Travel Diaries - Sigiriya, Sri LankasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travelfeed5 years ago

A little further from Dambulla is one of the probably most known sights in the country. Sigiriya, also known as a Lion Rock, is part of the UNESCO World Heritage Site and has been declared as an eighth wonder of the world. With vertical sides and nearly 200m height, this rock was a site of an ancient civilization.

Sigiriya is one of the destinations what has been in the bucket list for a very long time and being able to visit and see it with your own eyes was truly a dream come true. Even after reading so much about it and seeing countless photos on the internet, we were not prepared for the views and history surrounding the rock.

Although it is an amazing place and worth a visit, the entrance fee of 30 USD per person is probably the highest I have ever seen for any of the historic sights in an Asian country and it is proportionally higher than anything else in Sri Lanka. I sincerely hope that the money people are paying to be able to walk around the surrounding Water Gardens and be able to hike up to the top of the rock is going towards conservation of the site and its heritage.

Before deciding to make the trip to the Lion Rock, do ask yourself if you are willing to climb up to the top of it. It is definitely not a place for people afraid of heights. There are plenty of scary, but exciting climbs with just a bare minimum of security features stopping you from falling off. If you like that extra thrill, it is a place to see.

Most blogs and guides you can come across when doing your pre-travel research would recommend going early to avoid queues and busy times. As a recommendation from our driver, we ended up doing Dambulla Rock Temple as the first destination in the morning and left Sigiriya for the afternoon. While we were walking around the surrounding Water Gardens we did see long lines of local students on their way up and down the rock. By the time we were ready to make the climb, we were lucky to have the way rather empty with the relatively clear way all the way up.

The views on top are truly spectacular and a true reward for climbing the stairs and risking angering the wasps. There are lots of signs around cautioning you to be silent not to anger wasps.

While walking around on top of the rock and between the ruins I was wishing there was some information to show what it used to look like or what different parts of the ruins used to be. It would be a good comparison while you're up there, but unfortunately, the only place to see all is in the museum near in the same building as the ticket office. We decided to visit it after the real thing. You could go to the museum first, but I feel like it means less when you haven't seen the ruins for yourself yet.

There are so many photo opportunities throughout the whole experience it's difficult to choose just one or two photos to illustrate the magnificence of the place. Should you ever have a chance to visit the place, try to take time and imagine how life used to work in this place. Try to imagine how the buildings were made and how all the raw material got hoisted to the top of the rock.

Sigiriya is one of those places what makes me seriously think about investing in a drone. Photos and videos what I could've had would make the ones I did take fall pale in comparison.

Sort:  

I have never heard of this place and I am glad that you brought it up. The rock looks impressive and the way to the top exciting and dangerous which makes it very attractive to me :)

I like that photo with everything you can't do or you should know about :) You have to stand there for an hour to understand all the signs and what you're supposed to do/not to do :)

Your photos are great and I can imagine that the place looks even better in real. Well, yeah, it's a pity that there is no information but it's not that bad as you still have the option to go to the museum and check it out there...

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Thank you very much for your comment. 👍
There are always places we haven't heard of, I believe we first came across it on Instagram. You'd be surprised how good of a tool Instagram is for planning out trips and places to visit, sometimes even better than professional travel advice books or websites.

$30 are they mad?I am sorry as beautiful as it is I wouldn't pay that.Surely Unesco should step in and do something as that is criminal at those prices. Talk about milking the tourists. I am glad I got to see it in your post today as I wont be going there.Your photos are excellent and a drone would be good to have if you want to get another angle.

It is definitely too steep of a price for what it is, I kind of do wish I would've known that beforehand because once you've made an effort to go there, you're more likely to pay the price. Just hoping that the money goes for the right cause.

hi @tggr
truly exceptional! My wish list is stretching so impressive, it will take me at least three lives to do it all !! your photos are incredible, is the climb safe enough? Were you there for a vacation or are you a traveler around the world? How is the climate in Sri Lanka?
Congratulations on Curie's vote and thank you for sharing with us

Thank you @road2horizon 🙂

Safety does often come down to our perception. It was perfectly safe for me, but I know for a fact my parents would not consider it safe and would decide to stay on the ground. I guess the older you are the more you're afraid of dangers.

Sri Lanka was a two-week trip. I wish I was one of those young backpackers who go around the world and their only worry is to find accommodation for the night. I am however somewhat of a travel-junky, I try to make the most of my life and see the places I have always dreamt of. You are absolutely right, there are so many places and not enough time. Don't take visiting all of them as a destination, take it as a journey and just cross them off one by one. You'd be surprised how much you actually can achieve. 😉

Sri Lanka has a tropical climate and is subject to wet and dry seasons. Average temperatures on coastal areas are around 28 degrees while the inland average is a bit cooler around 16-20 degrees. Best times to visit depend from region to region.

oh, yes! I speak of the short time available because in this period I am in mid-life crisis !! me and my partner now travel a lot but I'm sorry I didn't start earlier! I feel like I'm always late about everything !! I am a bit paranoid I know. and then in central america I almost collapsed from the heat and I always ask for the temperatures :-)) do you already know what your next trip will be? I would like to go to India to see the tuk tuk race !!

I started travelling relatively late as well, there is a lot to see in this world. I think it's the journey, not the destination we need to keep in mind. Sorry to hear about your experience in Central America. Heat stroke can happen to all of us, we just need to keep that in mind and be prepared for temperatures we are not used to. I always have a cooling spray and water and extra clothes to cover up with me to avoid situations such as that.

It makes me shiver, but in a long time, I do not have another trip waiting for me.
#notriphobia

India is an experience, where about in India are you going?

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @elsaenroute and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

nice place. you went to the other mountain oposide too? dangerous to climp but worth it.

Oh no, I didn't. Now you're making me wish I did... Had limited time there. Could you do them in one day?

Hi tggr,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow, thank you so much! 😱❤️

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=tggr
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=travel-diaries-sigiriya-sri-lanka


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations @tggr! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest 516.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Hi there @tggr!

Wow! Just wow!

I never knew about this place till you shared this post with us. Oh well, maybe I wasnt updated with my geographic reviews now that this was added in the eight wonders of the world. I second to that! Every angle is truly a wonder to see. The views are magnificent and those rocky mountain is just stunning!

I was a little shakey looking up on those stairs! Hahahaha.. but I would have walk in too. Gotta face some fears. Anyway, the views are wortg conquering to see..

Thanks fir sharing your travel escapade. Congrats on your curie love. Cheers! ❤

Thank you. Getting up there sure feels like a feat and I am very happy I've done it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65