#TreeTuesday... Old Burl on Oak

in #treetuesday6 years ago (edited)

KIMG2490-01.jpeg

We are heading into my woods today. What is left of this Survivor tree marks the Eastern boundary of my property. I found it on our first walk in these woods.

KIMG2458-01.jpeg

The life has left the tree itself, but it show how much of a Survivor it was while it Lived.

KIMG2480-01.jpeg

A burl (American English) or bur or burr (UK English) is a tree growth in which the grain has grown in a deformed manner.source

KIMG2478-01.jpeg

Burls are desired for their unique wood grains. I think this one is neat just watching it slowly decay.

KIMG2476-01.jpeg

Each side of this burl has such an individual appearance.

KIMG2475-01.jpeg

Kicking myself that I didnt get any photos with my hand for scale. This is a huge sample.

KIMG2489-01.jpeg

I hope you have enjoyed.

KIMG2494-01.jpeg


~all text and images are my own




Just a girl...
Living, Loving and Dancing her way to Wholeness with the help of a Mountaintop and a Purpose.

Follow the Adventure

@borrowedearth


DQmNouEDFYRmvhF1BSvgeeeZBx4eqbi99sfAgRWsn15c36g.png

Homesteaders Online

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Wow that is a gnarly old and tough looking tree. Nicely captured tip!

Hi @borrowedearth! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @molometer!

@molometer wrote lately about: Royal Enfield Motorcycle #Vehiclephotography Feel free to follow @molometer if you like it :)

You can now delegate SP / invest in @tipU for daily profit:) Click here to learn more :)

That's an amazing example of a burl. I don't think I have ever seen one in person! Now, once the warmer weather starts up I'll probably see them everywhere. That's how it always works.

Wow! This is a really cool looking tree!

First time seeing a burl .. there are not that many trees like these here in the SEA region. Maybe there are, I'm just not attentive enough ;) Always enjoyed your nature 'walks' and pictures- nature is amazing @borrowedearth

Interesting information, never heard of the term used before, old trees have some unique stories to tell. Pity we just don't fully understand whether this was an attempt at regrowth and healing @borrowedearth

Kind of reminds me of a tree that could come to life in a magical forest. It would have one of those old wise man's voices.

They make some nice pieces with the burr!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53