💚 Finding a Little Shanti: Back in Ubud 💚

in #travelfeed6 years ago (edited)

received_10214968491679283.jpeg

I never fancied myself as a Bali traveller. That was for every single other Australian, as Bali is known as our backyard, and I'm not very good at doing what everyone else is doing.

Yet a few years ago we were looking at cheap flights to get the hell out of dodge in mid winter in Victoria and the cheapest flights were to Denspasar, so we thought, what the hey. Turned out that everyone was on to something, coming to this gorgeous isle. The people are beautiful, the food is awesome, and there's plenty to do from surfing to diving to yoga to just chilling. Somehow, we're now on our third visit. We did try to book somewhere else, promise - but it was too wet in Burma, we'd done Thailand, and really Bali seemed the best option, so here we are.

received_10214969893074317.jpeg

received_10214969895074367.jpeg

It was a weary flight in after a long and hard stint at work, especially for J., and what with the angst of Dad's illness, we both are heaving signs of relief that we have a bit of peace for a few weeks to get our heads and hearts and minds back in order. How grateful I am to have this breathing space, and well aware I'm in a priveledged enough position to do this through travelling.

20180624_163529.jpg

Gosh it's nice to be here - amongst the temples and ubiquitous statues of Ganesha and Sarasweti, Bali's goddess of the arts, with her lute and her swan consort. I love the little offerings on the streets, palm frond baskets with flowers and sweets, the scent of incense, the coo of pigeons, the hustle and bustle of a busy island where it's still possible to get lost down verdant laneways, to move from more built up fancy shopping areas to local markets, from ricefields to jungle to volcano to beaches. And it's nice, too, to arrive in a place and not have to think too much about what you're doing and where you are going. Sometimes the travel brain needs a break.

So, after the morning massage, and with this spirit of world weary travellers we agreed that if one finds a good place to eat, you may as well stick to it. Warung Pondok Madu was newly opened last time we came and Sri is just the sweetest nicest woman. The food is good, fresh and cheap. She had obviously been doing well as she moved up to a bigger place up the road. She remembered us from last time which was nice.

20180624_122551.jpg

20180624_123624.jpg

In Bali you hire a scooter at your own risk and whizz around crowded streets with the flow of traffic and hoot of horns and I love it, mainly coz I get to wrap my arms around my lover and snuggle in as we go. As corny as that sounds, we have 3 weeks to be completely in love and dedicated to each other, in a way we can't always be when day to day life makes its demands.

Fotor_152981749193888.jpg

I also found myself a wedding band, well, of a fashion anyway. I'd lost my wedding band a few years back and my engagement ring was my second one, second hand and cheap, it had worn through at the band and broken, and lost one of the opals. I've been without a ring for a while, and missed it. I really see it as a physical reminder of the committment we made to each other and it's important to me. Some may see it as insignificant, a symbol of ownership, but it's nothing of the sort to me - it's just a reminder that J. and are on this life journey together, and we love each other deeply, and are happy to support each other when things get tough.

I really liked this band with the "om shanti' mantra on it. To chant it three times is an invocation of peace, peace in mind, body and spirit. Thus I can spin in around when J. annoys me and I'm wondering why II married him in the first place. Just joking. It's much more powerful than these human identifications with loved ones - it's more of a connection to all, to the divine conciousness, and to extend love and peace out to all, in a kind of metta or loving kindness meditation, and I love that this mantra is on my ring finger, as if I'm wedded not just to J., but to the whole of the universe and humanity, om shanti shanti shanti.

Fotor_152981542279964.jpg

Heree's a lovely version of Alice Coltrane, wife of John Coltrane, and her spiritual interpretation of the Om Shanti mantra. I only just found out about her though I'd heard of John Coltrane and his jazz, and loved this song when I heard it on the radio about a month ago. Seems Om Shanti is just filtering into my life as a sign, as these things often do.

received_10214969899314473.jpeg

Then we dropped even further into the peace out yin spaces by going to Ubuds Yoga Barn for a yin yoga class. A perfect end to a great first day in Bali. The gardens and surrounds there are so BEAUTIFUL and really appeal to my Libran desire for harmony. I feel so chilled now that I dont even care if my photos are centred or the right way up and thats a minor miracle for me.

I tell you what though, I could do with a Bintang.

received_10214969896234396.jpeg

🕉 Om Shanti, all xxx



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

1wEUFtd.jpg
Want to find more quality posts? Consider the #tribesteemup trail, and adding them to your autovoting along with #ecotrain.. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort:  

Love Ubud... though I'm finding it getting more and more touristy over the last few years. 15 years ago it was much more peaceful!

I would recommend trying Lombok, which is just a stones through away and you can fly straight from Denpasar - it's like Bali was years ago andf plenty to do. There are the waterfalls the volcano, some beautiful beaches down south especially around Kuta (very different from Bali Kuta!) and great snorkeling and turtle spotting over on the gili islands which is a great day trip or you can stay a few nights.

We stayed a week on Gili meno last time... beautiful and quiet!!! We were too exhausted to travel too far this time... i know its not that further but we are pretty exhausted. We are going up to Amed and then Nusa Penida which are both quiet enough. I kinda like the hustle and bustle here.. it has its up side. And plenty of day trips which if planned right can take you away from crowds. We would never go to Kuta in Bali.. eek. The worlds getting busier as a whole isnt it? I would really like to go all the way to Flores! One day.

Yeah I remembered being exhausted just getting between the international airport and the domestic one to fly out... seemed to be endless corridors between the airports lol!

We are about to head to Bintan soon... but I suspect it might be a bit busy being so close to Singapore!

Have fun!!! We were exhausted BEFORE we even flew out.. hence the easy trip 💚💚💚

Have you had your Bintang already? :D

I would love to visit Bali again. I have only been there once and for a couple of days because out of a whim I wanted to visit Prambanan and Borobudur which I did and then back to Bali to rest a while before going back home. It was a short visit but I already fell in love with it especially the food. Some say it must have been the waters but I believe it is the food that makes everyone fall in love in Bali and fall in love to Bali. Or maybe the monkeys. I am not sure :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

I love the food too. I hope you get back there one day!!

Hi mate @riverflows! Thank you for sharing this. I'm half Balinesse, and Ubud is my favorite spot :)
Always missed Ubud... Om Shanti shanti shanti

Oh that's so cool. I really love Ubud. Where in Bali are you from.. were you born there? Where do you live Now? Xx

I'm from Legian. It's hell crowded there, so I move to more peaceful Yogyakarta in Java. Haha. But now, I'm in Jakarta, where the traffic is ten times more crowded than Legian 😂

Life's ironies huh?? We try to keep away from too crowded places. This trip we head up to Amed then Nusa Penida then back to Ubud 💚

very peacefual and heavenly place

So lovely! Enjoy the alone time and connectedness with your love. YAY for being totally chilled out! I am so happy for you.

AAAAWWWW.... you two love birds enjoy Bali and each other. Lombok is by far my preference, though - like Bali used to be before the Aussie hordes spoiled it. But I see THAILAND in your future!! :)

Ah yes Lombok another time. We were just too exhausted to travel further to be honest. We are going to Amed and Nusa Penida so they will be chilled too...and yes Thailand is coming!

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=riverflows
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=finding-a-little-shanti-back-in-ubud


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

oh this sounds great, just what you deserve, really enjoy all that down time, and looking forward to seeing more photos xx enjoy the sun, we are having a heatwave in Ireland believe it or not, seems the sun has followed me from Spain xxx

Ah I heard the sun occasionally comes out in Ireland he he. So glad you are enjoying the sun with family and enjoying your island home! Xxx

It always looked nice and such, I personally never wanted to go or liked it that much. But some nice pictures of it. My girlfriend enjoyed being there.

Where did you go?

I haven't been outside of Australia, so nowhere besides other states.

Oh i thought you meant you went and didnt like it. By the way, you commented so fast after my post you are either a speed reader or you just looked at the pictures... timings a dead giveaway 🤔😁

I had a quick read through some while I was doing other things is why :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56