TreeTuesday - Walking through a ginkgo avenue

How many of you know Ginkgo biloba?!

Since I knew it was a living fossil I became fascinated by this beautiful tree. When I found this avenue, I took some photos that I'm sharing today (Wish I could be back and shot some more!)

Ginkgo tree avenue in Terra Nostra Garden Park in São Miguel (Azores island - Portugal) during autumn

This ginkgo avenue will be my contribution for this week TreeTuesday!!

IMG_6725.JPG

I wrote an informative post about the ginkgo tree 3 months ago (here).

Resuming: Ginkgo tree is the only living species of its genus, family, order, class, and division (Ginkgophyta), found on the rocks of the Jurassic and Cretaceous period (270 million years).
IMG_6711.JPG

It's native to China, but widely planted as ornamental, being popular in towns worldwide and farmed in plantations for their medicinal properties.

IMG_6726_ed.jpg

Looking up to its butterfly shaped​ leafs...

IMG_6724.JPG

And looking at us!

IMG_6721.JPG

TreeTuesday tag was launched by @old-guy-photos and it's a great idea to share some of our most special trees photos or short stories!


Please do not forget to check the other daily photography challenges:

Sort:  

Congratulations @liliana.duarte! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool, thanks! I've added my SteemmitBoard signature to my last post.

Beautiful historical places.

Yup, these​ trees were planted a few couple of years ago, I can't remember exactly but it's an old garden (200 years, I guess).

I think there are 1 or 2 trees near me on a kids playground. They are not as big. But I was fascinated by the shape of their leaves and had to find out what they are. Never saw them before.
And hello you! :D

Beautiful park with gorgeous Ginko trees! It's place to relaxing and recovering soul and body! Btw you are a lovely couple :))

You can't imagine how good this park is for relaxing and recovering!! For now I must kept dreaming about it...ohhhh!

Thanks, so nice of you noticing our photo in the end!

Very beautiful photos!

Thank you very much!! Tha place is perfect and it helped a lot! I'm almost sure you would love this garden :)

Love gingkos!

Oh great, I'm not the only one!! :) Thanks for dropping by!

nice photos..These trees are really spectacular

I couldn't​ agree more!! Thanks for visiting :)

Lovely!!!

Thank you for the lovely stroll and the great info!

Short info to not occupy​ much time of my readers ;)

You keep on traveling! Nice.
Não há aí árvores das patacas?? lhehe

Naaa, a árvore das patacas deve ter-se extinguido! Não se deixa ver! ;)

oh que chatice!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66