You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 30 days in Iran: The land of misleading stereotypes!

in #travelfeed5 years ago

I live in Esfahan, Iran and I feel good to see a less (or no) biased opinion about Iran.

In 30 days we were not able to spend even 300 Euros

Back then in 2016 situation was better, but now 300 Euros a month is a higher than average income. and that's why tourists are good cases for scammers, every dollar counts these days. (lol) Though still the general situation is OK and you see people traveling and shopping, etc.

She told us she was trying to find a husband and asked us to tell about her to all of our single friends

That is interesting!

Though wearing hijab is rule which same all around Iran, but based on a city's culture, it's very different. For example in Isfahan that is a religious city there are more sensitive about it and there's a high chance to be notified and warned about your hijab if (for example) your scarf is not covering your hair, but in many other cities, like Shiraz and Tehran, you might even see a woman with no scarf (very rare) or that the scarf is just not covering all of the hair. In short, the hijab standards are lowered much compared to 5-10 years ago.

There is some kind of dress code men should follow too. They have to wear long pants and long-sleeved shirts.

Though long pants are very common and a must-wear for work places but long-sleeved are not, maybe just for some formal work places. though it's suggested for most of Iran, otherwise you'll burn your skin. lol

Sort:  

Hi @sina-adventure :)

First of all I would like to say, that Iran was my favorite country EVER! Of course after Lithuania, which is my home sweet home. My wife @Kamile and I can't wait to come back again. This time I would like to go to Yazd and some other places we did not have an opportunity to see last time.

About wearing a hijab. Maybe I did not talk about it enough. Yes, most of the girls that we met were wearing super nice and colorful clothes and their scarfs were covering hair only a little bit.


About long-sleeved shirts. My mistake. I did not want to say that long-sleeved shirts are a must, but I wanted to say that wearing tank tops are not appropriate. T-shirts are ok. Am I right?

I wanted to say that wearing tank tops are not appropriate. T-shirts are ok. Am I right?

yeah, that's right.

Hope to see you here.

It might be I will have some business relationships with Iran. This would be a great chance to visit it more often! :D
23.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59508.12
ETH 2603.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39