Aragunnu Campground, Mimosa Rocks National Park: LyreBirds, Whales, Eagles and Strange Dreams

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Did you know that over 55 percent of Australian beaches can’t be reached by road? That many have quite likely been never walked upon, and aren’t named? I find this both unbelievable, and quite credible. The majority of our population cling beachside, and camp by it on holidays, but it’s a vast, vast coastline. Sitting on the beach at Mimosa Rocks National Park in NSW we marvel at the incredible diversity and beauty of our Australian beaches and how many we’re yet to visit. On this night, we’ve lucked upon a great campground for the night at Annangu Campground, nestled in amongst wizened trees and cyclads at the end of a dirt track. Within minutes of arrival we see a lyrebird, something I’ve never seen in the wild even though I’ve visited many places they populate and heard them too.

image.png

A beautiful wedgetail eagle soaring above the vista.

Not ten minutes later we see a pod of dolphins and the sprays of blue whales spouting in deep beyond the rocks. No matter how many whales you see on a trip, you still feel a sense of awe. There was a time as kids we thought that blue whales were extinct so even now we’re overcome with a child-like wonder that these huge beasts still exist. On dusk we see a humpback breach, the huge splash marring the surface of the sea. We hoot like it’s fireworks or lightening – it’s fast and magnificent.

image.png

image.png

Mimosa Rocks are named for a paddlesteamer that crashed into the rocks in the 1800’s. The fact that a paddlesteamer came along this coast at all is bizarre, but it’s just another story of another shipwreck and a wealth of drownings along this coast.

image.png

The real story of this coast belongs to the indigenous people who still use this country. It’s their story I respect the most, and I’m conscious of being on their land in the way many White Australians conscious of indigenous histories might. The area is of huge significance for indigenous people. A boardwalk stretches across a huge midden (a midden is a kind of a rubbish ground, containing discarded shell and bone, botanical remains, ash and charcoal, and are often evidence of thousands of years of indigenous land use) and, spying abalone shells in fire pits, I think of how the land still provides it’s uses to people whose ancestors have used this country for far longer than we have. Everything becomes a dreaming here, but a living, continuing one – the wedgetail eagle we spy soaring above, the oyster catchers with their deep red beaks, the goannas who lay their eggs in termite mounds, the lyrebirds – all have a story attached to them, a value far beyond their ephemeral existence in this moment as they dart across the track or circle in the sky.


image.png

We’re here in Winter, but in the way of the great Australian campground tradition there are huge concrete firepits under the trees and we light a fire made with wood we’ve brought from home (you aren’t meant to collect fallen firewood because the tendency is for environmentally minded campers to cut down what they can) and snuggle up with a 30 year old sherry we were gifted, that tastes like dates and slides down our throats to warm our cockles. That night we both have nightmares – ones of murder and running away or towards things where we are hindered at every step. It’s not the first time I’ve had nightmares on country – in fact, I often do, perhaps tapping into some echo of the past that rises off the land, of dispossession and brutality. Jamie describes it as a ‘weird energy’, but I take ‘weird’ to mean ‘different’, as if there’s an adjustment to be made before you can feel wholly comfortable in a landscape that’s clearly not yours. A kind of unconscious dreaming ritual or initiation of sorts. I wonder if my unconscious mind is tapping into the guilt felt by many White Australians for what was done to this land in our history – and what continues to be done, and that violent energy fizzles up in dark dreams. Or whether I'm just adjusting to different stories that the landscape is speaking to me - a kind of communication with a new land I'm trying to figure out and listen to as it speaks to me.

On the second night, I dream of pods of dolphins and sucking on honey grevillea, and the tumbling rocks beneath my bare feet on cool rocks as the tide recedes, exposing molluscs and tiny silver fish in the shallows.

In the damp morning, fuelled by coffee and salt air, I breath in, and feel at home.



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif

@naturalmedicine II Discord Invite II #naturalmedicine


Website | @homesteaderscoop | Discord Community

image.png


MindfulLife.gif
Discord 🧘About

image.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=riverflows
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=aragunnu-campground-mimosa-rocks-national-park-lyrebirds-whales-eagles-and-strange-dreams


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hi @riverflows!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.853 which ranks you at #1351 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 917 places in the last three days (old rank 434).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 152 contributions, your post is ranked at #38.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Gosh it has been SOOOOO LONG since I was there! Your photos are truly lovely, @riverflows! It reminds me so much of my fav spot at Wilson's Prom. Heartsmile. Grateful to have seen soooo much of the Great Southern Land and to enjoy such lovely memories.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

I'm glad I transported you momentarily to our coastline, I bet you have some nice memories here!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

What a beautiful trip you're having! That coastline is absolutely spectacular! I haven't read through all the comments, but in case no one else has mentioned it yet, A Wealth of Drownings" would be an awesome band name. :)

If not macabre! I remember a band called something like 'They know us by the trail of dead' which was pretty cool too.

It IS a special coast. We are home now... dreaming of going back in September.

Posted using Partiko Android

That place is on a songline. It’s particularly potent.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I read your post after I wrote this. I havent had chance to reply. It fairly blew me away we had similiar experiences, and often do in these kind of places. I can recall at least five over the years where I have had really powerful and disturbing experiences, including one in QLD where five of us woke simultaneously at 3 am and LEFT because it was so intense!

Posted using Partiko Android

I know, right!?!

It was explained to me that some folk are more sensitive to others. It’s not about being special but just how we all have slightly different sensory acuity. I can’t handle white noise for example, and yet no one else around me seems bothered by it. Buzzing of lights and so on. And yet others I know can’t handle certain light frequencies and I’m fine with them.

But the dream-based stuff is a way that the Land gets your attention... as explained it’s a gentle reminder to properly introduce yourself to the land. Once they know who you are, the spirits of the place are happy to welcome you again and again.

I plan to head back to Aragannu and spend a good week there some time, make sure I’m properly equipped (like with firewood for example 😉)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh, we're going back this September! We're in love. Ugh, white buzzing noise? Can't stand it. I think some people might hear things but not listen to them - perhaps dismissing them as 'wierd feelings' or 'strange dreams' without recognising their significance. I think I've had those dreams on country so many times I know what they are now. And me, a sceptic - as I know you are - but there are some things that just ARE and this is just one of them!

September?! Count me in!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awesome. September holidays, with Sofia? We're gonna drive up on the Friday night. Stay at Bruthen then keep driving. Folks say there's a good camp ground there.

🤣bruthen? Used to live there. Daughter was born there (homebirth of course).... 🤣 not sure what campground your referring to

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ah so thats what you meant when you said 'my neck of the woods'. Yes, my folks were rapt with the little campground by the river.

Posted using Partiko Android

I don’t think my daughter will come. She freaked out at the goannas hanging around and didn’t like the drop-toilets.... 🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh lol!!!!! How will she ever leave the city? I didnt see goannas sadly. Too cold? I didnt know they laid their eggs in termite mounds!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #561.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

This is such a gorgeous place, may be one day I will be there.. Who knows... Pictures are stunning...

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

It doesn't surprise me that over half of Australia's coastline hasn't been seen, it is a colossal country!

I just got back to the UK from Melbourne last week and spent some time around there and walked the Great Ocean Walk, Grampians, Cathedral Ranges, Uluru and Wilson's Promontory which I'll be writing about in the coming months but I was also out in New Zealand for 6 weeks too!

I haven't come across Mimosa Rocks though and I can only imagine the spirituality you must have felt camping out there. When I was in the Grampians, I went to the Branbruk Centre and it opened my eyes to what happened when the Brits and Europeans arrived and just how recent some of the atrocities were. I'm glad things are beginning to change and awareness of this dark part of history is coming to light. I hope that the land gets returned to its rightful owners and we can learn from the Aborigines who were there for 65,000 years before us.

Great post and this took me longer than a minute to write as I'm on my phone 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68