Tree Tuesday In The Cemetery

in #treetuesday6 years ago


Trees At St Mary De Haura Church


It's Tuesday so here we go with another round of trees in all their splendour for @old-guy-photos Tree Tuesday initiative. Although this week it is a different kind of splendour since the main protagonist is a dead tree trunk! 😁

This weekend I returned to the St Mary De Haura Church in Shoreham By Sea to take some photographs when the sky was bluer than the last time I was there.

Noticing the dead tree trunk I decided to take some shots based around that and have added an extra one, featuring a live tree, just for context.

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tree Trunk Silhouette

hibf49oi47.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

with the flint walls of St Mary De Haura Church in the background
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tree Trunk Close Up

dwxqxc57ai.jpg

holy, holy, holy 😁
~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Tree Trunk from the Grave Side

5k0vy8wi86.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

if you didn't know better, you might think it to be still living, in this shot

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

A Living Tree

d6ipjuypd0.png

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

More Posts From Shoreham-By-Sea

Wheat Fields to Shoreham
Lunch in Shoreham
St Mary De Haura Church Grave Stones
Vandalised Glass
Flint Houses

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

I have also included this post in @melinda010100's Cemetery Photo Challenge

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

I wonder if there is a story to that old tree being in the cemetery? In the US sometimes grave stones are sculpted like tree trunks. Pretty church and cemetery @gillianpearce
()

I'm not sure @steven-patrick. When I was looking into the history of the Church I didn't find any specific mention of the tree trunk.

I don't think I've ever seen a grave stone sculpted like a tree trunk. I like the old stone ones best. 😊

Great way to combine cemetery photos with trees! There are often great trees in cemeteries, and I love that old trunk. It looks quite ancient!

Yep. I took a few more while I was there @melinda010100 but will save them for another time. 😊

I'll look forward to seeing them!💕📷

Maybe next week if I don't take some newer ones @melinda010100. I'm going back to Devon at the weekend so you never know. 😁

A pretty awesome subject for a contest about trees. There is a lot of character and a sense of age and edginess to it. Like there might be something besides nature at work. :)

It doesn't help that I went looking for the potential significance of the tree, or something that might tell how it got into its condition. Instead of any of that, I found this passage from a free sample of an ebook novel online entitled: The Time Element by K. L. Freeman:

Something in a nearby sycamore tree had caught the young man’s attention. He had looked into the large hole in the gnarled trunk. Suddenly he had cried out in terror. Then he had turned and seen something else. Something he had never experienced in his short life. Although it was a mild evening he had shivered, and a terrible feeling of dread had closed around him. His body had stiffened and his scream had broken the silence. It had echoed on the moist night air through the very stones of the church and against the gravestones and crypts. Suddenly, he had run down the north-west path as though the devil was after him. In fact, that is exactly who he thought pursued him.

Could be an entirely different tree, but it seems to describe this one quite well. And, the story takes place in 1869, so nearly 150 years ago.

That does sound the story could have been set in the very Church Yard @glenalbrethsen.

I was rather hoping you might have found some information about the tree where I'd failed.

Next time I'm there, which could be years from now 😂, I'll try and find someone I could ask. There are usually plenty of locals around.

This would make a great focus and excuse for a trip for you and your family. You could start collecting questions I've left unanswered and then come here and solve all the mysteries for us. 😁

The magical mystery tour, part two. I can see it now. :)

Actually, I'd be up for that. My wife wouldn't be coming for any of that, though—she's already got her own reasons, so I wouldn't even need an excuse, really.

I think the description of the tree fit the one in your post and images very well, which means the tree is pretty old and may have been dead all of this time, or at least dying back then, if its use in the novel is actually indicative of its condition during that time period.

It's surprising to me at times that I can find an overabundance of information for certain things, while nary a peep of others. Not sure why that is, other than the internet is simply not interested in all things, and a gnarled dead tree in this particular churchyard appears to be one of them. As sad as that sounds. :(

The magical mystery tour, part two. I can see it now. :)
Actually, I'd be up for that.

Excellent @glenalbrethsen' I look forward to seeing you this side of The Pond. 😁

Better start making your list of questions that still need to be answered.

Sure is a strange looking trunk. Very cool.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67