Sort:  

I remember the Chestnut fights. Like you said got busted early so had to find something else to do. :-)

Yeah it was always a big disappointment when your conker got busted to bits. I hear they have banned it in schools now but that could be 'fake news' lol

Nope. Real news @molometer. They're banned! 😢

Holy moly is nothing sacred? That's just ridiculous.

Nope. Nothing is scared to the great God of Health and Safety molometer.

Common sense is not allowed anymore it seems. 😢

I remember those conker fights! What great fun that was!

It sure was and a little bit painful occasionally, especially if they missed and hit your hand instead lol

What a chestnut tree @molometer
We also have one such a big one here and it is full of chestnuts.
When I was a child we brought the chestnuts to the forester, who used them as food for the deer in winter.

In the winter we (brits) roast them on an open fire and eat them. I must admit that they are not tasty in my opinion. I don't eat them myself. :-)

I believe you :-D
I have never tried one too, but I don't think that would be my flavor.

Oh so is this just how it really looks like,tennis ball tree. Its really great and strong. Happy treetuesday @molometer

Yeah it really does look just like this lol
tldr?

Buckeyes! I have never seen one here in Wisconsin , but they are more common east of here. Ohio is known as the Buckeye State. I have never heard of conkers, but it makes perfect sense!

What's a Buckeye? Melinda. You have never heard of Conkers. You have been deprived of a very valuable childhood learning experience lol

I think I might be glad they don't grow here!

So what is a Buckeye? :-)

I think it is the nut inside your conker. Just a different name for the same tree.

Interesting. The conker is the nut over here. Maybe the Buckeye is what we get when they shatter and hit the eye? ;-)

Hahaha! That would make perfect sense! But I think they call the entire tree a buckeye tree.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63964.02
ETH 2592.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75