You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WHY IS THIS CONTROVERSY NOT TRENDING?

in #trending6 years ago

I truly appreciate your comment and concur completely. The title of the posts and the questions were pretty much to peak interest and were rhetorical actually.

I am a former homeless Vet, having been homeless when I lived in San Diego after being laid off from the ship yards (my battle with alcohol and some other physical issues contributed to my situation as well). As you stated, generally one will find few that are as giving as the homeless community. Acts of compassion among the homeless is common and part of the culture. It is a social group with its own pecking order. There are homeless that live within vehicles (vans, cars, small RVs) that are at the top of the pecking order and those with mental health issues (schizophrenia, depression, mental retardation). Also there are homeless that choose the lifestyle and others that are homeless by no fault of their own.

Many of the homeless are very proud people. Not all hold signs panhandling. Some will not ask for anything, some will actually refuse money.

I have lived as a homeless man and have laughed, cried, ran from police who would harass us, and defended others from drunk youths who would prey on homeless for entertainment. The best thing anyone ever gave me was a hug.

Your compassion for your fellow human beings has me with tears in my eyes, you are truly a mensch (good person).

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61043.90
ETH 3378.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46