#treetuesday - Indian trail tree

in #treetuesday7 years ago

IMG_0782.JPG

This tree was bent over and begging me to be part of @old-guy-photos #treetuesday so I had to oblige and take it's picture. Of course, I did this before winter set in so the poor tree has had to wait its turn to be posted.

When I seen the tree, I wondered if it was an Indian trail tree. Native Americans would bend young trees to serve as direction markers towards food, water, safe trails to take, and more.

I've ran across a few trees that look like this in our area and I know I have another picture... Yep, I found it. Now that I know more about these trees I plan to take more pictures when I run across one. It might even be fun to see if we can find the next trail tree from the original one we find next.

IMG_1212.JPG

Have you seen trees like these in your area?

Photograph owned by @debralee and were taken with Canon G7X Mark II

My other social media's:
You Tube Vlog
You Tube Gaming
DTube
Twitter
Instagram
Clickasnap
debralee_blue.png

Sort:  

When I first looked at the tree I thought - "ooooh....great place to sit and chat or have kids play and climb." After I read about the history of them I was awe struck. I love stories like this. I'll be looking for bent trees now when I get back to hiking.

We'll all have to compare photos once the weather changes, or one of us braves the snow. #nonotme :)

It really is an interesting history. I nearly forgot I had these to share. I'm looking forward to finding more when we can hike again too.

Hi @debralee! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Always And Forever. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Thanks you!

That is so cool! I didn't know the story behind the tree! Thank you!!! Tip! I can hardly wait to see if I can see any!

Thanks Denise!

Great tree photos!! So you think those are 200 year old trees? Wow!

Thanks, I can't say for certain but they are bent in a similar way as the Indian Trail Trees.

"When I seen the tree, I wondered if it was an Indian trail tree. Native Americans would bend young trees to serve as direction markers towards food, water, safe trails to take, and more."

This is absolutely amazing and interesting to know! Your shots are wonderful! You have multi-talents, how do you do it? :-)

Thanks, I got a little 110 camera when I was a teenager and I fell in love with photos. :D

Beautiful trees in forest

Very cool trees. As @countrygirl said, they would make a great seat. I've seen a few odd shaped trees over the years, but never realized they might be for trail markers. That is pretty amazing. Thanks for sharing the odd trees you've seen. Now I'll keep on the lookout for more.

I'm so glad everyone will be on the look our for these trees. I hope to see them in future posts. :D

And the tree's waiting worth it, now on Steemit for everyone to see. Beautiful photos and informative too. I just learned that Native Americans used to bend young trees for the mentioned reasons.🌱 ☺

It was worth its wait for sure. :D

Loving this Tree Tuesday thing :) That type of woodland is a fond favourite of mine. So great to get out there, rustle the leaves and get the fresh air :)

We hike a lot during the warm months. Indiana has a lot of state parks with beautiful woodlands to walk though.

Wow :) That would be amazing. Where I am here in the UK the nearest we have is Hatfield Forest, although admittedly that is a nice place to go walking :)

They sure are interesting trees!! I've never heard of them till now but glad I do know about them now..Thank you @debralee!!

I have to admit I was excited to learn about the history. That is part of why I like blogging, I get to learn while doing things I love. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50