You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel Tip: Kokorin Castle, majestic medieval castle just outside of Prague

in #traveltip6 years ago

I am a big fan of the people who restore historical landmarks. For me its like that they are restoring history. More accurate the Restoration is the more that represents their dedication to preserve the culture.

I found this excellent artical on the restoration and its history:http://www.radio.cz/en/section/spotlight/romantic-kokorin-1

It would have been a great treat to some really old paintings of the castle to compare it to the restored version. But sadly I couldn't locate pictures of any such paintings. I also found that the restoration was not allowed in the castle until 20th century, so lets not judge our ancestors. They did the best they could :-)

Sort:  

That would be a great reason to visit:)....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46