You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tree Tuesday does the Appalachian Trail

in #treetuesday6 years ago

I hiked/camped a couple days on the AT a long time ago, it's really amazing all the history and stories that go with it, even have a couple books on it of people who did the whole trail start to finish, good stuff

Sort:  

I had a book about a blind man that hiked it with his dog. I just looked to get the name and sadly see he has passed. Upped
https://www.washingtonpost.com/national/bill-irwin-dies-at-73-first-blind-hiker-of-appalachian-trail/2014/03/15/a12cfa1a-ab9b-11e3-af5f-4c56b834c4bf_story.html?utm_term=.51492386d3d7

I DO remember seeing a story on a blind guy doing a hike through years ago. I had no idea he had passed, but his courage and tenacity still amaze me. Thanks for pulling the story up.

That is so cool! I have done short jaunts and I too am amazed at the history and the stories told by people along the trail.

I wish that I could be out there today as it is so beautiful and a perfect day to run out into the sunshine! Someday! The long trail will be mine! tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66989.66
ETH 3120.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75