but I am not counting on it. Same goes for the get rich quickers. We have seen them come and go and I only really invest time when I know they are here for the long haul.

Edit: The Mohawk rules and I will follow you even if you were actually (38) ;)

You've said it all, and I can only agree with everything you said.

Edit: The Mohawk rules and I will follow you even if you were actually (38) ;)

:D

:')

I remember reading in a vintage fashion magazine '10 tips for shaping your body', because, as they said, 'it is now in to have wider shoulders and smaller hips' - and I was like 'uhhh - how can a body shape be a trend and how can we expect women to change their bodies every 10 years?

:')

It's funny. It's the same for men by the way, let there be no confusion. We tend to go crazy over our looks/trends/bodies instead of just owning what we have and making it healthy and look like 'us' :-)

Leather looks good on you :D

Anyone can manipulate their body as to how much muscle and fat they have, but it gets slightly complicated when the ideal body would require a completely different bone structure.

Everyone should just focus making the best of their own potential, like you said.

Leather looks good on you :D

Thanks :D

Posted using Partiko Android

Shit man, I just... I don't think I could pull off a mohawk, know what I mean? Just not my thing, I'm afraid. ;)

And yes, you did show me. Thank you, still have nightmares..

I am puzzled over the 'titbelt' thing, but am so far resisting the urge to Google it. Last time I Googled something off Steem, it did not end well. So, I choose ignorance on that one.

the next generation youth is going to doom all humankind

It probably is. IDK I don't believe in these fads. Big ass, small ass, whatever, it's ass, innit? I think seeing only one type of woman (or man) as beautiful is just wasteful.

Shit man, I just... I don't think I could pull off a mohawk, know what I mean? Just not my thing, I'm afraid. ;)

Mohawk with a long hair is a bold move at the very least :D

Yes, Googling can be a dangerous hobby if you get too curious 👀

Posted using Partiko Android

I think it might be a bald move, in my case :)))

😭😭😭😭😭


Dude you're so right :)

Lol, I guess that music video fits the context.

Interesting.I am new here and this helped me to understand a little bit more.

Hey, and welcome to Steem! There's a lot to take in here, but you'll get your head around it eventually.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said man. Nothing to add. You covered it all.

You got a 65.60% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Great fuck experience

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, I definitely agree with what you've said. By the way, I love your mohawk

Thanks for reading and thanks for the mohawk love! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 64866.85
ETH 3369.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.45