You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cycads are they Trees or Shrubs? #TreeTuesday

in #treetuesday7 years ago

I think they are fascinating! Such dinosaur plants (see... I avoided 'tree' or 'shrub'... lol) I read something before about them being totally ancient plants and you confirmed it here that they date back 280 million years! They have that worm-looking new shoots that ferns have... Amazing that you have them in your garden!!
I just found this, may help answer your question... :) Cheers!

Sort:  

Thanks for the link, I am not surprised that they are related to palms, the answer is a tree and shrub.

When fresh shoots come out on my one they are soft and silky to the touch, grow into thorns and rip your flesh once they get a bit older. Why people poach them annoys me endlessly, when I bought there were no laws, but I would never take one from the wild, makes no sense.

The Cycas you can grow without permits or license and I have those for a later post, also very pretty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78