The Old Dog Enters: Tree Tuesday, A Special Bonding Moment With Man And Nature!

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

It was a magical trip and one that I'll never forget. Two years ago I went to Vancouver with my son and we took a bike ride in and around the famous Stanley Park!

Here's what the Vancouver.ca web site has to say about the park:


Welcome to Stanley Park, Vancouver's first, largest, and most beloved urban park! 
Designated a national  historic site of Canada, Stanley Park   is a magnificent green oasis in the midst of the heavily built urban  landscape of Vancouver.  
Explore the 400-hectare natural West Coast rainforest and  enjoy scenic views of water, mountains, sky, and majestic trees along  Stanley Park's famous Seawall. Discover kilometres of trails, beautiful  beaches, local wildlife, great eats, natural, cultural and historical  landmarks, along with many other adventures. The park offers a wide  range of unforgettable experiences for all ages and interests, including  Canada’s largest aquarium.  


We cycled into the interior of the park and were overwhelmed by the beauty and the majesty of its enormous trees!


This photo of me, taken by my son, captures the sense of awe and elation that I felt in that moment! To be in that forest, to be with my son, to be alive, to have that filtered light dance on the forest floor, there was nowhere else I would rather have been! I was touched by life, love and nature in a deep way that day!

How About You?

  • Do you have any special tree moments?
  • Will you show and express them on Tree Tuesday?
  • Have you taken any special trips with just one of your children?
  • If yes, was it a special bonding moment?


I hope that you enjoyed this tree Tuesday Photo from my very special day!


Until next time,


@kus-knee (The Old Dog)

Remember, I reward the best comment(s) on each of my posts with my "The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone" program! So please re-steem and follow so that we can spread the wealth!     

Sort:  

Wow!!! This does capture elation alright, nice shot! the multiple rays glowing in really accentuates the tree omniscient presence and having your son at the bottom underlines its grandeur. Thanks for sharing and namaste :)

Thanks a lot for your interesting comment!

Old dog! thank you for your generosity!
you've been throwing me tasty bones I saw
have I had tree bonding moments? a lot !
I'm a tree hugger :D

Tree hugging is so important!

This is definitely an amazing shot.

Thanks basketball man! U were there too. Right?

No I haven't went but looking forward to going this Summer!!

The tree story that stands out is about our towering mamouth tree in the backyard. The upper branches needed trimming, deperately but everyone we asked wanted to charge an arm and a leg and we couldn't afford it. So, until a reasonable price was given I started to pray the tree limb wouldn't come down every time I looked out the back window and worried, everytime I walked outside, evertime I left the house. "Please don't let that dead tree limb fall down and hurt someone, thank you."
Then one day the power company came by to cut down the neighberhood's tree limbs near the power lines (before hurricane season.) When they came to our house they cut everythng but the tree tjat neededit. WHY?
It was too high to reach with their aerial work platform 7113000_JLG_860SJ_frit-250x250.jpg
I was frantic and asked the lead worker if he would cut it down and for how much. He said he couldn't because it was not allowed by the company. He and his 2 associates saw the distraught look and panic and must have felt pity for me because they agreed and would drop by after work only wanting three hundred for payment for 3 workers! ARE YOU KIDDING? OMGoodness I said YES with tears in my eyes. They said it was an easy job and would take less than an hour. That evening when they came back I watched and then I started to take pictures after an hour. The lead worker was a tree monkey with a chain saw. He was amazing to watch and very skilled > but something was very wrong.
I wish I had the video and photos but the drive tanked to post but, I haven't gotten around pulling the media off of the burned out drive. I'll do my best to tell the rest because it get unnatural.
The tree limb was wrapped around another tree. The two helpers were on the ground and the lead man > in the tree was barking orders to cut the tree down that the branch had a grip on. They did > the tree didn't fall > workers rock the tree, but it wouldn't budge. The lead man then barked another order to cut the tree again > 3 feet higher and knock out the middle.
Sit down and bucke up > This is when it gets wierd.
The middle of the tree was gone and the 2 men were swinging on the tree but still the branch above would not come down. The lead man started shouting and immediately came down from the tree to talk to his crew
I thought to myself wasn't this tree branch suppose to be dead!?
The 3 men were literally scratching their heads talking in a circle > stumped at what to do. It's going on 3 hours and they're running out of light.
I was praying they wouldn't leave > suddenly > thought about all my prayers not wanting the branch to come down> "If this is my doing > I release the branch > Let it come down. Thank you."
I have no idea what they discussed I was, just gratefull they weren't leaving. The lead tree man climbed back up with his saw > I heard the buzzing for a few minutes > a big crack > a huge thump on the ground and the men shortly after was knocking on my door for payment. They told me that was the oddest job they ever had then took the 300 hundred and left to get some beers shaking their heads. To this day no one knows how that tree branch stayed up and wrapped itself around another tree's branches > All I know is I can look out in the backyard and smile again.

We are created more powerful than we can ever imagine.
"Eyes have not seen and ears have not heard > It has not entered into the heart of man all that has been prepared for us and has made for us > just, because we are loved.

Amazing story, thanks!

The Old Dog is Throwing You a Bone For Your Nice Comment!

Please check your wallet!

Note: With the latest hard fork my program is now changing. My upvotes now have much more power and so all commenters on my posts will be rewarded with an upvote! The simple ones with something and the ones that I really like with a lot higher percentage!

You never cease to surprise me. Thank youso much!

When I was born a tree was planted in my grandfathers garden. I wonder if it is still there....

Is it far away? It would be cool to check it out!

yeah I should actually... :)

Why not make it the subject of a post. That would be so cool!

Oh, it's so cool to spend time with close and dear people in nature. I also like to be in nature, and I use every minute I spent there.

You do well to be out in nature!

Yes, I also try to spend more time in nature.

Beautiful moment, with your son. I wish could do it with my daughter, travel to nature environment. My tree moment was with my brother and friends, under mango tree and tamarind tree.... ha.ha.. ! Thank you for sharing about your good journey with your son. :)

Tropical trees! Nice!

A very special place! And so close to a major metro area

That's so true!

A beautiful photo @kus-knee. I love the way the light looks through the lens.

Thanks. That's high praise coming from an artist!

Light of the paradise!!

Yes very touching!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78