Ginkgo biloba tree- The living fossil and its male vs. female features

in #biology8 years ago

Ginkgo biloba has been described as a ‘living fossil’ because it is the sole survivor of an ancient group of trees that date back to beyond the time of the dinosaurs.

Also known as the ginkgo tree or the maidenhair tree, is the only living species of its genus, family, order, class, and division (Ginkgophyta), wich is found in fossils in the rocks of the Jurassic and Cretaceous (270 million years).

Ginkgo biloba is native to China, but it has been widely planted as ornamental or cultivated individuals, being popular in towns worldwide and farmed in plantations for their medicinal properties.

DSC_6350.JPG

Figure 1 - Pollen cones on a male ginkgo tree

The feature I most appreciate are the characteristic bright green leaves fan-shaped and composed of two or more distinct lobes. The specific epithet biloba derived from the Latin bis, "two" and loba, "lobed", referring to the shape of the leaves

In autumn, the leaves get a beautiful golden hue before falling to the ground.
IMG_6711.JPG

Figure 2 - Ginkgo tree avenue in Terra Nostra Garden Park in São Miguel (Azores island - Portugal) during autumn


Did you know male and female trees are separate?

Male trees have pollen-producing cones (like those in the photo above - Fig.1) while female trees, once fertilised, bear rounded, yellowish seeds 1.5–2 cm long, with a fleshy outer coat (Fig.3). Although attractive in appearance, it contains butyric acid, and smells like rancid butter or vomit when seeds fall to the ground.
IMG_4066.JPG

Figure 2 - Seeds on a female ginkgo tree


Trees reach up to 40 m in height, in a pyramidal shape, and can live as long as 3,000 years.
DSC_6352_ed.jpg

It tolerates heat, air pollution and soil salt.
DSC_6353.JPG

This video has short info wich I totally​ recommend​!


Sources
[1] - Kewscience
[2] - Arborday
[3] - Wikipedia

Photos were taken in Évora, Lisbon and Azores (São Miguel)


I am a Conservation Biologist studying invasive plants. Although ginkgo tree is an introduced plant in Portugal, it's not an invasive one and I really have a great fascination about it! This week I noticed ginkgo trees in Évora were blooming, and I don't remind to see it before. I checked some old photos and realized I already had seen a female tree! The purpose of this post wasn't to get into much detail about this ancient tree ​but to share something I just noticed this week and learned. Hope you appreciate it too!


BADGES Courtesy of @elyaque

Sort:  

I am fascinated by your clear writing on scientific method. Today I've added you to my auto-voter - in fact it got here before I did! Steem on Lily :))

I love this tree. Great way to energize your body and boost memory!

Do you use any supplement​ based on ginkgo? I had some capsules along time ago but it didn't convince me. The effect of seeing one on the street is sufficiently​ energizing:)

@liliana.duarte I love their leaves
I collect them in autumn - for art purposes .. you just gave me an idea
there's a tea for this one ... oh Amy already pointed it out :D

I love the leaves too. It reminds me of butterflies :D

Yes, I especially​ look for those ones :)

I used supplements when I was going through exam periods at the university years ago. While it isn't a magic bullet to get you going all night (I never studied later than 4-6 pm anyway, since I'm a morning person), but I felt the gingko helped me to concentrate and improved alertness.

I used it for the same reason, as also magnesium capsules, but never felt extra capacities, however. Well, at least I survived ;)

Maybe it was just the thought... but he then it work too in a way hehe

I just found a large female ginkgo tree this afternoon, so I really appreciate your post. I noticed the stubby peds on the leafless branches and then the soft fruits that have dropped in the fall and winter. I talked with the homeowner and he said I could come back in the fall and pick up all the fruits I want, lol, because they stink so bad. The fruits laying on the ground didn't smell good, but the overall smell wasn't too bad this time of year. I would really like to try eating their nuts sometime. They are such a cool tree!

I love them as tree and I would like to plant some if I had a big garden. But their smell is very bad, I'm not sure it will taste ok...

Thank you for sharing your work :)

It's my pleasure! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60773.82
ETH 2378.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57