Visiting Cairns Queensland Australia

in #travelfeed7 years ago (edited)

Hi Dear Steemit,

As I was saying in my previous posts, Queensland usually is not very busy in August. This part of the year is considered the "dry season". Walking through a part of Cairns Esplanade I found also some shrinking of the water.

This post bring you to Cairns the northern and last location I have visited in Queensland. I did not find anyone who would share the cost of a car and travel up to the north untill Port Douglas and Cape Tribulation. Whoever have travelled to Australia knows perfectly that without a car will very easy to miss many spots like those I mentioned. This time I was not lucky. I just spent one day and an half in Cairns due to this reason. Anyway I am still glad to have visited this city.

CIMG1526.JPG

What I will remember of this location the sign of warning about crocodiles. Well these signs are typical in whole Australia but I did not find any dangerous animals. I was pretty surprised to see people walking very close to the water.

CIMG1524.JPG

CIMG1529.JPG

In Cairns I tasted for my first time a crocodile hamburger, for who is not vegetarian or vegan I would suggest to taste it if you are around here in particular if you like chicken meat (the taste is similar).

What I wanted to do was also walking and discovering the city which actually is not very large.

CIMG1531.JPG

Find something interesting or which was curious like for example some flat tablets of stone which include a text to commemorate a person or an event

CIMG1530.JPG

My second day I checked out, left my luggage in a deposit and again going around with my laptop till late afternoon.

CIMG1533.JPG

And see something which I found impressive.

CIMG1532.JPG

It is remarkable how many species of fishes and crabs are living around this area close to the Great Barrier reef

My stay in Cairns ended when I had caught my flight to Hobart Tasmania with a layover of few hours in Melbourne. From the dry and warm Queensland to the temperate cold of that island situated in the southern and eastern part of the mainland. One of the craziest things I have done during my stay in Australia.

Hope you like this post and thanks for your attention

All photos are mine and they were taken with my camera Casio EX-Z60

Sort:  

Beautiful place....if this is how it looks in the 'dry season', I can't wait to see it in the rainy days...with greener grasses and overflowing water bodies... :)

Cairns is an amazing part of Australia, Crocodile Hamburger sounds interesting i will have to give that a go haha

Have you visited the Great Barrier reef?

Before going to Cairns I spent two nights and three days in a sailing boat around Whitsundays islands where I tried to do some scuba. From Cairns there are also Helicopters tours to the Great Barrier Reef but they were expensive. It was cheaper going around the ocean and that arcipelago by sailing boat than the helicopter.

Have you written an article about this experience?

Yes months ago when I was still new here in Steemit. To be honest it was a very good experience even if my post was not a good one
https://steemit.com/travel/@philfreetotravel/my-top-5-favorite-locations-in-australia-n-2-a-trip-in-a-sailing-boat-to-whitsunday-islands-queensland

thanks for sharing the post
cheers

This post has been selected by altruistic as a nominated undervalued post of a plankton and has been given an upvote. You may join us on her discord server: https://discord.gg/KHB9eJk.

Please kindly upvote this comment in order to keep us helping plankton and minnows that their quality posts are undervalued.

Looks like a cool place to visit. I thought it would have lots of surfers, but not with the crocodiles, haha.

Actually in the northern part of Queensland is not possible to surf in the southern part yes! Well as I was saying I did not see any crocodile I feel lucky :):)

I can't believe you could have maybe seen crocodiles! I've only ever seen them in a ZOO, to know they just could come out of the water - quite scary right?

Australia is a fascinating country and I hope I'll ever visit it - I would be scared to go for a swim knowing all these creatures are below the surface though :P

Sure it is scary and also dangerous. But unfortunately their appearance is possible in that beach even if I did not see any of them. That's why I simply followed that warning sign by keeping away from the water's edge and do not swim.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=philfreetotravel
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=visiting-queensland-australia-last-stop-cairns


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63350.70
ETH 2595.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85