Travel Tip: Olomouc Astronomical Clock, little known brother of Prague Astronomical Clock

Dear Steemit friends and followers,

Welcome to my Travel Tip series where I promote some of the most beautiful places, interesting landmarks and impressive architectural sites of my homeland, the Czech Republic.

Today, I prepared something special for you as I will show you something you probably never heard of before - the Olomouc Astronomical Clock.

Olomouc_town_hall_2008.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

If you visit my blog regularly, I am pretty sure you have heard of the famous Astronomical Clock found on the Old Town Square in the historic center of Prague as it is one of the most popular tourist attractions of the city and a truly remarkable piece of medieval engineering.

Old_astronomical_clock_in_Olomouc.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

However, there are actually two astronomical clocks in the Czech Republic. The other one that is a way less famous, is located in the beautiful Moravian city of Olomouc. The Olomouc Astronomical Clock is almost as old as the Prague one, with its origin dating back to the first half of the 15th century and it was so beautiful and unique that - according to an old legend - the creator of the clock was rendered blind so that he could not replicate it somewhere else. Unfortunately, the Olomouc Astronomical Clock was completely remodeled several times throughout the centuries for various reasons including war damages and political changes.

Orloj_in_Olomouc_detail.jpg
Source: Wikimedia Commons (Creative Commons)

The last (and most degrading) reconstruction occurred in 1955 when it was remodeled in the Communist style known as the Social Realism. After the Communist regime fell in 1989, most of the Communist statues and monuments were removed from the clock but the large decorative mosaic depicting Communist workers and scientists remained there, providing a bizarre retrospective glimpse into what the life was like during the Communist era.


Please feel free to check out some of my other recent posts.

Great news for Czech and German travelers: train ride Prague - Dresden under one hour!

7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - week #33 - vote for your favorite picture of the week!

ColorChallenge - Blue Friday - @fotostef in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

Prague/Czech Republic - Friday photo challenge - share your personal pictures from your visit to the Czech Republic!


Tomas
CEO & Founder of CGH

logo.jpg


upvote follow resteem.gif


Sort:  

......it was so beautiful and unique that - according to an old legend - the creator of the clock was rendered blind so that he could not replicate it somewhere else.

Wow! Such preventive measure. I will love to visit Czech Republic when I come to Macedonia in October. This clock is beautiful... if you say there was a degrading reconstruction then I wonder what it initially was.

That would be great if you make it out here. It sure is worth the visit and October is a great month for sight-seeing.

Great. Thank you

Before I go to Czech Republic I'll certainly be spending hours reviewing your blog. Thanks for all this great info! -Dan

I am glad to hear that! I am sure you will find some great tips not only in the travel-tip section of my blog but also in the photo-sharing contests where you will get great advice from other Steemians. Make sure to take a lot of pics so you can take part as well. Have a great night. Tomas

Thanks Tomas. Just decided NOT to spend the summer in the United States, and commit to Europe...especially Eastern Europe. Lot's of research and planning to do now. So thank you in advance and I'll certainly be in touch.

Believe you me this is something really new for me, many countries around the world has famous clock towers but this is so different in it's construction and style. It is a pure depiction of the cultural traits of the country. Thanks lot Tomas for this awesome travel tip.

PS: I am going to show the wonderful pictures of Olomouc Astronomical Clock to my little nephews as they love wall clocks

Glad to hear you are spreading your love further down your family.... Have a great night. Tomas

Amazing and very nice these two clocks. these are very historical watchs when God give me a chance to travel for Czech republic then I will want to see these beautifull two clocks . these are very beautifull clocks . And I also like tourism and tourism is the best thing to refreshment of your minds and it make me so joyfull . And its my wish to see these two clocks in my life.
Because traveling is a book ,if you want to learn alot of things then you should travel to the world. Traveling can learn you alot of lesson about your life and world then your school books. Because traveling is a complete book.

Your all post are amusing and nice photoshoot we are all friends are totally impressed to see your post @czechglobalhosts 🇧🇩🇧🇩

Wow what an amazing place.Really loved the place and the Olomouc Astronomical Clock.Loved the amazing architecture of this clock and building just look amazing.I think Czech Republic is fill with amazing place and amazing architecture.You know what there is normal clock in Nepal too which is called Ghanta Ghar which means Clock House if you change it into english.Thanks for sharing it with us. @czechglobalhosts

hopefully your trip always please friends

Woww great travel tips,I like it

Excellent story about the Astronomical clock of Olomouc.
Thank you for providing this information. he does not know

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62938.05
ETH 2552.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63