Tree Tuesday- A Tree And It's Caterpillar

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

This story begins with another insect; a different one, that I found on my sidewalk. OMG...please give me a break with these things!

Of course I had to search the internet to see what this insect was. It is called, "Catalpa Sphinx Caterpillar" and this one was full grown. But where did it come from and why was it on my sidewalk? I learned that this particular caterpillar is not found on any plants or bushes, and it only likes one tree. The Catalpa Tree. Well, of course!

But what in the world is a Catalpa Tree, I wondered. Searching further, I found that it is a tree that has heart shaped leaves. That sounded familiar because I have heart shaped leaves, now growing in my miniature garden. My garden is so very tiny and it began with one plant. A miniature yellow rose bush that my daughter gave to me three years ago. Last year my son bought me a hanging basket full of purple Pansies which I hung on a post, over top of the garden. When the cold weather came, it died and in the trash it went. This past spring, I noticed that I had volunteers; those same Pansies are now growing in my garden.

My miniature garden is becoming crowded. It was two months ago when I noticed the heart shaped leaves growing there.

Oh, so I have a Catalpa Tree growing there? But why and how? I looked all over my property and my neighbor's property and I couldn't find a tree with the heart shaped leaves. So I decided to go back to my garden and begin searching from there. I live at the bottom of a hill and my starting point was my garden. I walked to the hill and up the hill, to the narrow one way road. This road is used for school buses, to drive to the front of the school that was built there approximately 17 years ago. I looked at several different trees on the school property and I finally found one with heart shaped leaves.

This was definitely the Catalpa Tree.

The heart shaped leaves.

You can see that Catalpa Caterpillars were eating these leaves.

The common names for these trees are "Indian Bean Tree" and "Cigar Tree." Why? Because of the shape of the seed pods. This one is the Indian Bean Tree.

Look at the bean shaped seed pods.

One of these bean pods must have blown 1/8th of a mile and landed in my miniature garden. And now I know that I have an Indian Bean Tree growing there. Another volunteer. And that is why I found this Catalpa Caterpillar on my sidewalk; three feet from my garden. I am a big believer that there is always a reason why things happen. Maybe, just maybe; it was sent to me so that I would have a tree for Tree Tuesday.

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

Finally, I see a respected number of $ on your post, ONLY RIGHT THING DEAR! :* Nice job!


you also win a 100%juice + @bellyrub!

Join our next #bellyrubchallenge today!

Thank you so much for your compliment; it means a lot to me. And thanks so much for the 100% juice! So nice of you! : )

NP!

OUUUEEE:)

I believe you're seeing all these critters now because you've allowed your mind to be open to seeing them. Which is amazing! I think so anyway! :) that tree is pretty cool! I wonder about the pods? Edible? Poisonous? You may want to, this fall, dig up and plant your new baby tree in a more suitable spot so it's not right on your house. I love them, the heart shaped leaves are fabulous!

I think you are right about that. I wonder if I will stop being afraid of these "critters." Well, that might be pushing it a bit too far. LOL! All I know about the pods is that they are seed pods and I am not even going to think about trying to take a bite. Thanks for the tip on moving the tree; will do. : )

Haha well I don't like these critters touching me! But I'm only afraid of the ones with the stingers! Oh and the ones with 8 legs! The fear on everything else is a waste of energy. Hahaha

Of course not...no touching or crawling on either one of us! LOL! I wish I had your attitude about fear being a waste of energy. : )

It's not something that comes easy, but is the truth! Flying things get me most! Haha

Sorry to tell you it's not a Catalpa tree. I have them on my property. But who cares you got $86 already. I don't know what tree you have there, but looks remotely related. Catalpa trees are native to the USA.
https://www.thoughtco.com/the-catalpa-tree-and-caterpillers-1342658

I care because I don't want to deceive anyone! If it is not a Bean Tree, I sure wish you could tell me what it is.

Took this picture today, these are the cigar shaped (long thin) seed pods.IMG_3836.JPGCatalpa Tree

IMG_3835.JPG
The tree you have there is probably from Asia. The seed pods look like garden beans.

This post has received a Bellyrub and 1.22 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @kid4life. Send SBD to @bellyrub with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote, every 2.4 hours. Be sure to vote for my Pops, @zeartul, as Steem Witness Hope you enjoyed your bellyrub!

Thanks so much for the Bellyrub from @bellyrub! And thanks to @kid4life! : )

I bet a bird got hold of one of those seeds and dropped it in your garden!!!

Hey, I never thought about that! Could very well be! : )

You're becoming an expert nature sleuth! Thanks for sharing this amazing 'miniature garden' mystery! Indian Bean trees are very beautiful, not only because of their leaves, but they also have pretty, fragrant white blossoms in the early summer.

I sure have learned a lot about nature. I will have to check out the blossoms next year; thanks for the info. : )

It is amazing. You never know what will turn up just blowing in on the wind.
You have made a wonderful adventure story in your hunt for the 'origin if this species' lol
I'm also curious. Are they edible?
Lovely looking tree and leaf too.

You just never know! : ) The info didn't say anything about them being edible; just that they are seed pods that look like beans. Thanks for your compliment! : )

Thank you for introducing me to this beauty-full tree. I will be adding one to @thereikiforest if I'm not able to scout one out. I think I saw one of these same caterpillars on my deck a few days ago, though...so that's a good sign :)

So excited!!! Thank you @whatisnew. I'm now a follower. Much Love!

My pleasure! How interesting that you found the same caterpillar. Wishing you the best of luck on your journey. Thanks for your kind words and I am happy to have you here! : )

Haha! That's great, you really go to the ends of things... your research gave you a post that's awesome :))

It sure did and a special one too, for Tree Tuesday! : )

This is a great story! In Hungary there are no Catalpa trees, but we have similar ones, as ornamental trees, that are not native here. Some of them became invasive, and grows everywhere, for example Ailanthus altissima. If they would not have been picked out with their root, they would overwhelm everything and displace native plants.

Thanks so much for your compliment and for visiting. I love your Color Challenges! And thanks for this interesting information. The native plants must always come first! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64403.69
ETH 3463.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50