#Treetuesday: Forget Coffins – Organic Burial Pods Will Turn Your Loved Ones Into Trees

in #treetuesday7 years ago (edited)

3c8a1-tree-spirits-submergin.jpg

Being lowered into the ground in a cold lonely wooden box on our last farewell is becoming a thing of the past.

For my first #treetuesday I bring to you Organic Burial Pods.


Believe it or not Modern burial practices are an environmental nightmare. The Toxic chemicals created from the embalming process leach into the air and soil. Caskets and burial vaults use a ton of materials to achieve the embalming process successfully. Memorial parks will often clear acres of trees, The land is left to soak up significant amounts of water and pesticides to keep lawns green and healthy. And cremation isn't any better as it releases noxious chemicals into the atmosphere in the process of burning a corpse.

Instead of creating burial grounds full of tombstones, the deceased are placed in organic burial pods that will be able to provide nutrients for a tree of your choosing. A tree or seed is simply placed on top of the area that they were buried.

3447c-biodegradable-burial-pod-memory-forest-1.jpg

The body of your loved one is placed in a biodegradable capsule in a fetal position. This capsule, with the deceased inside it, then buried and as I mentioned earlier, either a tree or the seed of a tree is then planted directly above the capsule. The person being buried would choose what kind of tree they would want planted when they are alive.

6e9ce-biodegradable-burial-pod-memory-forest-4.jpg

The capsule is placed in the soil the same way one would plant a seed basically. The capsule is made up of what they call a starch plastic. This is apparently a type of plastic derived from starch and this makes it completely biodegradable.

Here is a quick video explaining in more detail....

Thanks for stopping by I hope you enjoyed my first #treetuesday post

Please Vote - follow - re-steem if you would like to support my travel fund!

@bitmiter

Info Source

Image Source

Video Source


Sort:  

What an ingenius idea to regenerate life after death!
Thank you for sharing @bitminter, Im new here but im definitely following you for more #treetuesday goodness :)

Thank you for your support and welcome to steemit! You could not have said it better "What an ingenius idea to regenerate life after death!" I agree with you 100%

I read all about this when the company first set up...there are actually a couple of companies doing this.
When I first saw it I decided that this is the way I wish to be dealt with upon my death. It's perfect...when I die I wish to give nourishment and life to a beautiful tree.
It will be a place that families can visit, maybe even have a picnic under their family tree. Best idea ever. No more gravestones, instead, a family forest. How marvelous...a true circle of life.

I agree with you, it appeals to me as well. It returns us to our roots as it should be and nature intended, pun intended. Thanks for the comment much appreciated!

I will have a look and thank you!

I want to be trans-humanized into a Gary Oak when I die.

Willow's a good choice...you just can't kill a willow...every little piece of you can generate off if the conditions are right.

On the other hand...being a maple...well people be just want'n to tap that sweet nectar come springtime. ~smiles~

Gary oaks grow above and below...a single connected entity beneath it's forest floor.

A little shady...sneaky even...but pretty cool too. ;-)

I like to start small and spread out from there.

~may all hatred cease...let there be peace...in the forest~

Such a cool idea, I love it!

Wow! Very interesting!

Great idea let's see the idea spread around the world :)

Well it is a eco friendly idea and I believe people are catching on fast from what I can see and the research I have done. Who knows I might even consider it one day. Thanks for the comment much appreciated

I totally want to do this when I die! And it has to be a tree that provides food for future generations! LOL

Well I must be honest I never thought about that, but hey why not! Thanks for the comment maybe a orange tree hahaha

great and beautiful idea - I'm just not sure which tree I'd choose. I love too many! What's most popular, so far?

So far we have a Oak by@cryptologyx and I suggested a Maple or Willow.

I've always found the idea of burial a bit creepy. I like this as a way to go back into the earth and give life and hope to another generation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57897.73
ETH 3060.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26