tree tuesday — bird feeders and trees are good things

in #treetuesday6 years ago



You will find something more in woods than in books.
Trees and stones will teach you that which you can never learn from masters.
St. Bernard


Today is #treetuesday.

Knowing how much @old-guy-photos dislikes guidelines rules, I decided to take a couple of photos of the bird feeders hanging on my newly blooming maple tree.

You can see tree branches, so these count as entries for this challenge. A little stretch of the imagination perhaps.


DSC_1467.jpg
ISO 400mm | 200mm | f/5.6> 1/500sec

The blue of heaven is duplicated in my own soul.
The songs of the birds are in the high branches of my being.
Muriel Strode (1875–1964), "Songs of Him: V," A Soul's Faring, 1921

DSC_1466.jpgISO 400 | 200mm | f/5.6 | 1/1000sec

photos by

Nikon D3100
Nikkor Lens 55mm-200mm
Adobe Lightroom

©All rights reserved, 2018

Thank you @old-guy-photos
for initiating the #treetuesday photo challenge


Sort:  

Beautiful! My bird feeder makes me happy, even on the darkest days.

I can understand that .... bird watching makes me happy too to be honest. It's hard to stay in a dark place for long when I change my focus to the bird's behavior, song and colors. I hate being in a dark place.

Great shots. That second shot is super zen:)

Zen eh? heheh.....

So beautiful photos! I love how the green of the leaves work with the colors of the seeds in the feeders (I need one of them in my backyard ^_^ )

These birds are huge eaters!! John puts the seeds out and it's gone by the afternoon.....what's interesting now is the seeds that fell to the ground are germinating and now there are greens for the rabbits.

Thank you @silviabeneforti. :)

Perfectly framed in leaves! I like it.

I knew you would understand :)

Wow, I love this! I think it's the out of focus background, becoming even more blurred when seen through the glass... those two, side by side..
Brilliant! It looks lovely, instant-share :)

Thanks so much @keithboone! I appreciate your support and helpful comments!

Nice photos! The second shot of the squirrel... "bird" feeder in the tree looks like a great location. Have you seen any fur-birds, yet?

There are some feeders behind my apartment, that are up on steel posts. One night, I heard something out there and here were deer, licking the seeds out of the feeders with their tongues! At least the squirrels have to be smart-ish about it!

lol....we took that one down....the squirrel got to it and turned it upside down....we buy the good seeds so they told their friends, who told their friends and so on. Abbey had a blast chasing them out of the yard.

We have a lot of coyotes in our area this year and the city has asked us not to feed the birds....the seeds bring mice - yes, check, and chipmunks, yes, check check, and rabbits...oh ya.....which bring predators like the coyotes.

Seeing deer licking out of bird feeders would be funny. Some squirrels have manners.....some are quite rude and scream when I dare go out to the yard. I'm not scary looking.....they just don't want their meal interrupted.

Those squirrels are crafty little buggers! Well, some of the are... I've seen some pretty dumb squirrel moves, like the one that tried to jump from the feeder and did a belly-flop on the bricks below or the one that got himself stuck with a foot trapped in two different patio chairs. I had to free him with a screwdriver and some thick leather gloves (just in case), for which he did not thank me.

Coyotes, eh? We have them around where my parents live. Some of the neigbors' dogs got mange from them, though I'm not sure how that works. I mean, coyotes aren't really known to hang out with the neighborhood dogs and chat over a rabbit-burger...

Good luck with the feeders! Those squirrels are crafty!

You see some crazy stuff where you live. America is like that though. Full of squirrels people acting like nuts!!! lol

In Canada, coyotes are notorious for their BBQ rabbit burgers. The dogs usually wear garden attire. Cats however, are not invited - they keep a watchful eye on things from top of the fence for these occasions.

This is truth and not alternate facts.

Different but i like it keeping nature happy :)

Your welcome :)

When I looked at your first picture I could not see the actual bird feeder at first it was like my mind was playing tricks on my, I couldn’t really tell what if was I thought it was a grid with a little seed in it, then I scrolled down and then back up and I saw the feeder clear as day. It is funny how our mind works sometimes. Nice shots!!!

Your eyes aren't playing tricks.....these are two different bird feeders!! lol....poor you.

Is that first one a repurposed street lamp? I love it when things get upcycled in imaginative ways. Or maybe its just a cool design :) Great snapping - somehow your subjects always look larger than life!

No it's not but what a great idea!! I have a couple of those really ugly witch hat looking out door lamps that I could repurpose.

I like to capture things up close for some reason. Maybe bc I find details more interesting, I don't know ??

The devil is in the details, as they say, but more so the beauty :) Go wild - repurpose everything, haha! It'll make for some great photos at any rate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56688.84
ETH 2388.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28