My Sublime and Beautiful Sunday in Scarborough.

in #travelfeed6 years ago

My Sublime and Beautiful Sunday in Scarborough.

This is my entry for the #beautifulsunday challenge, hosted by @ace108 and for #sublimesunday by @c0ff33a

F Scar walk.jpg

Every day is a good day to enjoy getting out and about my neighbourhood but on Sundays there always seems to be an additional sense of enjoyment and energy as families come from all around, to appreciate the picturesque beauty of Scarborough Beach which is situated at the northern end of the Redcliffe Peninsula in Queensland, Australia.

f Boats.jpg

Throughout the year, whether it be summer or winter, kayaks and paddle boards are available for hire and because I live right across the road for this lovely venue, I can often hear the delighted screams of rowers and swimmers coming from the beach as first time riders learn how to stay afloat or the more sporty individuals inevitably challenge their mates to a race across the blue waters of Moreton Bay.

M Bay views.jpg

Walkers, bike riders and picnic lovers flock to this beach to while away a few relaxing hours over the weekend. Cafes and restaurants across the road provide coffee, snacks and meals to keep everyone's energy levels up.

f Enjoying the park.jpg

It was such a beautiful day yesterday and because it is the middle of the school holidays children made the most of the playground areas.

F playground ahead..jpg

I don't know how good the fishing is here as I haven't yet tried it but I often see people with their fishing lines out hoping for that 'big one' to take home. Whiting and brim can apparently provide a meal for a small family from time to time but I strongly suspect that what is taken home, is more likely barely enough to satisfy the family cat.

Yes, there are bigger fish in the sea and I have seen dolphins close to the shore which is always a thrill and during the whale watching season charter boats head out to where sightings are almost guaranteed. I have yet to enjoy seeing these amazing creatures frolic in their own environment as they migrate north.

f Moreton Bay.jpg

Whenever I show photos of Scarborough I always proudly add these boasting rights. Scarborough Beach was named "The Friendliest Beach in Australia in 2004." The beauty of the Redcliffe Peninsula (just one hours drive from Brisbane city) used to be Brisbane's best kept secret and I have no doubt that a lot of long term residents preferred to keep it that way too.

But the council have been in a healthy financial state for the last few years and many improvements have been made, making Redcliffe a very desirable place to live...….or at least visit, on a regular basis if living here is not an option.

F In the shadows.jpg

You can see where Redcliffe gets its name from this photo which was taken at the northern end of Scarborough. The dark red cliffs have eroded a bit over the years but the land above appears to be stable.

F Redcliffs.jpg

And just around the corner from the last capture is the tip of Scarborough Point. I didn't take this photo yesterday but I thought I'd include it to show you what a typical dusk looks like with its pastel skies and calm waters.

F scarborough point.jpg

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Very nice photos! I like the one with the two women walking and the kids in the foreground a lot. What, exactly, was that truck pulling?! It doesn't look like a boat...

Thanks very much @fotosdenada Those blue things on the back of the truck are little paddle boats. People ride them like bikes and use oars as well. I'm not sure exactly what they are called but they are popular.

Very nice that the place is a happening one throughout the year.

Thanks very much @ace108 and I am happy to share my part of the world. It is a wonderful climate apart from being too hot in the summer for me, but you can't have everything can you? (:

You're welcome .
Everyone has something against the weather at the place they live at one time or another😎

That’s very true @ace108 We’re a hard bunch to please at times. 😣

Awesome pictures! It looks like a beautiful day <3

It was a lovely sunny winters day @lovablesoul Thanks very much for your welcome visit.

Nice place to spend a Sunday on the beach and on the ocean. Scarborough Beach is the place and I'm happy because it's so close to you. I would love to fish there but because I do not have a cat I think I will never get there. Thanks a lot for this day shared with us!

Many thanks for your lovey comments and support @bluemoon I am very fortunate to live near the sea......if only the fishing was better. (lol)

Yes, indeed...I think the same about those who live near the sea.

That does not look like a terrible winter's day.

Haha......it most definitely not a terrible winter's day @choogirl More like a 'typical' winter's day in this part of Q'ld. I'm sure you've heard the famous Queensland saying, "Beautiful one day. Perfect the next." (:

Yeah I'm familiar with the half-arsed Qld winters like the one you've captured here. I am a Brissy girl after all.

"Winter" here in Brissy is my favourite season. I couldn't believe just how mild these winters were here when we first immigrated from N.Z. 30 years ago. Would you believe I feel cheated when the cold temps disappear?

You live in a beautiful place Trudee. Thanks for sharing he awesome views. ❤️

Thanks very much for your visit. It really is a lovely place Joanne. We are very blessed.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=trudeehunter
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-sublime-and-beautiful-sunday-in-scarborough


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This is fantastic, I never realised that there was a Scarborough in Australia - in the UK we have a coastal town called Scarborough - but it is nowhere near as beautiful looking as this one.

I love the ocean photo, and the last dusk photograph is truly incredible. Thank you for sharing these amazing photographs for your #SublimeSunday

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Thank you very much for your visit and very welcome comments and support @c0ff33a I understand there are a few Scarborough's in different parts of the world...….and there is another one in Perth Western Australia.

I'm glad to have discovered your #sublimesunday and hope to participate again soon.

I was in Redcliffe with family a few days ago! Funny you mentioned it cause my partner and I were talking about how the place got the name as we saw no red cliffs😄 I just showed him the pics you shot of it cause we seemed to have missed it, haha! Lovely pictures @trudeehunter! 🤗

I hope you picked a fine day to enjoy the beauty of the Redcliffe Peninsula @cooknbake Those cliffs are only visible from the beach at the northern end of Scarborough which is where I live. You’ll see other red cliffs from the Southern end of Margate beach closer to Woody Point.

I’m glad to hear you were able to spend some time relaxing in between looking after your family and new baby and preparing to move back Home. Many thanks for your welcome visit and support. 🌺

These days, with all the organising and preparations we have to take time for some travelling 😁 for some fresh air and enjoy the rest of our time here. We only have 2 more weeks left 😲!

Very wise @cooknbake I hope you can continue to get out and about while the weather is so awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59849.00
ETH 2961.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82