Tree Tuesday - Life in Pieces - Fort Ord National Monument - Salinas, California

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

Because I frequently hiked at Fort Ord National Monument, I became acquainted with the lay of the land...the twists and turns of the trails, the water level at the frog pond and I had even established significant relationships with some of the trees there. Not long ago, I returned after a months long absence and was eager to experience not only the special peace that I am able to find there but also to see what had changed.


The Central Coast of California hadn't had much of a winter before my visit so the trails were intact. The pond had shrunk significantly and had a variety of plant life springing up which actually made it look more like a swamp in places. What had changed the most was trees with a number of them down.

Life in Pieces 1.jpg
Live oak trees cover these hills and they are characteristically quite gnarly, knurly and sprawlly (made up word). The region had experienced a lengthy drought that was followed by the incredibly rainy and windy winter in 2017 which took a toll on these trees...the way things go in nature's grand scheme.


Life in Pieces 2.jpg
The trail maintenance crews pick up where nature leaves off.


Life in Pieces 4.jpg
These crews always leave the remains of the trees behind which then provides the perfect environment for a new ecosystem to develop...homes and hideouts for various critters, food for tiny organisms, etc.


Life had continued on as usual at Fort Ord, even if it was life in pieces. The thing that remained the same was that feeling of unspeakable joy that I get when I breathe that air, see that view from the top of the ridge. Even though I no longer live in Salinas, this particular place will always feel like home to me.


This is my contribution to #treetuesday as it has been proclaimed to be by @old-guy-photos.

Steemit USA footer.png

Sort:  

I must say amazing photos Thumbs up

Thank you very much!

The earth tones in the shots are quite striking.

Ohhhhh....I have been thinking of you so much! I did get started on that painting that was inspired by your haiku. I have the second phase to go. I am going to do a bit of collage work on top. I kind of wandered away from Steemit for a bit. I didn't want you to think I had abandoned you. I see your reputation number has continued to grow by leaps and bounds! Congrats on that! I will get over to your page soon to see what you have been up to.

Thank you for your comment! These trees are beautiful inside and out...whole and broken.

So honoured, Samantha. Can't wait to see that painting. Excited!!!

Cool! I didn't realize that there are live oaks in California too. I thought it was a southern thing!

I looked it up before I posting because I was curious. It turns out there is quite a list of types of live or evergreen oaks. You learn something everyday!

Yep! You sure do. I had never come across live oaks before moving to the south. In the UK we just have deciduous oaks.

Incredible shots girl! Love it. Upvote!

Thank you so much. You are so kind!

The circle of life!

Cue the music! Thanks for stopping by!

You still don't upvote your commenters? It's ok, I getcha'.

I had been upvoting the comments. It doesn't seem like my vote is worth much at the moment.

It always breaks my heart to seen trees chopped down. I understand the meaning, but, for me, trees are supposed to die standing up. I imagine what they have seen throughout their lives, generations and generations of people walking by their side. Beautiful post, Samantha, I can feel the love you feel for it!

It actually pains me when they cut trees down just because their roots are disturbing the sidewalk. I totally agree with you and I seriously imagine the same thing...how funny! We really are on the same wavelength!!!

Thank you so much for getting me!

Yes we are! Fortunately for the world, I guess ;))! It's always a pleasure, thanks for getting me also! Sometimes we can get lost on Steemit... Xoxo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60888.47
ETH 3392.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57