Tree Pruning on a busy street

in #treetuesday6 years ago

Tree Pruning on a busy street



This is a post for Tree Tuesday hosted by @old-guy-photos

I was walking between buildings the other day and saw looking up 41st Street the traffics was backed up and I was walking that way and found out why. For some reason it seems there’s a contract for street side Tree pruning in NYC and this was team was doing the Tree Pruning in that street.

The Cherry Picker was from a truck that is blocking access to the street so if you have ever been to NYC you can imagine the noise of many Cars frustrated that they cannot drive up this street and hence doing what every driver in NYC seems to do if delayed, pressing repeatedly on the car horn

The Good news from me when I noticed that was to actually see some signs of blossoms forming on this tree.

Looking at the tree though I was a bit unsure why it needed pruning as it didn't look in the least over grown to me

281A964E-6EC4-4C8E-9FBF-D4CDCC8FA6C9.jpeg



And it seemed some people from one the street felt the same way I did there was plenty of heated discussion going on, not just from the workers and people in this shot but people calling form up and down the street asking why the heck this was going on.


Unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.

steemusa is a growing Community for and supporting those from of in the United States,check out the latest post or join us on Discord


If your interested in thealliance Check out the latest posts


JJ footer alliance steemusa and steemengine.jpg

thealliance_tattoodjay.png



!steemitworldmap 40.752412 lat -73.976960 long NYC d3scr

Sort:  

It's strange that in a city as modern as that, do that kind of work during the day. The logical thing will be that they did it at night so as not to affect the traffic so much. But hey, everything is seen in this life. Surely, everyone arrived late to their destinations that day.

I thought the same doing it at night would perhaps be better but then again people work all hours in the city and people may get more frustrated blocked by tt his coming home than going to work LOL

The tree looks great the way it was. I guess it was its turn to get scalped! In the city where my son lives in Canada, they planted flowering crab apple trees down all the boulevards. It was beautiful for a few springs running. Then the city sent out their tree pruners (Guys with chainsaws and helmets) and you couldn't cut a straighter line down the tops of the trees if you used a laser. All those beautiful trees that had nice shapes were now all flat topped squashed looking trees!

I am not sure I was that impressed with the quality of the workers doing this there seemed to be no logic or pattern to how they were pruning them, I guess it was a big contract the company got and they brought in new workers who just chopped away sporadically it was a shame to see really

It is too costly to hire actual professional tree trimmers (yes, they do exist). So the cities hire anybody off the streets who are not afraid of heights and can run a chainsaw. Her they just hire guys with machetes.

Indeed they are not cheap out condo complex got one in recently wasnt cheap but they did a great job

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

I know the feeling. It is the same way here in Seoul. Tree trimming is best in the Spring. The ironic thing is that our friends in New Zealand are talking about Autumn now.

OHh yes my family and friends are heading into Autumn as we enter spring its kind of weird lOL

It's always good to see something bloom especially the trees. It somehow gives us hope and positivity.

Thats so true Soring and the new growth is indeed a positive thing to see

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tattoodjay
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=tree-pruning-on-a-busy-street


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Yeah some people just need to use their freaking common sense and look at the tree before doing that.

Disrespecting nature in my book. Thanks @tattoodjay

I do totally agree with you, there was no need for any pruning in that particular street

Perhaps someone did not want their view of things blocked. That is possible. Or maybe the tree limb was a falling hazard:) You are lucky to live in NYC:) Love that place.

This was a city wide project fro the sign on the truck, I am a ountry boy at heart so I work in NYC but commute out to a small coastal city after work :)

I am very lucky. I live in Vancouver ... so I get the city and the coast:):):) Still love to spend more time in NYC though:) Fabulous place for culture and people watching:)

Vancouver is such a beautiful city loved the short visit I did there

This was a city wide project fro the sign on the truck, I am a ountry boy at heart so I work in NYC but commute out to a small coastal city after work :)

People must be bored over there have they got nothing better to do then cause chaos....lol

LOL yeah could well be the case

NYers are never known for their patience lol.

Without a doubt that so true

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62269.38
ETH 2424.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58